Bear 5/1/16

For those who have not seen this already on Facebook this morning:

Our beautiful Bear went to Doggie Heaven this morning around 1 a.m. His breathing had become more labored since we had taken him in to the vet around noon, so we took him back about midnight. The hemangiosarcoma had already invaded his internal organs, had ruptured, and the sac around his heart was full of blood and causing him distress. There were also signs of tumor in his spleen and liver. The vet said he probably would not survive the night, so we chose to help him cross the Rainbow Bridge to ease his distress.

Ted and I are heartbroken. He was our big, beautiful, smart boy, and the love he gave to us, to hundreds of patients as a therapy dog, to children in the Paws for Reading Program, and to everyone he met cannot be measured in mere words.

I will write a proper tribute to my beautiful boy at a later date.  Right now Ted and I are just trying to get through this first day.  I see him everywhere.

I will probably take a couple of weeks off blogging to try and wrap my head around this and to grieve.  I know each of you will understand . . . because you all loved him also.

Run fast and free, my beautiful Bear. You were such a special, special friend.

IMG_1018.2IMG_1414IMG_4377IMG_8466ted122011-10-02_13-18-29_251

God bless.

 

73 thoughts on “Bear 5/1/16

  1. I am in tears reading this.I know your pain so well. Your beautiful Bear waits on Rainbow Bridge with my Princess Tiffany. My thoughts and Prayers are with You and all that knew and loved Bear.

  2. When we lost Morgaine, it was days before I could even bring myself to share the news with anyone; for you to share your grief with all of us must be overwhelming. So, take the time to say your goodbyes, whisper your thanks and just know that the prayers and wishes from all of us are with you. You will see Bear again; he’ll never leave your heart and will always somehow be at your side. Dear Bear, fly into the heavens with your new wings; say hi to that crazy Jack Russell pack you’ll see on the way (it’s okay, I”m sure they’re less bossy in heaven than they are here). Though many of us may never meet in person, we are all privileged to be your friend. Blessings to you, Ted and Miss Maddie.

  3. So so sorry for your loss. My heart aches for you and Ted. Time heals, memories never fade. Rest in your memories.

  4. I’m so sorry Brenda, are precious four legged babies are as much are family as are loved ones. Your in my prayers.

  5. I get teary all over again every time I see your post in my newsfeed on Facebook. Bear was so loved…he felt it. Continued prayers for comfort and peace…from our family to yours. 💝

  6. Oh my, I’m so sorry to be reading this. I will miss Bear, what a sweetheart. Prayers and hugs to you and Ted and Maddie. Return to blogging whenever you want to. We can wait. Blessings.

  7. Dear Bree and Ted,

    As a fellow animal lover as well as someone who truly enjoys your blog, I offer my sincere sympathy. My husband and I have lost several much loved pets through the fifty years of our marriage, and we surely understand the depth of your grief. I am thankful for both you and Bear that he didn’t linger longer and endure more suffering. I hope the memories of the wonderful life he lived will bring you both joy and comfort in the days ahead. Much loved pets are surely one of the great blessings God provides for us.

  8. Dear Brenda and Ted, I am so sorry to hear about Bear, I cried as I read your post thinking back to when we lost our Tasha many years ago. God Bless and give a hub to Maddie.

  9. Again, so very sorry for the loss of your sweet, and loving Bear!! He loved you so as you and Ted loved him. Thinking of sweet Maddie too…..hold her close! Prayers and hugs come your way.

  10. There is something I read from one of Elizabeth Elliot’s newsletters, July/August 1994 recently … regarding a Martin Luther story taken from Daily Strength for Daily Needs, it reads …
    When Luther finished his commentary on Romans 8:21 he looked down at his little dog and said, “Thou too shalt have a little golden tail!”
    Elizabeth wrote, “Don’t you love that? Scripture tells us that creation (doesn’t that include everything?) “waits in eager expectation for the sons of God to be revealed” (Rm 8:19, NIV)
    I believe Bear and all our beloved family pets are waiting too, eagerly expecting that stupendous revelation.
    Thank you for taking the time to write us. We are keeping you in our prayers beloved friend.

  11. I remember that first photo and the blog you posted it in after being out on the trail with him. I remember many other things too. Bear showed through and through how much he loved his life and his family. What a blessing to know that, even as pain throbs through and through. Give Maddie lots of hugs and treats. ❤ So much love from everywhere coming to you and Ted.

  12. XOXOXO. Take as much time as needed. Please know love & prayers are being sent daily. I have no doubt we will all be here when the time is right for you.
    Gail

  13. Thanks for update. My heart is broken. Such a sweet boy. Deepest Sympathy. Love and hugs to you all.

  14. I said it on Facebook and I’ll say it here. Bear hugs to you, Ted, and Maddie. I know this is so sudden to you, and I know this is losing a family member to you. Nothing I say can make it better, but just know that I’ve been where you are and know how hard it is.

