Hodgepodge! 9/4/16

Hi Gang!

We’re all settled into the new condo, and we’re enjoying being back in our “neck of the woods” once again.  We absolutely loved being downtown near Mission Point, but you all know how much I dearly love the woods and trails of this island.  Since we’ve moved up here, I can walk the trails to my heart’s content, without having to climb too many hills to accomplish that!  We are above the ordinary noises of downtown, but there’s still plenty of folks traveling by here to keep us entertained.  We have a beautiful view of a couple of holes of the Grand Hotel’s Jewel Golf Course . . .

IMG_1743

. . . and we can watch the ferries and freighters from a higher vantage point.

IMG_1744

IMG_1750[1]

Ted and I feel very fortunate that we’ve gotten to experience Mackinac this summer from two such different locations!

Tomorrow is Labor Day, and Ted will be heading over to do the Labor Day Mackinac Bridge Walk with a group of friends.  One of these years I’m going to join him for that again, but it won’t be this year.  I’m just going to sip coffee on the front porch, walk Maddie-girl (who’s nursing a sore paw), and maybe explore a few of those trails I love so much.

Thought I’d share some of the pics that haven’t made it into a blog post yet.  That way next week I’ll be starting fresh!

Looking out to Lake Huron from just to the side of Arch Rock.

Looking out to Lake Huron from just to the side of Arch Rock.

The beautiful and graceful Windermere Hotel, photographed one morning this week as I was rushing to catch a ferry.

The charming Windermere Hotel, photographed one morning this week as I was rushing to catch a ferry.

Fort Mackinac in the evening. Standing below this historic fort and listerning as a fort interpreter plays Taps from the ramparts gives me chills every single time I hear it.

Fort Mackinac in the evening. Standing below this historic building and listening as a fort interpreter plays Taps from the ramparts each night – at precisely 10 pm – gives me chills every single time.

The gardens at Chambers corner.

The gardens at Chambers corner.

Custer Road - one of my favorites.

Custer Road – one of my favorites.

Little Maddie in the woods. Her hearing isn't what it used to be, but that nose of hers is still going strong.

Little Maddie in the woods. Her hearing isn’t what it used to be, but that nose of hers is still going strong.

I am never tiring of watching the antics of the horses next door! They are VERY serious about their play time.

Grand Hotel hackneys are VERY serious about their play-time!

Am I strange to think this is an awesome view out out side windows?

Loving the view out our side windows!

Grand Hotel Dahlia.

Grand Hotel Dahlia.

Window boxes above my head . . .

Window boxes above my head . . .

. . . and luggage carts at my feet.

. . . and luggage carts at my feet.  After being loaded, these carts are hooked to horse-drawn carriages or drays and used to transport tourists’ belongings back and forth to the ferry dock.

One of the two offices on Mackinac where you might meet one of our two veterinarians.

One of the two offices on Mackinac where you might meet one of our two veterinarians.  This one is at the main horse barns, and the other  is at Chambers corner.

It's Jazz Festival weekend at Grand Hotel.

It’s Jazz Festival Weekend at Grand Hotel.

A new bench just above Grand Hotel's shade garden.

A bench just above Grand Hotel’s shade garden.

Looking down Cadotte.

Looking down Cadotte.

Simply a gorgeous just-before-fall day on Mackinac Island!

Simply a gorgeous just-before-fall day on Mackinac Island!

What happens when you are locked out of your condo, but you know your deck door is open? Team work!

What happens when you are locked out of your condo, but you know your deck door is open? That’s what happened to one of our neighbors this week, and that’s when Mackinac Island team work took over!  Mission accomplished!

Wishing everyone a great holiday tomorrow.  We will be welcoming another of Ted’s cousins, Dave and his wife Diane, to Mackinac on Tuesday.  They’ll be visiting until Friday, and we can’t wait to get to know more of this wonderful family.

God bless.

18 thoughts on “Hodgepodge! 9/4/16

  1. Oh how I wish I were joining Ted and the thousands of other people on the walk. Maybe next fall. Happy walking Ted! Enjoy. It’s so much fun and goes by so quickly.

  2. Thanks Brenda! Really missing the island this weekend. Not sure that I’ll find time for my normal Fall trip :-(. Perhaps we”ll just have to make a Winter trip this year! Your pictures and stories always help.
    As far as Maddie. When my Henry’s eyesight was going, the Vet shared that his other senses, take over. Hope the same for Maddie. ♡
    Gail

  3. The new condos look beautiful. I can tell you are excited to be there. Thank you for all the pictures. One more month and we will be there. Can’t wait

  4. Hi Brenda, love your photos! We are going to the island the end of September and can hardly wait.
    The Taps that are played each night from the Fort is a recording ( I know because of working in the Fort with the Scout Service Camp). It gives me the chills still today!

  5. That dahlia at the grand is awesome! Also love to see the pictures of the horses playing. What can I say???? I just love all the pictures. We are not planning a trip to the island this year, but I know if our plans for an extended trip out east don’t work out …… we will be heading your way!

  6. Beautiful pictures Brenda! Hope Maddie’s paw heals soon. Are you staying in the new condos new the Grand stables? Do they have rentals for the public? When I was there in August it looked like they were still being built. I am getting ready to come over to the Island this morning. Hopefully the beautiful weather will continue this week. Happy Labor Day!

  7. Hi Lora! Yes, that’s where we are. They’re called The Condos at Carriage Hill. The rental policy is only by the month. Have a great day on the island!

  8. I would be right where you are if Arch was walking, too! That looks like a good book. I love historical fiction. (it tends to have less profanity than modern fiction)

  9. Recorded or not, Taps at 10:00 gave me chills too! It sounded live so I was fooled too! Love your pics! Never get tired of them! Keep them coming, sweet lady!

  10. Beautiful pictures. I recognize the spot where the new condos are. The weather looks cool and sunny. We could use a little of that here in La. Maddie looks active and interested as usual. Love to all of you. I’ll be wandering the trails with you if only in my heart.

    • Cathie, we’d love for you to come up next summer or to Florida after we get home this Fall!! It’s been too long since we’ve seen you, sweet friend!

  11. Love all the beautiful flowers. I would love for you to take a picture of the flowers in front of the Metevier for me. We never made it by there on our visit this year like I hoped. It’s been so hot here lately that I wish I could be on the island where it’s cooler.

Leave a Reply

