Another Week is Gone 9/25/16

Another great week has come and gone, leaving us only three more weeks on Mackinac.  I just can’t believe we’ve been here over two months, but I can tell from all those “X’s” marked on the calendar that our days here are dwindling rapidly down.

No big story to tell today, so I’m just going to post photos I’ve been saving up this week.  With cooler weather arriving a few days ago, I’ve been throwing on jeans and long-sleeved tops – and occasionally another layer like a vest or sweater – and just going wherever a road takes me.  Fall is absolutely my favorite season on Mackinac!

img_1937

Visitors to the island this week saw more motorized vehicles on the street than they’ve probably ever seen before, regardless of how many years they’ve been coming. Main Street is being repaved from the boardwalk to the water treatment plant beyond Mission Point.  This work really needs to be done, and completing the project before the snow flies meant starting just after Labor Day.  Vehicles are not something any of us want to see, but the work neeeds to be done, and the project will mean a much nicer Main Street next season!

img_1938

While the paving is going on, all the street corners are being converted to handicap-accessible.  That work is already completed (after this photo was taken), and the corners look awesome.  (This photo and one above by Jill Sawatzki.)

img_1940

Jill also ran across the Michigan State Tennis Team one day up at Turtle Park.  They were enjoying a game of disc golf!

img_1971

Walking to the condo at dusk – just after the streetlights came on.  Can you tell how quiet the island is becoming now that Labor Day has passed?  Still busy downtown during the day, but after the 6:00 ferries leave, you know Fall is upon us, and the huge crowds won’t return until next spring.

img_2018

I have to introduce you to Susan and Keith Miller.  They arrived on Mackinac on Monday, the afternoon of the blog dinner.  They didn’t know if they’d get to the island in time to eat with us (their home is in Phoenix, Arizona), so they didn’t RSVP the invitation to dinner.  They DID arrive in time and were in the Chippewa lobby when that group photo was taken – but they didn’t want to interrupt since they hadn’t made a reservation.  Jill discovered all this and talked to them later in the bookstore. Susan has been a blog reader for many years, and I’m so sorry I missed meeting them!  Next year, Susan and Keith!

img_2019

Yvonne and Tony stopped to talk to the Greens, Jill, the DaVanons, and me as we sat and rocked on the porch at the Lake View Hotel on Tuesday.  Later we  all walked down and saw them off on the ferry.

img_2029

Lowell wanted to walk up to Grand Hotel’s shade garden, so we headed that way.  We’d stop and rest occasionally, like here at the corner of Cadotte and Market . . .

img_2033

. . . and here, after we’d made it to the shade garden.  That beautiful cane Lowell is holding was a gift from Hilde and Bud.  Lowell loved it and used it the rest of his time on the island.  I have a feeling he’s using it at home too!

img_2035

Sweet Hilde and Bud in the shade garden.

img_2043

Another late afternoon walk home past Grand Hotel.

img_2054

We were up early Wednesday morning to see Lowell and Faye off on the 8:00 ferry . .

img_2064

. . . . always sad to see friends go home.

img_2073

Hilde, Bud,Ted and I rewarded ourselves for getting up early by stopping by the Chuckwagon for breakfast.  Love sitting at the counter and watching Donny work his magic on the grill!

On Friday morning we were up and off to town again . . .

On Friday morning we were up and off to town again . . .

. . . to see off Pam and Denise (with the bikes) and Kem and Ed (in the blue jackets). They left on the 11:00 Arnold ferry.

. . . to see off Pam and Denise (with the bikes) and Kem and Ed (in the blue jackets). They left on the 11:00 Arnold ferry.

Going back home up Fort Hill, I stopped to watch groceries going by conveyer belt from a dray into the supply room of Doud's Market.

Going back home up Fort Hill, I stopped to watch groceries going by conveyer belt from a dray into the supply room of Doud’s Market.

At Trinity Church, I took the path toward Turkey Hill. The fenced road above me is Fort Hill and the blockhouse against a beautiful Michigan blue sky.

At Trinity Church, I took the path toward Turkey Hill. The fenced road above me is Fort Hill and a Fort Mackinac blockhouse against a beautiful Michigan blue sky.

There were several apple trees along Turkey Hill (Spring Street) - all full of ripe fruit!

There were several apple trees along Turkey Hill (Spring Street) – all full of ripe fruit!

View across the Jewel Golf Course from the top of Turkey Hill.

View across the Jewel Golf Course from the top of Turkey Hill.

jjjj

Almost to the condo, I spotted a little tinge of rust in a few trees near the road.

img_2086

On Friday afternoon we walked up to the cemeteries, looking for fall color.  We didn’t find that much . . . .

img_2089

. . . but we sure enjoyed walking the trails – like this one leading from the cemetery to Turtle Park . . .

img_2095

. . . and this one from Turtle Park to the Surrey Hill Carriage Museum (more visions of Bear).