  15. Went through this last year with out Sally. Sorry for you and your family. Your friend is gone.

  16. I’m so sad to read this and I feel so bad for all of you. I started to cry when I saw this post about your dear Bear. What a special boy he was to you, Ted, Maddie and your family, and everyone that knew him personally or read about him on your blog. My first four golden retrievers all passed away from cancer and words cannot express the sadness one feels when their beloved pet, companion and family member passes away. I’m so very very sorry. Please know you and Ted and Maddie are in my prayers.

  17. Words can’t say how bad I feel over the loss of Bear. I’m sure Maddie is sad too. I cried every day for a week when I had my dog put to sleep and it took me a year to get over it. Hang in there. Our thoughts are with you and Ted.

  18. i’m so sorry for the loss of your family member. bear will be waiting for you and your husband at the time of your death. bear was a beautiful dog.

  19. Saddened to hear about your sweet Bear. Be assured you and Ted are in my prayers during this difficult time! May God comfort you and may His presence be a help to you.

  20. I am so very sorry to read of Bear’s passing. They are more than just a pet….they imprint our hearts forever. Thinking of you all!

  21. So sorry to hear about Bear. We also have lost a great pet and it is so hard! Will be thinking of you.

  22. We were hoping for another miracle dog story. Sending prayers and healing wishes to you from Washington. Bear obviously led a great life with you. He was a lucky dog! Take good care of yourselves.
    Betty & Ned Newlin
    & Goldens Roper and Levi
    Port Orchard, WA

  23. Brenda, we are so sorry. Our prayers are with you and Ted. The Jones’s: John, Karrie, Max, Ellie and Jack…

  24. It is always so sad to lose a pet who becomes a treasured member of your family. You gave him a wonderful life. I’m so glad I got to read about his therapy accomplishments and adventures on Mackinac Island. It is my belief we will see our four legged family when it is time to collect them at the Rainbow Bridge – they are a too important part of our lives not to spend eternity with us.
    My thoughts are with you Brenda, Ted, and Maddie.

  25. I can’t think of a tribute more beautiful than what you just wrote. What a life well lived. I’m so sorry.

  26. I am so sorry for your lose. I know the pain you are going through. We also did when we lost our golden. They are such beautiful loving dogs.

  27. I am so sad. I cried as I read your post to my husband. I know how much you are both hurting. I’m sure Maddie misses Bear, too. We are praying for you. Bear was so wonderful!

  28. My heart goes out to you, Ted and Maddie. I was praying for a miracle for beautiful Bear. Take all the time you need Brenda.

  29. I am heartbroken for you and Ted. I cried throughout your post. Although, I never met Bear I felt I knew him and his generous and kind spirit. He will always be in your heart and you in his.Think of him resting peacefully and pain free.Tears are streaming as I write this for I understand the love of a special friend and for your sorrow.

  30. This is a sad day. This news has brought tears. I do understand . God bless If I may suggest we made a little memorial in our home for our little one who we lost in Oct. From cheryl

  31. My heart breaks for you and Ted. Maddie too as she will miss her big brother. I’ve had to do the same thing twice over for almost the same reason and I’m feeling your pain. So very, very sorry.

  32. I am so very, very sorry for your loss – tears in my eyes as I read this. Felt as though I had met Bear in person – he was a beautiful member of your family.

  33. My dear, sweet readers. Ted and I have been overwhelmed by the outpouring of love and condolences for the loss of our sweet Bear. I’ve read and re-read each note here and every private email. Even though the messages bring more tears, I know those tears are the first tiny step toward accepting that he is gone.
    .
    We thank each of you from the bottom of our hearts for sharing your encouragement, support, and memories of Bear. But most of all, thank you for loving our Bear so much. He was truly a special friend, and the huge hole in my heart seems impossible to fill this morning. Everywhere I look I see Bear. I know only time will help.

    Our love to each of you.
    Brenda, Ted and Maddie.

  34. Oh my gosh, I was literally shaking as I read this. I am so sorry to hear of Bear’s passing. He was one of the most beautiful dogs I’ve ever seen. My prayers are with you as you cope with this loss.
    Dogs are one of the greatest things God ever created. My wife and I often joke that we should have passed on having children, and gotten a few more dogs.
    God Bless!

  35. I didn’t know your dog, but I send my sympathy as I have lost dogs and know how painful it is.
    You know he is free from pain and in a better place.

  36. I am sincerely praying for you. But having been through this before, I know it is not fun to go through. But as time goes on …

  37. My heart is breaking for you both right now. Even though your head knows Bear is out of pain and in a better place, your heart does not understand that. My prayers are with you.

