Fun With the Grands! 7/31/16

How much fun can you pack into a Friday and Saturday on Mackinac Island with two teenagers?  I think we set the record!

FRIDAY

IMG_9640

We started Friday with a bike ride up to Fort Holmes, with stops along the way near Anne’s Tablet to look out across the Jewel Golf Course to the Straits of Mackinac and the Mackinac Bridge.

I guess I should state right about here that the four of us were on bikes, but there were several stretches when BeBe (that’s me) bailed off the bike and walked up the steepest parts (like Mission Hill, the East Bluff, and Fort Holmes Road).  I was the only one who had to do that, but I’m proud to say I stuck with them for most of the way!

IMG_9643.JPG

It was another gorgeous Mackinac summer day – in the 70’s, with a little breeze.  The view from Lookout Point down on Sugar Loaf was a sea of green leading to a brilliant blue Lake Huron.

IMG_0884

Inside the restored Fort Holmes structure, Matthew and Jordan were amazed and astounded by all the history G-Daddy knew about the War of 1812.  LOL!

IMG_0893

On Fort Holmes ramparts. Through the open stockade door, you can see the lake.

 

IMG_0896

The new structure from the edge of the hill.

IMG_0913

After a burger at Mission Point Resort’s Bistro on the Green, we challenged each other to a game of puttputt – girls against guys.

IMG_0908

The girls won, BUT Matthew got a hole-in-one on the last hole!

IMG_0917

After dinner, we headed downtown for ice cream from the No Name Café (loving their Moomers Ice Cream) . . .

IMG_0925

. . . then stopped in to see Jill at the Island Bookstore.  Right next door is Great Turtle Toys, where Jordan and Matthew tried to teach G-Daddy Kendama tricks.

Ted and I have been pretty amused at how early Jordan and Matthew are ready for bed each night AND the fact that they slip in a nap or two during the day.  Of course, so do we!

SATURDAY

IMG_0950

Saturday morning found me back volunteering at the Stuart House Museum  The kids stopped by during the morning, and Matthew came back by with half a pound of fudge for me to have for lunch at my desk.  Thank you, Matthew!

Speaking of fudge, you would not BELIEVE how much fudge these two can consume.  They make a fudge run every single day, and it is all gone by bedtime.  Amazing!  Matthew is also a pickle lover.  The second day they were here he bought a big jar of dill pickles at Doud’s and ate the ENTIRE jar in one sitting (we weren’t aware he was doing that, by the way).  Then he followed it with a 1/2 lb. box of fudge.  I don’t even want to think about what would happen to me if I did that, but he was perfectly fine – ate a huge dinner and went to bed without a problem.  Ahhh, youth!

IMG_0951

On Saturday afternoon, while BeBe and G-Daddy rested, Matthew and Jordan took their island map and rode out to find the Crack in the Island and the Cave in the Woods.  They then rode back to the cave where they’d gone geo-caching with Ted and their parents near Robinson’s Folly back in 2012 (where they’d been with Ted on Wednesday). They found the geo-cache again and opened it to find the note they had written four years ago.  How cool is that!

We had tacos for dinner, then Jordan and I stayed up to watch Somewhere In Time.  It was Jordan’s first time to see the movie, and I’m embarrassed to tell you how many times I’ve watched it.  I cried  . . . . again.

Here it is Sunday night (I’ll tell you about Sunday on another day), and we can’t believe we only have one more full day left with the kids before they leave on Tuesday.  This week has gone way too fast!

The view from the window above our bed at dusk.

The view from the window above our bed at dusk.

God bless.

9 thoughts on “Fun With the Grands! 7/31/16

  1. Oh, Brenda! This brought back such great memories for me of showing OUR grands, Ali and Anthony, the Island. We are so sad to miss our annual trip this year and hoping to visit next summer — even if the teenage set is too busy to join us! Thanks for stirring up great memories for me and good for you for making your own!

  2. It all sounds wonderful, but special thank you for the first good photo of the redone Fort Holmes. Many a hike up there for the views (day and night – great star watching!). Dill pickles and fudge?!? Those days are gone!

  3. I had to laugh at the picture of Ted and the kids at the Fort. Jordan’s look of amazement and then Matthew’s look of “yeah right G-Daddy” is priceless! It sounds like you are all having a great time! Can’s wait to hear more!

  4. I can see you, big time, in Jordan’s face! Sounds like a fun week. You may have to buy and send them a survival kit of fudge before you leave the island, lol!

    • Awww – thank you for the compliment, but Jordan and Matthew’s mom is Ted’s daughter (I consider them “mine” though – she and Matthew are our only grandchildren). You’re not the only one who has said that!!

      >

  5. Brenda,

    You bring to my mind so many memories and I thank you for that. I’m so glad Fort Holmes has been restored. I remember going up there so many times when I was a teenager, and then on that beautiful 2013 (I think that was the year) trip when you & Ted took us up to the fort. I don’t think the view can be beat. I suppose it can be equaled from so many places on the Island, but it can’t be beat.

    Dill pickles and fudge? Reminds me of the time we drove from Austin, Texas to Dallas to put our oldest son on a plane to Detroit to spend a couple of weeks with his grandparents. He was 7 years old at the time. After he got to Michigan, I asked what he had for a meal on the plane. He said he was afraid he would get sick if he ate, so a little he asked for ice cream and tomato juice.

    I see Ted, the walking history book, flabbergasted Jordan and Matthew with his knowledge. He is amazing.

Leave a Reply

