Update on Bear

Bear’s pathology report came back today, and his tumor is cancer – hemangiosarcoma – a particularly nasty cancer of the blood vessels that can appear at the skin level or internally, usually in the spleen, heart, or liver. Our vet urged us to see a veterinary oncologist in Jacksonville, and we have an appointment on Monday at 9 a.m.

The best case scenario will be that this is a primary tumor. The pathology report stated that the surgeon got ALL this tumor – the surrounding area is cancer-free. If this is the case, Bear would be extremely lucky that we found it at this early stge as these tumors spread quickly and are very aggressive. There is always a chance that it could recur, but if it IS a primary tumor with no spread, he has a good chance for a few more years.

If this is a secondary tumor that has spread from somewhere else, the outlook is distressingly bleak.

We will find all that out on Monday.

I write all this with tears streaming down my face, but I wanted all our prayer warriors to know as quickly as possible that we continue to need prayers.

I will post another update after we get back home on Monday. They told us we could expect to be there anywhere from 2-5 hours.

Thank you so much for your prayers for Bear.

69 thoughts on “Update on Bear

  1. I have been praying since I read your update on Facebook. My heart breaks for you. Asking God to bring healing to sweet Bear and wrap His arms of comfort and peace around you and Ted.

  2. Oh Brenda, I am so very sorry to hear this. But continuing to pray for Bear to be healthy, for it to be a primary tumor and that he’s free from the bad stuff now. Hugs to Bear and you. God’s blessings to all of you.

  3. Oh Bree. I am just devastated for you, reading this news. Will shift my prayers and pray, for the lesser of the two evils, ahead of you all and your little man. Sending you so much love and strength. My heart says, as you were blessed enough to find it so early, that it’ll be the best case scenario. Why else would it have been found so early?? I will pray hard for you.

    Sending lots of Michgian love ❤️

  4. Hey Bear! You need to beat this, cause there’s lots of “sniffin’ ” yet to be done….sand crabs on the beach, horses on the island,…and everything in between! Our thoughts and prayers are with you…and Mom and Dad and Maddie too.

  5. Soooo sorry to hear this news, however let’s all pray that this was found early and that he will have many more years ahead. I know how distressing all this is, but keep the faith in the recovery of his health. Will keep Bear in my prayers every night.

  6. So sorry to hear your beloved dog, Bear, is ill! Praying for a good report on Monday. We totally understand your distress as our dogs were each ‘one of the family’, for sure.

  7. Hoping and praying for the best case scenario and that Bear has a few more good years yet. Keep up the faith that it will all work out okay for your precious Bear.

  8. What a scary diagnosis…. Prayers for the Dr’s to have discernment, focus and clear vision for Bear. Peace for your hearts and more years for Bear. In Jesus’ Name, Amen

  9. A relative in Michigan told me about your blog today, as well as the sad news about your Golden. I live in Washington State and want you to know miracles DO happen! Our miracle dog is Levi, a 9-year-old Golden Retriever. He was diagnosed 3 years ago with lymphoma. We were told it was fast growing and inoperable. He went through 6 months of chemotherapy with a vet oncologist and remains cancer free to this day. Cancer treatment for a dog takes a huge commitment both on your part and your pet’s. We found it exhausting, but so worth it! Levi lives life and every day with him is a blessing. I write this to tell you prayer..and commitment…work when treating this disease. We wish you the very best and wish you strength as you face the decisions ahead. Get well, Bear!

    • Thank you so much for writing, Betty. Your words were just what I needed to hear this morning. There is always hope as long as there is life. God’s in the business of miracles.

  10. I’m so sorry to learn about Bear and continue to pray for him to be well and for you and Ted too. So often I get to feeling sorry for myself and then learn of someone else who is or may be worse off than I am. I will continue to hope for the best for Bear and expect a good outcome.

  11. Oh no! I’m so sorry to read this. Please know I’ve been praying for your sweet Bear, and for you and for Ted, and will continue to do so. I’m hoping for the best for all of you.

  12. Prayers for Bear for healing and for you and Ted for a special peace from God as you walk down this path!

  13. Psalm 28:7
    The Lord is my strength and my shield:
    my heart trust in him, and I am helped.

    Praying for good news and complete healing for Bear.
    And peace and comfort for you and Ted.

  14. I feel so bad about Bear. I feel even worse since I just read your last few posts…….I was way behind. I could have been praying all this time but I’ll make up for it! Good thing the groomer found that and hopefully early enough to not be an issue. Keep a positive outlook.

  15. Praying for the very golden best for Bear! I have been reading your blog for several years as we are Mackinac lovers also! And our second golden Jasper is so precious to us as Bear is to you! Sending golden hugs!

  16. Thinking of you all! I’ll always remember seeing Bear ride past us on a carriage, while we ate lunch at The Gate House several years ago, after your family arrived on the island in May. We’ve loved many golden retrievers in our family over the years and know they just tug on your heart in all sorts of ways during their lives. He’s a beautiful boy.

Leave a Reply