  38. As I was starting to read this I was crying for all of you. I am so sorry to hear about the loss of Bear. He was such a wonderful dog. I know that he is in Heaven running around with all my animals, especially Boomer – he was also a Golden.

    Thank you for sharing him with all of us. Again I am so so sorry for your loss.

  39. I am so terribly sorry for your loss of Bear. We are huge animal lovers in this house and the loss of any one of our 4 legged furry family members is a kind of pain that I dont wish on anyone. The goofy memories of Bear will come back before you know it and that feeling of anguish will be eventually replaced by a smile from something that Bear did that lives in your memories. I extend to you both my most heart felt condolences.

  40. I am so sorry for your loss. It is so hard to say goodbye to our furry friends. We lost our Sheltie Maggie to cancer last August and I still think about her and miss her every day. Thank you for sharing Bear’s stories with us. My heart and prayers go out to you and your family.

  41. Ted and Brenda,
    You both are in our hearts and prayers. I know our dog, Barnabas is there waiting for Bear to play with. Knowing Bear is no longer in pain and suffering helps ease the shock and loss of his presence. We still think of Barnabas even though it has been more than two years since we helped him cross the Rainbow Bridge. Thank you for sharing your Bear with us especially during the time immediately after Barnabas’ death. God be with you both.

  42. My heart is filled with sorrow for your loss. Bear was such a special dog who touched so many lives. May cherished memories bring peace and comfort to you both.

  43. I’m shedding a tear for Bear as I write this. He reminded me of dog I had loved and lost. I first fell in love with him because he seemed so much like my dear old Herbie. Part of me wants to believe they’ve found a patch of sunlight and are hanging out together. I am so sorry for your loss.

  44. I just checked in on you after quite awhile and saw the sad news of Bear. We lost our 16 yr. old Westie named Fiona on April 15th very suddenly. I certainly understand the emptiness in your heart. Take care.

  45. Brenda, I am sitting here at work with tears running down my face. I am so, so, so sorry for you and Ted. You gave your dogs the best life I think I have ever heard about. I know the heartbreak you are feeling and it hurts. My black lab Cassie had cancer 3 years ago and it broke my heart. She was my shadow. I held her at the end. We did save another black lab a year later and she is the most loving dog! They know when they have been saved off the streets. I am sure Maddie is grieving also. My heart aches for what you are going through. Thank you for all the interesting stories over the years you have written about your dogs or when they write on your blog. It has truly been an enjoyment! Thanks.

  46. So many pictures of sweet Bear, that you have posted over the years, come back to me now. I can hardly imagine how you and Ted must feel. Bear was lucky, to have such wonderful parents, that loved him as much as you and Ted, and his little sister, Maddie.
    We will never forget him. Love to you all,

  47. Brenda,
    I am one of your “silent” readers… until today. I have enjoyed reading your blog for years. Unlike most people that found you while researching the magnificent Mackinac Island, I have been following you because of your beloved Golden, Bear. A colleague of mine thought I might enjoy reading about your fur baby, since I have two Goldens of my own. Boy, was she right! I sure wish I remember what you wrote about the first time I visited, but I was hooked. Thank you so much for sharing the adventures of Bear over the years. He was one lucky and deserving boy! There was never a doubt that your adoration for one another was mutual. Goldens are such special beings. They are human in many ways and I’m so glad you allowed him to comfort people through his therapy work. They love to love, and be loved!

    I was heartbroken when I read your post today. You did such a fabulous job of portraying Bear, I feel as though I knew him. He was certainly robbed of years, but lived an action-packed lifestyle that most pups could only dream of. 🙂 This is one of those awful events that life throws our way, but just know, you are all in my thoughts and prayers. Rest in paradise, Bear, you will be missed.

    • Thank you so much for writing, Andrea. I’m still in shock I think, but each day brings a few more happy memories and fewer tears. I know only time will help, and I know only another furbaby will ever fill this hole in my heart. Hug your Goldens for me tonight, Andrea. I sure miss my “Bear” hugs.

  48. Oh, Bree! I just realized I’m still not receiving your blog posts and came looking. The moment I saw all the pictures of Bear, I knew. I’m sorry for the delay, but want to say I’m so sorry. They do become our hearts, don’t they? Prayers for your comfort. And Mattie. Now to go figure out how I can keep from missing your posts!!

  49. Bree, Jay here from Fmuth… I too have felt your pain…Over & over, for as true “dog” lovers know there is no greater unconditional love, loyalty, or companionship to be found! We set ourselves up for it, because the “payoff” of their time with us is somehow worth all of the hurt & sorrow we feel when they have to leave us. Our 6 family labs over the years were right there to greet him on the other side! Heaven HAS TO include animals…You have my prayers…. for I understand. This too shall pass! God’s blessings to you& Ted.

Leave a Reply

