Postcard #29 – Packing (Day 1) 10/14/23

Ugh! Ugh! Ugh! I had to start packing today. I’m a horribly slow packer. Always have been – it just takes me forever. So, if we’re going to be on the first ferry Wednesday morning, my packing schedule said I had to start today. Ugh! Ugh! Ugh!

But . . . . when I let Bodie out this morning I noticed two of the Grand Percherons were in the turnout corral next door. I just love these big guys!

I think these two were discussing that they didn’t have too many days left before they were off to Pickford for a long vacation . . .
. . .. . . and they seemed to agree that sounded like a “Grand” idea to them!

P.S. I loved that a lot of my readers seemed to enjoy returning to that old blog post yeserday – and I had comments also from newer readers who were seeing it for the first time. I think over the winter, while we are back home, I’ll throw in a few of my favorites from across the years. That – plus keeping you up to date on what’s happening in the sunshine state (or wherever else we happen to end up over the winter) – should help keep my brain perking along and my fingers nimble on the keyboard.

God bless.

6 thoughts on “Postcard #29 – Packing (Day 1) 10/14/23

  1. Bree: I 🥰 ur posts – always smile when I see them in my in-box. Yes, plz, send us more of ur memorable posts – if they are as fun as “Girl’s Night OUT”, I could be laffing all 🥶😶‍🌫️ (I can’t bring myself to say the word!) My heart aches for u to have to pack up and leave – which I notice u have extended by 2 days – 💃💃! And thx for the fotos of ur 4 legged friends next door – they are (as well as all their cousins) are the very essence of “THE Island”. Drive safely w/many hugs 🤗🤗 to both of u – as well as Bodie.

  2. My favorite comment was about your recent post with the letter written to you and Bodie care of the post office. That is the true essence of Mackinac Island. 💙
    Nancy Kelly

  3. Yes! Absolutely let us relive your older posts. Yesterday “Girls Night OUT” has to be a favorite!
    Have a safe and and relaxing time on the road.
    Sending love and hugs.

  4. No…no….it can’t be time to go already…you just arrived ! We made 3 trips to the Island this year…end of May, end of August, and end of September…staying at the Metivier Inn as we’ve done for 11 years now.

    We were sure we’d run into you and/or Ted sometime….but we didn’t. Disappointingly, we never made it up the hill this year or last year…might be age related. We always manage to find Jill somewhere and she updates us on you folks. We are determined to get up into high ground next year…really miss all the sights in the middle.

    We’ve really enjoyed your postcards this year…neat idea. Which brings to mind how much we enjoyed your blogs over the years. We thought we knew the island before we found your blog in 2010(?), but you really got us out and about to dozens of spots on the Island that were so interesting…..and then we impressed our friends with our amazing knowledge when they visited with us.

    Have a safe trip home….hope the Florida weather is good to you this winter…no more hurricanes!

    Paul & Elaine Williams

    • So, so good to hear from you two, Paul! Can’t believe ya’ll were here three times and we didn’t cross paths. Maybe next summer! Have a great winter, and if you visit the sunshine state, please let us know. We’d love to see ya’ll!

Leave a comment