Busy Week Everywhere! 11/20/16

We didn’t have to worry about time dragging by this week!  Ted and I (and Maddie and Bodie) were busy with work, doctor appointments, and a wonderful visit from friends.  And every time I checked on things on Mackinac, there was something else going on up there – including the first snow of winter!

img_3197

Our Oklahoma friends (who also own a condo where we were at Surrey Ridge), Buz and Patty Wierwick, visited us for three nights this week as part of their three-week driving tour of the south.  They had never been to Florida or Georgia, and I think they fell in love with both states!  Their children are “doing” Thanksgiving at other relatives this week, so Buz and Patty are going to be having Thanksgiving dinner in Mobile, AL on their way back home.  We spent a few hours touring St. Augustine, the oldest city in the United States, on Thursday.

img_3189

Stops included the oldest wooden school house in the U.S. . . .

img_3207

. . . . and we just had to stop in for refreshments at St. George Tavern, which claims to be “The Oldest Pub in the Oldest City.”

 

img_3212

On our way out of St. Augustine, we rode by the Castillo de San Marcos, the oldest masonry fort in the continental U.S.  At over 315 years old, it’s the oldest structure in St. Augustine.  Have you noticed that every sentence about St. Augustine contains the word “old”?

img_3226

Ted finally got our boat out of storage last week, so we took our guests out for a ride on the Intercoastal on Friday – a gorgeous Florida November day!  We’re so glad we got to see these great friends for a few days during the winter, and we can’t wait to get together again on the island next summer!

WINTER ARRIVES ON MACKINAC!

The calm before the storm - near sunset. Grand Hotel and Fort Mackinac by Tom Chambers.

The calm before the storm – near sunset earlier in the week. Grand Hotel and Fort Mackinac by Tom Chambers.

Sunrise from the water on November 17 by Stephanie Fortino on her way to the island.

Sunrise from the water on Thursday – by Stephanie Fortino on her way to the island.

And a sunrise on Friday from Clark Bloswick.

A sunrise on Friday from Clark Bloswick.

jasonstongejamesbarker

Ahead of the snow came a gale warning.   Jason St. Onge, who posted this pic of the freighter James Barker, said it was in the 60’s with calm waters earlier on Saturday.  Saturday night and Sunday’s forecast included gale warnings with gusts up to 50 mph for the Straits of Mackinac and the island.  The James Barker was setting anchor to take refuge between Mackinac Island and St. Ignace.  Peak winds were to arrive around 4 pm Saturday.

img_32671

Molly McGreevy posted this pic from a Marine Traffic App, showing the James Barker wasn’t the only vessel to take cover in the St. Ignace “parking lot”.  For those interested, the green icons from bottom to top are the freighters James Barker, Cuyahoga, Edwin H. Gott, Algoma Enterprise, and Calument.  The light blue icon are tugs.  From top down The Michigan, The Rebecca Lynn and The Anglian Lady closest to land.

 

img_3265

A Clark Bloswick photo from this morning at British Landing.

img_3266

Clark’s view of the town this morning.  He said the island got a couple of inches overnight.

POOCH NEWS

Bodie had his first official grooming last week, and I'm so happy to report it went very well. Raina, our wonderful groomer, said he was good on the table. What was even better was his trainer taught me how to load him in my car the day before our grooming appointment. With a couple of simple instructions, Bodie now jumps right into the back seat and seems content to either lay down or sit in the back and take in the scenery. Please, Lord, let this last! As much as you all know how much I loved my sweet Bear, he was a terrible traveler.

Bodie had his first official grooming last week, and I’m so happy to report it went very well. Raina, our wonderful groomer, said he was good on the table. Even better – his trainer taught me how to load him in my car the day before our grooming appointment. With a couple of simple instructions, Bodie now jumps right into the back seat and seems content to either lay down or sit in the back and take in the scenery. Please, Lord, let this last! As much as you all know how much I loved my sweet Bear, he was a terrible traveler.

How Bodie sleeps at night. Cracks me up!

How Bodie sleeps at night. Cracks me up!

We took Bodie and Madde out to Washington Oaks State Park this afternoon for a little adventure. Bodie discovered his shadow . . .

We took Bodie and Maddie out to Washington Oaks State Park this afternoon for a little adventure. Bodie discovered his shadow . . .

. . . and loved running free up and down the trails!

. . . and loved running free up and down the trails!

My sweet fur babies. . . .

My sweet fur babies. . . .

So darn cute!

So darn cute!

A FEW EXTRA

An awesome sunrise over our Flagler Beach pier by friend Linda Brendlinger.

An awesome sunrise over our Flagler Beach pier by friend Linda Brendlinger.  We lost a portion of the end of the pier to Hurricane Matthew.

Some beautiful shots of last week's super moon from blog reader Cheryl Haddon from Illinois. Wow!

Some beautiful shots of last week’s super moon from blog reader Cheryl Haddon from Illinois. Wow!

The Bodster. Gotta love that face!

How can you not smile with these two characters around!

Who let the dogs out?! We have this big holding pond in our community, and it is usually dry. It makes a really fine dog park! From the front, that's Maddie, Bodie, Ryder (an English Golden Retriever), little Joey (a MinPin), and Raschal (an Australian Shepherd). They LOVE playing together out there!

