Completing the Circle 8/8/16

In 1947 a teenage girl made the most heartbreaking and the most courageous decision a mother can make – she gave her child up for adoption.  She loved the child with all her heart, but knew – in those times and in those circumstances – it was the right decision.

The child was adopted into a loving family and grew into the amazing man I am proud to call my husband.

After Christmas this year, through ancestry.com and DNA testing, Ted found his birth mother’s family and has begun to hear the stories about his mother (who passed away several years ago) and the wonderful family he is now so excited to claim as his.

Today we welcomed Ted’s  first cousin Linda Lachmann Haney and her husband Mike to Mackinac. And, for the first time in his life, except for daughter Julie and grandchildren Jordan and Matthew, Ted wrapped his arms around someone whose blood flows ithrough his veins.

It was a moment words would only diminish . . . .

IMG_0388 IMG_0393

Sometime in the future Ted will sit down and tell the remarkable story about finding his family.  But, for today and a couple of days to come, we’re going to spend our time just enjoying the process of getting to know this beautiful couple.  In the weeks ahead we hope to meet more of the family (most of whom live in Michigan).  It’s a very, very special summer for Ted.

Ted and Linda going over several family history albums Linda brought with her.

Ted and Linda going over several family history albums Linda brought with her.

God bless.

23 thoughts on “Completing the Circle 8/8/16

  1. And the story now continues in the summer of Blessings 2016…..
    Quietly anticipating chapters to come….😊
    Congratulations Ted we are so very happy for you ❤

  2. Brenda,

    This has to be one of the most heartwarming experiences I know of. So wonderful for Ted and others in his biological family, and all who know him, either actually or through your blog. I’m so pleased for you, Ted. Red letter days are here, and ahead for you.

  3. I also am adopted. Met my birth mother when I was 27. Turns out I had several 1/2 siblings. I have met most of them. I was always looking for a resemblance……something I never had with anyone growing up. I guess I’m saying, I can
    relate to your husbands story. 😊Good luck on this journey!

  4. Love Linda’s smile! My heart’s overflowing for you all. What a special time in such a special place. Exciting and amazing and overwhelming! Best of everything in the week to come. Can’t wait to hear more of the story!

  5. All I can say is ..WOW!!. So so happy for you Ted!! I can’t wait to hear more but for now, please enjoy your (new) family. Love this story to pieces. 🙂

  6. Brenda, I had no idea. That’s wonderful that he now has contact with his blood family. Amazing! If I was ever told about this, I sure don’t remember it. With the way my mind is working these days, that’s entirely possible. Congratulations, Ted!

  7. Mr. Horton, I am so happy for you. I know how long you have wondered about your biological family, because I remember your talking about it at school. Love and prayers to you and sweet Brenda.

Leave a Reply

