Introducing . . . 9/1/16

On May 1 – exactly four months ago today – our sweet Bear crossed to the Rainbow Bridge, leaving a hole in my heart big enough to insert the states of Florida, Michigan, and probably part of Georgia too.

Over these four months I’ve considered just about every scenario possible.  Did I want another Golden Retriever?  Should I consider an English-bred Golden vs an American-bred Golden?  Did I want another big dog at all?  Maybe I should think about a small dog.  Should I not even get another dog (that thought entered my brain and exited at warp speed).  Did I want a puppy or an adult dog?  Should I purchase from a reputable breeder or rescue from the humane society?

That last question gave me more pause than all the others combined actually.  I’m a huge advocate for rescue, and as much as I loved Bear and love Maddie, my rescue Chocolate Labrador mix Bud remains to this day as my heart dog.

All that said, Bear stood out from all my other dogs in one way, and that was his sweet, sweet spirit.  He was an amazing friend, he totally and unconditionally loved me, and he absolutely spoiled me for any other breed.

So . . . . . when we return home the middle of October, we will be making a stop at Bearabella Golden Retrievers in Atlanta (where Bear was bred), and we will pick up this little boy . . .

Introducing . . . . Bodie!

Introducing . . . . BODIE!

This little furbaby will be 6 1/2 months old when we pick him up – a teenager in dog years.  That should offer us a few challenges along the way, but we are happily looking forward to having this ball of fluffy, shedding, chewing preciousness in our home and hearts.  We don’t expect him to be another Bear, and it will be fun watching his own distinct personality evolve over the months and years ahead.

And I believe – up at the Rainbow Bridge – Bear is smiling, wagging his tail, and thinking, “Welcome, little brother!”

 

56 thoughts on “Introducing . . . 9/1/16

  1. Oh my gosh! Tears, tears, and more tears! This is too eery but yesterday I got out of my car at home and saw a Golden Retriever that looked exactly like your Bear standing in my yard! I stood there in shock but finally called out to him/her and even said “Bear come here”! Unfortunately it ran from me but to my relief it belonged to a person down the street from us.

    Your Bear will always have a special place in my heart but I am excited to read all the new stories with your “teenager”!

    Hugs!

    • LOL! It’s Bodie, Gina. I have a feeling I’m going to have a lot of people calling him Brody cause it’s a more common name than Bodie. I just knew I wanted another “B” name, and I hit on Bodie!

  2. I have followed the antics of Bear for a few years now. When he passed I cried and knew that the days ahead for you and Ted were not going to be easy. I look forward to hearing all about Bodie and how he will help you both remember Bear.

  3. I am so thrilled for you. Bodie is adorable and I’m sure Bear is smiling his doggy smile as he waits for you to adopt another fur baby.

  4. I can’t wait to meet Bodie one day. I will come to Flagler just to see you, Ted, Maddie, and meet your sweet Golden. So glad you will be getting Bodie from the same breeder. Bear was so very sweet and I know Bodie will be, too. Love you and miss you.

  5. God bless you for sharing this experience. I have a deep appreciation for your ability to express so many feelings, the lows and highs of life. I am especially moved by the new life that will join you and Ted and Maddie. It is wonderful you have made a decision. How special for Bodie to be connected in this way to Bear. I enjoy your blog and all of your news, even though we’re in Mackinaw as you know. Thank you.

  6. Congratulations!! Something wonnderful to look forward to and it might make leaving Mackinac Island a little less painful!!

  7. Oh, I’m so thrilled for you and happy that you decided on another Golden. They are hard to beat! But honestly, I know how much you love Mackinac Island and hate to leave, but I don’t know how you can stand waiting that long! I certainly am anxious to read more about him. Bless you all!

  8. Oh my goodness Brenda. You sure know how to bring tears to this ole gal’s eyes!! I just know he will be another of your very best fur-friends. I’ll be counting down the days until you have him in your arms. Bodie is one little lucky pooch indeed to have parents like you guys and a Mama like you!!!! Congratulations!

  9. Oh Brenda! He is adorable! I am so excited for you! Bear cannot be replaced but you have so much love to share with other fur babies. Knowing that you will be picking up Bodie will give you something very special to look forward to when you leave your “heart’s home” in mid October. I can’t wait to read that post!!

  10. So glad you decided to get another fur baby. Bodie is absolutely adorable. I bet he has that sweet puppy dog ear smell, too (or am I the only one?) Give yourself time – Bear will pop into your thoughts when you least expect it, but he’s just helping the little one get to know you. This is exciting!! You’ll decorate differently for Christmas this year! lol!

  11. OMG! I love him. So darn cute! I was so sad when Bear passed and have been hoping you would be getting another golden soon. Bear was part of the reason why I finally broke down and got a Golden of my own. Daisy Mae, she will be 1 on 9/11. Got her when she was 8 weeks old. I am 62 and have never had a dog before, let alone a puppy! It has been quite an experience. She’s a real stinker but I love her so much. I’m excited for you and can’t wait to see posts about her. I bet Maddie will be happy to have a new Brother. Take Care.

      • Nope, I haven’t fussed at you at all. There have been times when I’ve asked, “what have I gotten myself into?” But I haven’t regretted getting Miss Daisy!

  12. OMD, he’s so beautiful!!! Bodie couldn’t get any more wonderful parents. You both are very lucky. Hope Maddie doesn’t mind another brother. I’m sure Bear is smiling down, from his big, silvery star, at the bridge. How fantastic!

  13. Tears of sadness, tears of joy. I am thrilled for you and what lies ahead! Good thing it is only a picture. I may pick him up and never give him back 😉
    Welcome Bodie, you are special to so many of us, even before the stories begin. ♡
    Gail

  14. I don’t even know you, but I have a lump in my throat for your loss and am smitten with your new puppy. My Golden will be 10 in a few weeks and she is the light of my and so many others’ lives. There is nothing like a Golden! I started following your blog because of an upcoming first trip to Mackinac Island this September. Have much enjoyed your posts.

    • Awww – thank you! Hoping your trip to Mackinac is as wonderful as you’ve anticipated! Depending on when in September you’re coming, you may see some fall color! Hug that golden of yours for me!

  15. So excited to read this today when checking up on your summer adventures! We welcomed a new Westie into our hearts and home on June 28th, only 2 months after losing our Fiona. I didn’t think I could do it but my kids had never experienced a little puppy before. Both our Westies were our kids before them and they really only knew them as adult dogs. Our house was so quiet and lonely when I was home during the day! Having a puppy in the house after 18 years is quite an adjustment…but…our new little guy Finnley is so sweet and fun. Our girls have really taken a shine to him and I can say he loves each of us differently but still all of us. Our other dogs were mine and my husband’s mostly. The girls kind of ignored them and vice versa. You will have an exciting time with Bodie. So happy for you, Ted and Maddie!

Leave a Reply

