A Note from Bear 7/29/09

 

IMG_2746

Hey!  Bear here.

Mom asked me to let you know that she just couldn’t write a blog today.  She left this morning to take Blake to the Pellston airport to go back to Atlanta.  Mom only gets to see Blake two weeks a year, and today was the day he had to leave the island.  I love Blake a lot because he plays with me, walks me, and sometimes lets me crawl in the bed with him.  But mostly I love him just because mom does.

Mom told me that Blake is returning to China in two weeks for the last year of a four-year commitment to the people there.  He teaches in a university in China, but he is also working for a higher purpose (you’ll have to ask mom personally about that, if you don’t know what I am talking about).  Mom is really, really proud of Blake, and when they left this morning to catch the ferry, I could see she was trying really, really hard not to cry.  I don’t think it worked though, because when she got back this afternoon, her eyes were red, and my dad hugged her a lot and patted her back – just like he does me when I feel sad ’cause Maddie stole my favorite toy. 

So, anyway, mom asked me to let you know that she’ll be back tomorrow with something happy on the blog, but today she wanted me to just post some pictures of Blake that were her favorites from his two weeks here.  I’m gonna go now and put my head in mom’s lap for a while – just to let her know that one of her boys is still right here.

IMG_2623

 

IMG_2644

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2782

 

IMG_2810

 

IMG_2813

 

IMG_2906

 

IMG_2843

 

IMG_3072

 

IMG_3075

 

IMG_3812

 

IMG_3540

 

IMG_3831

 

IMG_3057

13 thoughts on “A Note from Bear 7/29/09

  1. Tried to call yesterday afternoon (on my dad’s cell) to check on you but no answer. I know it must be hard!

  2. We heard about your blog through the recent article in the Albany Herald. Thank you so much for sharing the gorgeous pictures & your fun adventures & letting us see what an enchanting place Mackinac Island is. Your love & devotion to family, friends, people & animals is so evident in your stories & so heartwarming. A huge thanks to you!
    Proverbs 3:5-6

    Steve & Anne Neal
    Albany,Ga.

    • Hello Steve and Anne!

      It is always so good to hear from “home folks”!

      Thanks so much for your kind comment. We absolutely love the island, and we encourage everyone to come for a visit. Just be forewarned – if you visit, it could turn into a move up here!

      Thanks so much for writing. God bless.

      Brenda (Bree)

  3. I’m sending you a virtual hug and patting your back. Two weeks is just not long enough sometimes.

    Love you,

    Cathie

  4. Ok, the tears are flowing; I`ve been dreading this day for you the entire 2 weeks Blake`s been home. I`m sending you a hug and a special prayer that Blake will be ok, and this next year will go by quicker than you can realize.
    Love you, Marianne

  5. Geez mom – are you trying to make me weep here or what? I love you, babe. Had a great time and I was greatly blessed while there.

    Blake

  6. In the midst of an aching heart,be proud because you did well in making Blake the kind of man he is.
    Our world needs a billion like Blake.

    • You are so kind, Steve. I wish I could take credit for Blake, but it was the good Lord who made him the man he is today. He is a source of constant pride for me, as is his brother. Thanks for writing.

  7. Brenda,
    Blake has his feet planted firmly on the ground, and his heart, mind and soul rest tenderly in the Lord’s hands. It don’t get no better than that!

    • And that is what, at the end of the day, gives me peace about where he is and how seldom I get to see him. He’s not mine – he’s just on loan to me.

      Love you!

Leave a comment