It’s Spring (so why does it feel like summer)? 4/2/17

Hi Friends!

The first day of Spring was March 20, but it might as well have been the first day of Summer here in Florida!  The temps are already hovering close to the 90’s by early afternoon, and the only saving grace (for me, the hot weather dis-liker) is that the mornings and evenings are still relatively cool – and the sea breezes are heavenly.  Nevertheless, by the time we return from Alaska at the end of May, I know I’ll be ready to pack for Mackinac as soon as I’ve run a few loads of laundry!

SPEAKING OF MACKINAC . . .

Josh Carley reports that visitors are already arriving. According to Josh, “It seems as though the season starts earlier and earlier and ends later and later each year”. 

Something else to note in the photo above . . . the beloved tree at the corner of Marquette Park is still standing and hopefully will remain so a long time into the future.  The State Park is in charge of the tree because it stands on State Park property, and they will strive to keep it healthy as long as possible.  Yeah!!

These next four photos are from Steve Fridley and will probably be the last ones showing snow on the island this winter. Steve was there about three weeks ago when there was still ice in the Straits.

I love this perspective of the ferry plowing through ice on Lake Huron.

Sugar Loaf, with a dusting of snow at the base and ice showing along the shoreline.

The village of Mackinac Island, framed by the trees at the top of Fort Hill.

Early morning on the ferry docks. (Photo: Clark Bloswick)

This aerial photo by Bryce Tracy shows minimal snow and the beginnings of an island turning green.  Great photo of the Grand and a few West Bluff cottages.  In the foreground on the right is the island school and in the upper left part of the photo is the beginning of “the Village”. I can see our former condo at Surrey Ridge and also the condo where we’ll be staying this summer near the horse barns.

Here’s some great island news! My sweet friend Nicole Doud is opening her third shop on Main Street in May!

The new shop is located on the site of the former Leather Corral, which is being totally renovated. Nicole says, “Canvas & Paddle will be a slow-paced shopping experience bringing back memories of life at ‘the cabin’ – a place where you can make new Up North memories.”  I can’t wait to see this new addition to Main Street . . . and start shopping. Congratulations, Nicole!

Early morning colors highlight Round Island Lighthouse on Saturday morning. (Photo: Clark Bloswick)

 

And the colors at sunrise this morning from Arch Rock are subdued, but no less stunning. (Photo: Clark Bloswick)

A beautiful photo by Kate Koster of horses awaiting a ferry.

OTHER NEWS

On March 29 my beautiful, boisterous, and bodacious Bodie turned ONE!  I don’t know if my late 60’s was when I needed to add a huge dose of ZANINESS to my life, but suffice it to say it has been added in big capital letters spelled BODIE!  He keeps me moving, keeps me trying to think one step ahead of him, and has added a whole other level of patience to my life.  In other words, I love him. 

I loved this look. It’s like, “You gave me a pink pig for my birthday, mom? Pink?  Really?”  I explained to him it was a special pig.  Indestructible.  Triple stitched.  Made to withstand the bite of a pit bull on steroids.  And it only came in pink.  He had it unstuffed in under five minutes.

“It’s so tiring proving dog toy manufacturers wrong.”

Little Maddie – approaching 13, a little greyer, a little deaf, and still ruling the Horton house.  She is the QUEEN!

We love when we have friends visit from Mackinac. Last night Mr. B (Benser) and Tommy Marx (he took this pic) stayed with us on their way to the Masters (they both winter in south Florida). Those two and Ted left this morning heading for Augusta where they were meeting up with another group of Mackinac men. I’m thinking they will have a LARGE time!

 

Sneaking up on some shore birds sunning on the dock posts out on the Intracoastal.

PRAYER REQUEST

Please keep Lowell Greene and his wife Faye in your prayers.  Lowell had a really scary few days this week.  He collapsed at home and was rushed by ambulance to the small hospital in their town where he was diagnosed with dehydration.  He was given 3 liters of fluids and sent home.  Thirty minutes later he went into congestive heart failure and was rushed by ambulance to a hospital in Lansing.  It took from Tuesday to Friday to remove all the fluid from his lungs and around his heart.  He is at home now and feeling better, but he still needs our prayers for no more “repeats” of this frightening event.

Lowell and Faye last summer on Mackinac. We were on the way to the Grand shade garden and stopped to rest at the corner of Market St. and Cadotte.

Love you, Lowell!

God bless.

16 thoughts on “It’s Spring (so why does it feel like summer)? 4/2/17

  1. I’ll be praying for Lowell and his family.
    I’m waiting for warm weather to reach Ohio.
    Koti’s given up on toys because Cupid shreds anyone she thinks he likes. Such is life with a little sister.

    • It’s a toss-up who can destroy a toy faster – Maddie or Bodie. If it’s not a nylabone or kong it doesn’t stand a chance.

  2. Well maybe you could send some of that hot weather up here to me…I’ll gladly take it. 🙂 Happy Birthday again Bodie, whatever it is that your doing to your mom, keep it up, she sure is looking happy.
    Happy to hear Lowell is home and feel much better. Doesn’t he know he’s not suppose to be scaring us like that! Continued prayers and happy thoughts.

      • Believe me, if I had any choice in the matter, I sure wouldn’t scare you. Just remember, it scared me a lot worse than anyone else. I’ve had congestive heart failure episodes before, but nothing like this one.

  3. Lovely photos, as usual. Then again, you have some exceptional people and places and dogs to photograph! We are warmer here in NW Ohio, but not ‘warm’. Pretty nice for yard work, though. The Barnwell crew would be sooo welcome in my yard about now!
    I am keeping Lowell and Faye close after that scare last week. Such lovely people. So glad you share the news you hear from them. Thank you!

    • LOL – I’d love to have the Barnwell crew at our house too, Barb! He could do our whole yard in 30 minutes!

  4. Commented on fb yesterday and reread on my email today. I don’t recall the prayer request for Lowell and Faye Green. Sometimes I skim too much. Will be lifting them up to our Father.

  5. It was 56 here in Wisconsin today. My daffodils and tulip are showing their pretty little buds. Will keep Lowell and Faye in my prayers. Even though I haven’t met them, I have read so much about them I feel they are very special people. Take care Lowell and follow the doctors and Faye’s orders!!!!

  6. As usual I enjoyed your excellent blog and pictures. Thanks so much for mentioning me and thanks to everyone for the thoughts and prayers. I’m doing much better now, but seem to tire more easily, if that’s possible. Happy Birthday to Bodie.

  7. Thanks for sharing about Lowell. Will keep him and Faye in prayer! Hope Ted and the menfolk have a wonderful time in Augusta!

Leave a Reply

