Sharing a Very Special Dinner 9/22/16

When I sat down in 2009 to write my very first blog post, there was never a single thought of one day having dinner with 15 folks who, over the years, have become so much more than readers of a blog about Mackinac Island.  These 15, and many more like them, are readers who have become friends – not only to Ted and I, but to each other as well.  We’ve shared our joys and sorrows and whispered each other’s names in God’s ear.  We’ve shared the loss of family members, friends, and pets and rejoiced in marriages, births, and new fur babies. In other words, we’ve become “family”.

Below are a few memories from a very special “gathering” this week.  It came about because these folks just all happened to be coming to the island at the same time  – and they shared that with each other and with me!

Some arrived on Saturday, some on Sunday, and some had been here a while.  Some were staying three nights, some were staying longer.

I know I say this about most of my readers, but I don't know how I got so lucky as to meet up with some of the sweetest folks God ever put on this earth. This is two of them . Lowell & Faye Greene. Lowell worked on the island as a teenager in the 50's, and oh, the stories he can tell about "back in the day"!

I know I say this about all of my readers, but I just don’t know how I got so lucky as to meet up with some of the sweetest folks God ever put on this earth. Lowell and Faye Greene are two of those folks. Lowell worked on the island as a teenager in the 50’s, and oh, the stories he can tell about “back in the day”!

About an hour later, Bud and Hilde DaVanon arrived. I think I met them the second summer we were owners on Mackinac, and I've loved them every since!

About an hour later, Bud and Hilde DaVanon arrived. I think I met them the second summer we were condo owners on Mackinac, and I’ve loved them every since!  That’s Bud and Hilde just coming through the exit.

Our "official" photo - taken in the lobby of the Chippewa Hotel. From left to right (back row):

Our “official” photo from Monday evening – taken in the lobby of the Chippewa Hotel. Back row (l-r): Joleen & Bruce Griffin (Wisconsin), Pam Magers Schuch (Ohio), Kem & Ed Green (Iowa), Denice Magers (Ohio), Pam & Mike Day (Ohio), and Yvonne & Tony Pitsch (Iowa).  Front row (l-r): Bud & Hilde DaVanon (Illinois), the Hortons, Lowell & Faye Greene (Michigan) and Jill Sawatzki (Michigan)

And the "unofficial" one - how we were really acting!

And the “unofficial” one – how we were really acting!

Some candids from dinner . . . .

dddd

Looking down the table from our end.  The Chippewa seated all of us at one table (which was awesome) – upstairs on the outside deck.  Mike Day anchored one end . . .

From the other end, with Lowell at the head spot.

. . . and Lowell anchored the other.

One thing I discovered everyone LOVES to do is . . . . talk!

One thing I discovered everyone LOVES to do is . . . . talk!  Here on the left is Joleen and Bruce Griffin. They were the only ones there I hadn’t met before, and I was so glad they joined us!

LOL! Bud was trying to shield us on the other side of the table from the sun until it went down behind a building. Good job, Bud!

LOL! Bud was trying to shield us on the other side of the table from the sun, until it went down behind a building. Good job, Bud!

chatting and eating . . . .

Chatting and eating . . . .  Yvonne (in the blue sweater) and husband Tony are in the market for a condo (or home) on Mackinac, and Kem (white sweater) and husband Ed visit Mackinac at least twice a year.  They may be coming for their first winter visit this year!

Jill packed up her leftovers and had to get back to the bookstore!

Jill packed up her leftovers and had to get back to the bookstore!

Pam and Denise - two sisters who LOVE Mackinac!

Pam and Denise – two sisters who LOVE Mackinac and visit as often as possible!

Mike and Pam Day - they spend a month on the island both in the spring and in the fall.

Mike and Pam Day – they spend two months on the island, one in the spring and one in the fall.