Who let the dogs out?! We have this big holding pond in our community, and it is usually dry. It makes a really fine dog park! From the front, that’s Maddie, Bodie, Ryder (an English Golden Retriever), little Joey (a MinPin), and Raschal (an Australian Shepherd). They LOVE playing together out there!

I had to end with this one. This photo from Greg Main shows a very unusual vertical cloud. If God was choosing to show us what His angels must look like, I think this cloud is a great representation.

I had to end with this one. This photo from Greg Main shows a very unusual vertical cloud. If God ever chose to show us what His angels must look like, I think this cloud is a great representation.

Personal note:  As all of you who have been readers over the years know, I usually take the month of November off from blogging.  I didn’t want to do that this year, because of course I wanted to share our first month with Bodie with you.

So, I’m going to take a little breather now until the first of January.  Per doctor’s orders, I’m starting physical therapy again on my neck, and I just need some time to recharge my jets.  Thanksgiving and Christmas are upon us, and I know we’re all going to be extra busy.  It’s a good time to take a break from writing!

I’ll still be around on Facebook, so we can always say “hi” from there!

In advance, the Horton household wishes all of you the happiest of Thanksgivings and a very Merry Christmas.  We’ll see you back here during the first week in January, 2017.  It promises to be an exciting year for us.  We have an Alaska cruise coming up in May, three months on Mackinac again during the summer, and lots of fun with a growing Bodie and our sweet little Maddie girl.

Sending much love and hugs from our house to yours!

God bless.

27 thoughts on “Busy Week Everywhere! 11/20/16

  1. Enjoy your time off. Happy Thanksgiving, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your entire family. Especially the four legged members!

  2. Thank you for all your wonderful blog posts throughout the years! Good luck with your PT. Wishing you and your family a wonderful Holiday Season!

  3. Thank you for all the wonderful pictures and blog through the year! Praying for God to care for you during the coming months as you recharge!,
    Happy Thanksgiving and Merry Christmas!

  4. Recharge, rest, and celebrate! We give thanks for what we have and will receive. Thank you for sharing and happiest of holidays to your family.

  5. The pics of your fur babies r so adorable! They seem to be bonding pretty well. I am always amazed how a tiny dog like Maddie gets along with a big dog like Bodie! Lol!

    A cruise to Alaska sounds exciting! Good for u guys! We will miss your blogs for the next few weeks but you, Ted, Maddie & Bodie will be in thoughts.

    Hugs from Iowa!

  6. Wishing the loveliest of holiday seasons to you and your family, healing thoughts for that irritating neck problem, and peace. You bring us all so much joy, and I thank you for that, too! See you next year!

  7. Great update! Looks like things are going well with Bodie. Have a very happy and safe Thanksgiving and a very Merry Christmas. Talk to ya next year😀

  8. Those pictures of Bodie on the steps could not be any cuter! What a great looking dog!

    Have a great Thanksgiving and a Merry Christmas!

  9. Some great pictures and stories to hold us over until your return. I could think of a few funny captions for that picture of Bodie and Maddie. Enjoy the holidays, family and time with friends and fur babies! I just celebrated my 50th bday last week and my bday wish was to make it to the island for the tree lighting. Schedules didn’t work out for this year but I’m hoping next year! Guess I’ll settle for being there in spirit. I hope you’ll have some pictures to share.

  10. Happy New Year Bree, so happy to have ‘visited’ with you via your blog. Excited to continue in the new year. *U* Kathleen

    On Sun, Nov 20, 2016 at 7:58 PM, Bree’s Mackinac Island Blog wrote:

    > bree1972 posted: “We didn’t have to worry about time dragging by this > week! Ted and I (and Maddie and Bodie) were busy with work, doctor > appointments, and a wonderful visit from friends. And every time I checked > on things on Mackinac, there was something else going on up” >

  11. New blog reader here- Hello! First off I must say thank you for the joy your blog has recently brought me! I do not recall how I came across it two months ago, most likely through a typical Mackinac Island google search. I knew quickly I must go back and read every post you have posted and lay eyes on every beautiful photo you shared of that special place, and that I did. I know the sound of hoof beats on a quiet Mackinac evening. I know many of her hidden treasures. The most beautiful scenes of God’s creation I could witness have taken place on that Island. I know the feeling of emptiness in your stomach when pulling away aboard a ferry and trying to soak up every last drop until the next time you return.

    I was first introduced to Mackinac Island 17 years ago when my husband suggested we take a vacation there for our first anniversary. We have returned every year since for a weekly getaway, mostly with our children, and sometimes by ourselves which is a real treat! Every wall of our house is covered in Mackinac Island photos. Half of my closet has apparel with the words Mackinac Island on them. We have a trunk full of sweatshirts blankets that all say Mackinac Island and all our luggage is full of ferry tags that my girls don’t ever want to throw out. Yes, we are in love with that place, and what comfort it was reading through your story while my hearts longs to be on the Island again.

    Thank you again, and I look forward to any future photos and stories and snippets you share! I also hope you were able to get some relaxation in over the holidays and that your neck is doing better.

    • Welcome, Emily! I should have a huge prize for anyone who goes back and reads all the blogs from the beginning, but all I have is a huge THANK YOU. I can’t begin to tell you what comments like yours mean to me. And yours could not have come at a better time!
      I’m pretty sure I’ll start the blog back up this Sunday night, so come on back and let me hear from you often. You definitely “get” the island!!
      Hugs! Brenda

Leave a Reply

