Memorial Day Weekend 5/29/16

Hi everyone!

Just a short note tonight to wish everyone a very Happy Memorial Day on Monday, May 30.

Here in Sunset Inlet we had a wonderful party today that brought our entire neighborhood together for food and fellowship.

Here in Sunset Inlet we had a wonderful party today at Ernie and Jennifer’s that brought our entire neighborhood together for food and fellowship.

Adding to our fun this weekend is a visit from our Lake Blackshear friends, Dawn and Stevie. They arrived Friday evening and will be here until Wednesday! So, so good to reconnect with these two sweet friends.

Adding to our fun this weekend is a visit from our Lake Blackshear friends, Dawn and Stevie. They arrived Friday evening and will be here until Wednesday! So, so good to reconnect with these two sweet friends.

As the sun began to slip toward the horizon, we all walked down to our dock on the Intracoastal . . .

As the sun began to slip toward the horizon, we all walked down to our dock on the Intracoastal . . .

As the sun was beginning to slip toward the horizon we all walked out to the Intracoastal dock and had a brief ceremony honoring those who gave the ultimate sacrifice for our country.

and held a brief ceremony honoring those who gave the ultimate sacrifice for our country.

We had just enough time to get back to the house, climb up to the top deck and watch the sun reflecting off the dark clouds coming in from the southwest.

Then we had just enough time to get back to the house, climb up to the top deck and watch the sun reflecting off the dark clouds coming in from the southwest.

Our neighbor, Kevin Freedman, captured the sunset tonight beautifully.

Our neighbor, Kevin Freedman, captured the sunset tonight beautifully.

One final note:  Lowell Greene came through his surgery beautifully and is back at home with a new pacemaker functioning perfectly in his heart.  He has strict orders that he is to stay out of his garden for two months.  Faye, I’m so glad it’s you who has to enforce that rule, and we’re all wishing you “good luck” getting him to follow those instructions!

Many, many thanks for all the prayers lifted this week for Lowell and his family.

God bless.

12 thoughts on “Memorial Day Weekend 5/29/16

  1. Happy and safe Memorial Day to you and Ted! Love the sun reflecting on the inlet houses…the colors look so bright and pretty. 🙂

  2. Happy Memorial Day!
    Sweet Amelia is settled 😊
    Mackinac is gorgeous as is the norm
    A few of the lilacs are beginning to open by harbor.
    They will be just beautiful for the festival 😎

  3. Brenda, Happy Memorial Day to you & Ted and everyone who reads the blog.

    Yes, it’s great to be home, although I was treated extremely well at the Cleveland Clinic. All that we dealt with treated us with the utmost courtesy and friendliness. Naturally I got to joke with My surgeon before and after I went into the operating room, but of course I was soon asleep. Yesterday I told people at church that I had gone to Cleveland for the Big Adventure, but I had slept right through it. One of my sons reminded me about the surgeon being so confident and lively when he talked to us before the surgery, but after the 4-5 hour surgery, he was exhausted. The surgeon said it was challenging and he had to take out the lead wire into my heart in pieces. I tell you I could not have asked for a better surgeon or hospital. I’m doing well, just so tired, but then I guess that’s to be expected for someone who is my age.

    Now, as far as not working in the garden for 2 months. That’s far to long. I hope the heart surgeon here will change that. I did go out to check on the tomato and pepper plants I had planted before going to Cleveland. I lost 7 of 24 tomato plants, but the 12 pepper plants seem to be fine.

    Well, that’s more than enough about me. My best to everyone and my heartfelt (no pun intended) appreciation for all the prayers and well wishes on my behalf.

    • So good to hear from you, Lowell! Also good to know that removing all those little pieces of wire and that long surgery did not harm your sense of humor at all. Rest, my friend, and don’t be getting ahead of what the doctor recommends. You want to be in tip-top shape for the September Mackinac visit!!
      Love and hugs to you and Faye!

      >

  4. So glad to hear that everything went so well. There are nice people all over the place – especially if you expect niceness. We all know you’re good at that! Please, at least meet the doctor half way on his recommendations. Good chance to teach your grands about gardening! Still keeping you on my daily list – and Faye, too!

  5. The photos this week are great. You certainly look as though you’ve settled into your new home, with plenty of friends and neighbors.
    I’m so glad that Lowell had a successful trip to our Cleveland Clininc. Good luck to Faye.
    Later

  6. do you live on mackinac? we are coming the 11th and i have no idea how to pack. I keep seeing people in short sleeve but keep hearing bring sweaters. Can you help me?

    • Hi Scooter. We lived on Mackinac for seven summers. My suggestion is layers. Always take a sweater or jacket because even on a warm summer day it will cool down fast later in the afternoon and at night. You’ll need one also for early morning walks. Other than that, I’d just google the temp there for the dates you’re visiting and pack accordingly.
      Have fun! Oh – there are plenty of shops to pick up a jacket or sweatshirt if you get cold and don’t want to pack one!

Leave a Reply

