49757 Postcard – #4 (7/23/16)

Dear Readers,

If you’ve never seen the movie Somewhere in Time, filmed on Mackinac Island, this postcard may have little meaning.

In the movie, there is a scene where Elise McKenna, an actress, is on stage and gives this monologue, which is not part of the script of the play:

The man of my dreams has almost faded now. The one I have created in my mind. The sort of man each woman dreams of, in the deepest and most secret reaches of her heart. I can almost see him now before me. What would I say to him if he were really here? "Forgive me. I have never known this feeling. I have lived without it all my life. Is it any wonder, then, I failed to recognise you? You, who brought it to me for the first time. Is there any way that I can tell you how my life has changed? Any way at all to let you know what sweetness you have given me? There is so much to say. I cannot find the words. Except for these: I love you". Such would I say to him if he were really here.

“The man of my dreams has almost faded now. The one I have created in my mind. The sort of man each woman dreams of, in the deepest and most secret reaches of her heart. I can almost see him now before me. What would I say to him if he were really here? “Forgive me. I have never known this feeling. I have lived without it all my life. Is it any wonder, then, I failed to recognise you? You, who brought it to me for the first time. Is there any way that I can tell you how my life has changed? Any way at all to let you know what sweetness you have given me? There is so much to say. I cannot find the words. Except for these: I love you”. Such would I say to him if he were really here.”

Christopher Reeve, playing Richard, listening to Elise declare her love.

Christopher Reeve, playing Richard Collier, listening to Elise declare her love.

During our girls’ day, Patty, Jill, Sue and I stood in the auditorium at Mission Point Resort where those words were spoken by Jane Seymour, playing Elise McKenna.

IMG_0478.JPG

The stage in Mission Point Resort.

IMG_0480

The chair occupied by Christopher Reeve playing Richard Collier.

If you haven’t seen the movie, find it and rent it or buy it.  THE MOST ROMANTIC MOVIE OF ALL TIME.  I promise!

Wish you were here.

 

7 thoughts on “49757 Postcard – #4 (7/23/16)

  1. Love IT Bree!!! I am one of those INSITE (The International Network of Somewhere In Time Enthusiasts) people who attends the Somewhere in Time events at The Grand Hotel. Unfortunately, I will miss it this year. Thank you so much for posting about the stage and the chair. Oh! How I wish I was there … 🙂

  2. Best love story of all time! Nice to know that Mission Point was where this scene was played. I always wondered where that took place. Years ago I purchased a cassette tape (we all remember those right) that you could play in your walkman and it directed you to all the sites where parts of the movie were filmed. I never finished it. One of those regrets! Keep these postcards coming…..love this idea!

  3. I did buy the movie last year I believe that was it’s 50th anni. With myself loving romance movies I’m not sure what took so many years. It’s a charming movie to watch. And at the same time mysterious, absolutely loved it.

  4. I’ll have to make another trip to the island because I didn’t sit in the chair in the theater!!! But what a thrill to wander into that theater!! I was almost in tears!

Leave a Reply