I have to tell you I had an attack of tears before we ever sat down for that official photo. I was standing off to the side in the lobby, taking a few pics and watching everyone introduce themselves.  These folks, most of whom had never met in person, were laughing, sharing stories about the island, talking about their families and where they were from, and acting as though they’d been friends forever. I looked at all of them and whispered one more thing in God’s ear . . . . thank you, Lord, for taking me down this path that led me to each one of these dear people.  And then I had to excuse myself and go put my face back together.

The first annual “Blog Dinner” was a big success, and there’s talk already about another dinner next year.  Or maybe a dinner-a-month.  With special coffee mugs.  Hmmmm . . . . what do you think?!

God bless.

24 thoughts on “Sharing a Very Special Dinner 9/22/16

  1. How great that you all got together! And all because of you and your wonderful blog! This should happen on a regular basis with coffee mugs for sure!

  2. Best time ever..loved meeting everyone (some more then once). Everyone one of them was so warm and friendly. Could’t ask for a nicer bunch of people who share at least one thing in common. The love of the island. Can’t believe we have to leave tomorrow but will cherish this visit forever. WTG Brenda (and Jill) 🙂 Love ya!

  3. Without a doubt it was wonderful to share in this special evening and meeting not only you and Ted, but all these other wonderful folks. I can only pray there will be a next time we can all get together and share stories!! Love meeting and making new friends. Thank you again for making this happen Brenda! 😍

  4. Talk about enjoyment. That was it. I thought that would be my last trip to the Island, but… That is a nice header, but I need to knw one thing. Who was the old bald headed guy at the end of the table? Yes, I mean the one doing so much talking.

    I sure hope we can do it again.

  5. So want there to be another dinner next year so we can join in! There were several Ohio people in there, and now I’m curious about how close together we might be. Hmmm. This time next week, I will be dog tired and happy as a clam (a Great Lakes fresh water clam, that is!) Thanks for another glorious post.

  6. I love the idea of an annual dinner/meeting. I think if there was enough notice, you would have a much larger group. I, for one, would have made every attempt to be there to join the group and think it’s great to have everyone get together who can. I can see the group expanding where a bigger venue may be needed. We make at least two trips to the island a year, so I’m sure we can arrange to be there! So exciting!

  7. “I have to tell you I had an attack of tears before we ever sat down for that official photo. I was standing off to the side in the lobby, taking a few pics and watching everyone introduce themselves. These folks, most of whom had never met in person, were laughing, sharing stories about the island, talking about their families and where they were from, and acting as though they’d been friends forever. I looked at all of them and whispered one more thing in God’s ear . . . . thank you, Lord, for taking me down this path that led me to each one of these dear people. And then I had to excuse myself and go put my face back together.”

    That paragraph right there almost brought ME to tears. How precious are friends near and far.

  8. ABSOLUTELY!!! with the special coffee mugs … 🙂 I know I would make every effort to meet up with this group. What a wonderful time for all who attended this dinner and thank you Bree so very much for sharing with us.

  9. As many of you know, we left the Island unexpectedly Wednesday because Mike’s Dad is quickly travelling his passageway to Heaven. We got the call at 4:00 and caught the 5:00 ferry. We wanted to hug everyone goodbye, but there wasn’t time to do anything but throw our clothes in our suitcases and run to catch the ferry. Kem and Ed were on their balcony overlooking the harbor and we waved and called out to them, but they couldn’t see or hear us. So I pretended that they did and that was comforting to have their farewell. Bud and Hilde, Pam and Denise, Kem and Ed, we saw you all that afternoon and we’re thankful for our time we had together, one more time. Looking forward to seeing everyone again next year. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for lifting Mike’s family in prayer. Love to all, Pam and Mike

    • Pam, I probably won’t need the talking stick. My mouth usually runs without it. After I had a heart attack back in 2001, I was in the recovery room in the hospital and the doctor was explaining the after effects to me, Faye and my son, Todd. Of course, I had no trouble talking and putting in my two cents worth and Faye said to the doctor, “It didn’t affect his mouth, did it.”

Leave a Reply

