Maddie’s Treat Tale . . . . 9/14/16

Hey!  Maddie here!

I know I haven’t written in a while, but there’s a reason for that. You see, in dog years I’m even older than my mom – so I’m just not as chatty as I used to be.  It’s kinda the same with mom, although with her it’s more like she still talks all the time, but she just doesn’t have as much to say. 

Please don’t tell her I said that.

I told mom the other day I was thinking about writing how nice it is to be up the hill again so we can go over to the Surrey Hill Carriage Museum for treats (I was really hinting that we hadn’t been over there in a while, but I’ve learned – as a wiser and older girl – that you have to use dog-chology when dealing with humans). I couldn’t just say, “I want to go get a treat from Miss Denise.”  If I’d approached it THAT way, mom would have said, “Maddie you know you don’t need treats.  At your visit the other day with Dr. Hites, he said you could stand to lose a pound or two.”  BUT – if I approached it by saying I wanted to WRITE about getting a treat, mom would say, “Oh, Maddie, that’s a great idea.  I’m glad you want to expand your vocabulary and use that sweet little brain of yours.  Of course, we can walk over to see Miss Denise!”

See . . . . dog-chology!

First of all, let me just say that Miss Denise and I are best buds, and we have been ever since we first met many years ago.  You see, Miss Denise has two doxies just like me (except they are black and tan).  Their names are Scooter and Minnie.  Miss Denise just LOVES doxies!  And I just LOVE Miss Denise!

The other afternoon, when we arrived at the Carriage Museum, Miss Denise had just finished putting some visitors on a tour buggy.

The other afternoon, when we arrived at the Carriage Museum, Miss Denise had just finished putting some visitors on a tour buggy (that’s Miss Denise over there with long hair and the yellow shirt).

It's not very often that mom and dad take my leash off, but when Miss Denise is around, they do. Cause they know I'm going to hightail it over to see her!

It’s not very often mom and dad take my leash off, but when Miss Denise is around, they do – because they know I’m going to hightail it over to see her!  After she petted me and told me how extraordinarily beautiful I am (another reason I love Miss Denise), I said to myself, “Ok, enough of this, let’s go get those treats!”  That’s what I said to MYSELF – but to Miss Denise I said, “I love you, I love you, I love you . . . .

. . . . Let me just lead you right in here and show you where those treats are!"

. . . . and I bet if you just follow close behind me, we can find some treats!”

"Uh . . . . could you walk a little faster, please?"

“Uh . . . . could you walk a little faster, please?”

 

I trotted right into the building, took a sharp left, ran right into the store room, and stood patiently until Miss Denise came and got the treats down off the top shelf (I've been trying to get her to put them on the bottom shelf where I could get them for myself, but so far she's ignoring me).

I trotted right into the building, took a sharp left, ran right into the store room, and stood patiently until Miss Denise came and got the treats down off the top shelf (I’ve been trying to get her to put them on the bottom shelf where I could get them for myself, but so far she’s ignoring me).

Next came my SECOND favorite part of going to see Miss Denise . . . . .

. . . . sitting on the drivers' seat of a Carriage Tour buggy!

. . . . sitting on the drivers’ seat of a Carriage Tour buggy!

I kept asking Miss Denise if I could say “Giddy Up” to the horses, but she ignored me on that too.  I’ve about decided Miss Denise doesn’t understand me when I talk to her.  I bet she understands Scooter and Minnie though – just like mom and dad understand me!  And maybe it’s best that it works that way.

By the way, mom and dad broke the news to me the other day that I’m going to be getting a new big brother.  I haven’t decided how I feel about that yet, but if it will make mom happier, I know it will be fine.  She sure has missed Bear, and to be honest, so have I.  Even though I like getting all the attention, it sure will be nice to have someone to BLAME stuff on again!

Maddie . . . . out!

 

 

 

28 thoughts on “Maddie’s Treat Tale . . . . 9/14/16

  1. Maddie-dog! I’m glad you managed to get your paws on the keyboard, it’s great to hear from you. I am glad Miss Denise recognizes your charm and beauty and keeps special treats for you. I hope that one day my humans bring me to Mackinac Island for a visit – though I’m a bit afraid or horses (when I was a wee pup I foolishly tried to chase one – it chased me back! I sure ran fast……); but since we’re about the same size, and you seem to think the humans will keep us safe, I’ll tell them I approve of the trip if we do go. Enjoy your new little brother! Teach him lots of bad habits (or at least, tell him to take the blame for yours………….). Good to hear from you. Woof woof wag wag………..love, Danny-dog.

