49757 Postcard – #7 (8/4/16)

Dear Friends,

On our regular late afternoon outing with Maddie today, we chose to walk the lakeshore trail that winds between the Mission Point Resort Executive Putting Green and Lake Huron.  I know I usually show the gorgeous flowers along that trail, but it occurred to me today that I never show the “wild” areas.  You see, not everything on Mackinac is manicured and formal.  In fact, the vast majority of the island is in its wild and primitive state.  I love getting past Main and Market Streets and into the Mackinac woods.  Even though I dearly love all the lush and incredible flower gardens, it’s the wild part of the island that draws me back year after year.

Being where we are in the Mission right now, I haven’t gotten up into the interior of Mackinac at all except for that buggy ride out to the Woods Sunday evening.  When we move “up the hill” in a couple of weeks, you’ll be seeing a lot more “wildness” in my photos.

IMG_1057

The path turns off Main Street just as you reach the Mission Point Resort putt-putt course.  Where the path makes that first left turn, there is a big beaver lodge just beyond the shore.  I haven’t managed to be there at the right time to get a photo, but there’s been a whole beaver family living and working in that spot for almost two years now.

IMG_1059

Between the path and the lake, everything is natural.  See that little circle of water that looks like a small pond.  It’s a great swimming hole for island kids and visitors.  Don’t be fooled by its smallness though.  Matthew went swimming there and said it was way over his head.

 

IMG_1061

Probably the largest Weeping Willow tree I’ve ever seen. With the wind blowing this afternoon, it was beautiful to see the branches dipping and swirling like a group of green-clad dancers.

IMG_1063

You can see in this pic how the wind was kicking up.  All the trees are leaning sideways!

IMG_1066

I love this pathway!  Water as far as you can see, and wildflowers galore!

IMG_1067

Remember me mentioning the beavers.  They are busily cutting down several trees along the shoreline.  Some are small . . .

IMG_1068

. . . . and some are fairly large!

IMG_1070

The pathway deadends into the road around the island, so we turned back toward town.  This sign warns against climbing up this steep cliff.

IMG_1072

Standing at Small Point Inn and shooting back toward the lake.  You can see cyclists on the path where we were just walking.

IMG_1076

Almost to the condo we spotted this unbelievably gorgeous 8-month-old Golden Retriever puppy and her owners.  Yes, I went all blubbery over her.  Maddie, on the other hand, didn’t care for her at all and tried to pick a fight.  Have I ever mentioned that Maddie does NOT like other female dogs?  Our little DIVA. And yes – I got the name of her breeder here in Michigan.

IMG_1078

One last pic from tonight.  As we were leaving the condo to ride downtown for ice cream after dinner, we were treated to a wedding carriage!   Happy bride and groom – just married at Mission Point.

Today was the warmest we’ve had since we arrived.  Close to 85 on the island, and for Mackinac, that’s a heat wave.  Supposed to cool off tomorrow though.  All is good.

Wish you were here!

God bless.

16 thoughts on “49757 Postcard – #7 (8/4/16)

  1. Ooohhh…it all looks so nice and we’d love to be there. 15 years ago on this date, a beautiful bride arrived in that same white carriage at the Mission Point Gazebo and married our son. It was also an 85 degree day and one of our most memorable Mackinac experiences.

  2. I fear this will be another year that I have to forego my trip to the magical island, so I am so happy that you choose to share it with all of us. Your words and pictures allow me to feel the air, hear the clip-clop of the horses, and even smell the “fumier de cheval” When you say “wish you were here”, I really believe you mean that. I wish we were too.

    • I do mean it, Deborah! Wish every single person who loves this island could be here as often and for as long as they want.

      >

  3. Oh, thank you! My walks used to go around the corner down to Arch Rock and back. It gets dark very soon after you make the turn by the pumping station, and the stars explode in the sky. 🙂 About that weather – at least, if you’re too warm, you are on Mackinac Island! We’re looking forward to that rain tomorrow, too!

  4. We’re heading up in a couple of weeks. Just a day trip, but nevertheless, I can’t wait. Thanks for pictures, Brenda.

  5. The picture of the 8 month old golden retriever brought tears to my eyes. I loved seeing Maddie all protective. She is really is a DIVA!

    I found out something new again on your blog! I never seen or paid attention to the pond. I will have to look for that when I come in September. I am definitely coming in September, just need to get the flight booked. That is on my weekend “todo” list.

    Hugs from Iowa!

  6. First things first! Aww that puppy is adorable. I don’t know how you did not walk away with her. Except that she is a she!
    I love that part of the Island. Since we often stay not far, I always make a point of walking the path. Rain or shine, cold or warm! The hubby loves it since there are no hills to climb. 😉
    Enjoy, enjoy…..

  7. Have enjoyed your blog for ages!! Pics are great. My grandaughter Chloe has worked at Nephews for 4 years, loves it up there! If you see her, say hello! Keep up the good work and enjoy the summer there! Helen

Leave a Reply