 

img_2099

How have I missed this giant butterfly created with colored rocks around two trees at the Wings of Mackinac Butterfly House at Surrey Hill?!

img_2106

Walking through Grand Hotel’s stable late in the afternoon, we came across two buses, parked for the night and ready to go as soon as the sun comes up the next day.  There’s even a top hat resting on the bus lantern.

As I end this post, I turn for a moment to look out the kitchen window.  Two Hackneys are standing in the corral, and I rise and tap on the window.  They both look up at me . . . .

. . . and as much as I feel myself beginning to prepare to leave in three weeks, I know part of my heart will stay here on Mackinac.

. . . and I know – as much as I feel myself beginning to prepare to leave for home in three weeks, and as much as I’ve missed our beautiful Florida home and wonderful friends, and as much as I know I can’t wait to pick up my Bodie-boy – I also know part of my heart will be staying here on Mackinac.

God bless.

21 thoughts on “Another Week is Gone 9/25/16

  1. It is good to be home, but we miss you, Ted, Jill, Hilde and Bud. We really enjoyed being with all of Bee’s Blog followers and being on the island. There’s nothing like Mackinac Island!

  2. Coming up on my one year anniversary of visiting the island. Words can’t even describe how much I miss it. Your description and pictures just whisk me back in time to the most wonderful vacation and the most wonderful place in the world! Keep writing!

  3. Boy do we miss the island (and friends) already! Is it too early to think and make plans for next year yet…I think NOT!
    We got Lowell that cane to hopefully help makes things a little easier for him which we hope is what is happening. We want to make sure Lowell and Faye will make the island next year as well. 🙂
    Went down some new paths and discovered a few new things. Always fun!. Love the picture of the Grand Stables and the horses out your window. Had fun at breakfast at the Chuckwagon and ALWAYS delicious. Sure miss you guys….

  4. Oh gosh, it feels like yesterday when we were up there and visiting and meeting all of you. As usual you make me feel like I’m walking right beside you hoofing it here and there. I especially like the photo of the Grand carriages with the Top hat sitting on the lamp. Thanks Brenda and enjoy these next three weeks! 😍

  5. Well, I am so bummed. We will be arriving on the Island on the 16th…it sounds like you will be gone by then. I was hoping to be able to meet you finally. Maybe next year?? We try and visit in the fall for a few days. Always something new to discover there and more bike rides and hiking trails to tackle!! We will be there from the 16th to the 18th. Enjoy your last 3 weeks and have a safe trip home.

    Cindy

  6. Hello Brenda. Thank you for including the picture of Keith and I in this blog. I really struggled as to whether or not to interrupt the festivities, but decided not too. I’ve been following you since early 2010 and even though we’ve never met I feel as though I know you and Ted a little. I’m glad I had a chance to stop by the Island Bookstore to meet and chat with Jill a couple of times.

    We thoroughly enjoyed every minute we were on the island. We walked for two solid days, and just relaxed on our last day there. I always look forward to your next blog installment. You make us feel as if we’re on the island with you and always speak from your heart. Even though your time there is getting short, you have all your special memories from this years visit (especially the blog dinner) and next year to look forward to.

    Sending much love to you and Ted and will pray for your safe travels when it’s time for you to return to your family and friends in Florida. God bless you.

    Susan

    • Susan, meeting and talking to Jill is like meeting Miss Mackinac, isn’t it? I love her so much, and she has been such a great friend to me. Hoping we can meet next year, Susan. Let me know the dates you’ll be here, and we’ll make it happen! Hugs!

  7. We have had a few breakfasts at the Chuckwagon and a lunch or two. Watching Donny work the grill was mind boggling. I cannot thank you enough for sharing the Island with us this summer as you are my link to this place that makes my heart so happy!! Thank you!

  8. B! When do you and Ted head home? We’ll be on the island 20-22 at Mission Point then staying in Mackinac City 23-24. Just a quick late fall visit on the last weekend of open season. Just planned it last night on the fly and we were like let’s go!!

  9. Just wonderful ♡. I know I have said it before, although i can’ t say it enough lately. Your blog makes missing my Fall trip this year a bit easier.
    From the bottom of my heart, a big thank you and a bigger hug!
    Gail

    • Haven’t checked the forecast, but even if it says “rain”, very seldom is that an all-day thing. Just go with flow – some of our best days on the island have been in the rain!

      • Well this is a really late comment, but the weather held out until about 4pm.. not too bad. We had a great time! We were walking up the back way to the fort and I recognized your new condo on the way… the horses right beside it gave it away. =D

Leave a Reply