    • Danny- Dog, my friend!! Glad you borrowed the keyboard from your mom and gave me a shout-out! It’s been too long!! Danny, you NEED to come to Mackinac! The horses in the corral next door LOVE dogs! They follow me around the fence and try to play. Can’t say as even I have been brave enough to climb in the corral with them though. Remember, I am older and wiser now! Great to hear from you! Your paw-pal, Maddie

  2. Oh Maddie-girl! It’s good to hear from you again! I hear ya…the vet tells my Katarina she could stand to lose a few pounds too…but hey, ya only live once…EAT MORE TREATS! 😀
    I’m excited to hear about your new big brother! And you’re right…one of the best things about siblings is blaming them for all the mischief! Haha! Take care girl! And don’t be a stranger! Enjoyed hearing from you! 😀

  3. Awwww, Miss Maddie – you’re just so adorable! Enjoyed your post and look forward to more to come – especially when you and Bodie start your new adventures together! Woo-hoo! 😀

    • There are actually two – one at Surrey Hill and one in the Grand Stable barn. Beautiful buggies, carriages and sleighs. Even the still-used hearse.

  4. Great post by Miss Maddie! Sorry I didn’t a chance to reply to my last post B. I’m always looking at real estate property up there.

  5. Maddie girl…sure was nice to hear from you! I plan on being there very soon and even though I probably won’t have any treats I hope to still see you and give you a big ole hug! 🙂

  6. Hey Maddie Scooter here Mom just read us your post now I know why there isn’t as many treats in her bag when we come home at night. Glad to see you got to be in the carriage when I was younger mom had me in the carriage too but she let me drive the trick is to sit on her lap then she makes it look like I was driving she even has a picture of it somewhere I’ll have to dig it out to show you sometime. I told mom one of these days she will have to take Minnie and I up to Surrey Hill so we can see you it’s been a long time my friend. I will tell mom to keep bringing treats to work so that when Minnie and I come up we can all snack together. Hope to see you soon your friend Scooter!

    • You are right, Scooter, it’s been way too long since we visited. Your mom and dad could always bring you and Minnie to our place to visit. We have treats too! Think about it!!

  7. Great Blog Maddie!! You have again pointed out how much more there is to Mackinac Island than fudge and T-shirt shops….nothing against either…we’ve bought lots…but get up and out of the city and see what else there is to Mackinac. Now I suppose one could argue…I’ll never get a treat from Miss Denise…but there’s lots of other stuff to stuff to see..right?

  8. Hey Maddie!! Abby here! My mom read me your blog! I agree…treats are great! Maddie, I have catnip treats and I love them! I could send you some if you think you would like them. Good luck with your new big brother. Purrs … your pawpal, Abby

    • Hey sweet Abby! Thanks for the catnip offer, but I guess I better pass this time. Great to hear from you – I’ll let you know how it goes with the new guy!

  9. Miss Maddie, you are a treasure. Who knew such beauty could hide so much wisdom and talent? Hope to hear more from you!

    • To my secret admirer: I think I know who you are. Meet me tonight out back, and we’ll go have some fun. I think you’re big enough to protect me from all dangers! But – I have to be home in time to crawl in the bed with my mom and dad. They would cry if I wasn’t there when they woke up. Maddie

  10. Maddie.

    It was so good to read your blog after so long. I’ve been thinking it would be great to have you write one, and you sure didn’t disappoint me. Miss Denise is really nice, isn’t she. I hope Scooter and Minnie will come to work with her some day very soon. I guess it will have to be soon because the season is fast coming t the end. I’m so glad you were able to be in the carriage. That’s one of the good things to do on the Island for older dogs and people like you and me. I don’t think I’d want to say, “Giddy Up” though. Driving those big horses would be a little more than I could handle.

    By the way, Faye & I will be on the Island in a few days. I hope I get to see you. Now don’t tell anyone, but you can talk to me if you want to.

    I also want to tell you that you’re going to love Bodie, especially after you get him trained. That’s just a nice way of saying, “after you show him who’s boss in the Horton household.”

Leave a Reply

