Postcard #31 – Packing (Day 3)

What a busy day!

First thing on the agenda this morning was to get two heavy boxes down to the post office. Thank goodness for this little blue wagon!
Pretty trees on the Jewel Golf Course – love walking to town this way!
We got the boxes mailed and then made a bank run. Market Street was almost empty while we were downtown – a little after noon.
On the way back to the condo, I made a little detour through Grand Hotel’s bike parking lot. Leaves piled into the corners of each step, and I made a game of stepping down on each pile, loving the crunch.
Later in the afternoon I walked down to meet friend Danielle for an ice cream at Sadie’s. Through the windows of the ice cream parlor . . .
. . . the fiery Maples lit up Cadotte like giant torches.

Tomorrow morning Ted will take a lot of our luggage over to pack in the truck, and Wednesday morning we’ll take everything else – and be on our way.

We are sad that our time on Mackinac is coming to an end, but we’re looking forward to being back in Florida and seeing family and friends. Five months is a long time to be away from home!

God bless.

18 thoughts on “Postcard #31 – Packing (Day 3)

  1. Have a safe trip home:) Long time blog reader and long time island visitor. Was there the end of September for 4 days. First time to visit Mackinac was 69 years ago when I was 8 years old, it never gets old just better!

  2. Don’t ask me how I did it but even though I’ve backed away from Facebook I discovered that I still receive your famous postcards on my gmail site.

    I recall the majestic Norway Maples that lined Cadotte Ave back in my college days and mourned their infected passing and their replacement with scrawny pissant Autumn Blaze Maples around 2010….thought those trigs were a sad 2nd act.

    Eating my words…what a display.

    Parting paradise is such sweet sorrow but true to Mackinac’s magic is how well it travels with us in our psyche….we never escape its tug even for ‘some people ‘
    who get to play ‘home tag’.

    So many are super envious to be indebted to you and Ted (and Bodie) for being our Mackinac eyes and ears (and nose) all these seasons.

    Safe traveling !

    Brian

    • Thank you, dear Brian. I always look forward to your comments cause you “keep it real” – and make me smile every single time. P.S. You get the emails becuase – sometime in the distant past – you hit the “subscribe” button on the blog. So glad you did!

  3. Oh my goodness! I am so thankful you have written these postcards and shared the beautiful pictures of the island. We have been taking an annual fall trip to Mackinac for many years, but my health prevented us from doing so his year. You have truly brought me to my happy place through your blog, and I thank you for this. Praying for safe travels as you, Ted, and Bodie leave the island on Wednesday morning.

  4. Thank you for leaving such indelible images and prose worthy descriptions for us all to enjoy, dear Bree.
    It was such a pleasure to have met you, broken bread with you and shared each other’s journeys on the island.
    You are a true Blog Rock Star (I believe Bruce Springsteen would have written a song after meeting you)- 🙂

    I wish you, Ted and Bodie good health and a Safe Travels.

    I look forward to seeing you next Spring.

    Your Fan,
    diane

    • AWWW – thank you, Diane! Me and Bruce – I love it! So glad we had lunch and got to know each other. Hoping our paths cross again many times – starting next summer!

  5. Thank you for sharing your time on Mackinac Island with us. I wasn’t able to visit the island this year but hope to next year. Safe travels back to Florida

Leave a comment