Bear – Back By Popular Demand 3/13/2016

Hey!  Bear here!

IMG_9084

This morning, while we were on the beach, mom told me some of my fans were getting restless since I hadn’t put paw to keyboard in a while.  Now, I just have to tell you that it makes this pooch feel mighty, mighty good to know I’ve been missed.  I know mom told you, but right in the middle of all the moving around we Hortons did – I had to have knee surgery.  And even though I type with my two FRONT paws, having a bum BACK leg makes it a little uncomfortable to sit in that chair in front of the laptop.  But – the leg’s all healed up now, and except for a little touch of arthritis, I’m as good as new.

With mom getting so old and all (dad too, but mom talks about it more), I’ve started thinking about MY age and health.  It’s really hard to believe I turned nine last year (right at Christmas time), and my little sister Maddie is 11 1/2 now.  I tease her all the time about how cranky she’s gotten in her “later years”, and she gets me back by proving she can still steal all my toys in three seconds flat.  When Maddie and I hear mom talking about one of her aches or pains, we just look at each other and roll our eyes.  I know Maddie’s thinking the same thing I am – when humans have an ache somewhere, they just get up and take some medicine.  But Maddie and I can lie around and feel bad for hours without anyone figuring out we’re sick. Yep, the only way Maddie and I can tell mom and dad we don’t feel good is to go throw up on something valuable.  That ALWAYS gets their attention!  And off we go to the vet to get OUR medicine!  Humans have it so much easier!

Maddie spends a lot of time lying outside in the sun these days. She tells me it makes her bones feel all nice and warm.

Maddie spends a lot of time lying outside in the sun these days. She tells me it makes her bones feel all nice and warm.

As for me, I still prefer the cold hardwood floor in an air-conditioned room.

As for me, I still prefer the cold floor in an air-conditioned room.

Ok – enough about our aches and pains.  I’m beginning to sound just like mom!

With such short notice, I don’t really have a story to tell today, but since Mom said you wanted to hear from me, I think I’ll introduce you to all the new friends Maddie and I have made here in Sunset Inlet!

And here they are!

ff

Top row (l-r):  Lola, Gucci, Brutus, and Cooper.  Lola and Cooper are siblings.  Dad loves Brutus – can you guess why?  He even forgets and calls him UGA sometimes (after the famous University of Georgia mascot).  Middle row (l-r): Jesse, Joey, Legend, Koa, Sophie, and Earl.  Did you notice how I put Jesse (the bird) and Earl (the cat) at opposite ends of the collage? I thought it was safer that way.  Legend and Koa (the German Shepherds) are siblings and love the beach.  Mom cat-sat Earl for a week one time, and I can’t say as I liked it much.  But I got over it.  Bottom row (l-r): Princess, Skye, Little Bear, Sugar and Mitzi.  Princess and Gucci are siblings, as are Sophie, Sugar and Mitzi.  Skye lives in New York most of the time, but she comes down with her mom and dad as often as possible, and we hang out in the parking lot.  I love her stories about life in the big city!  The official neighborhood “welcomers” are Maddie, Joey, Gucci, Princess, Lola and yours truly.  We make sure EVERYONE in the neighborhood knows if ANYTHING is going on!  The first one to spot something barks, and then – chain reaction – we all join in.  It’s SO MUCH FUN!

Hope you enjoyed hearing from me and meeting all our friends!  I promise I’ll be back soon with doggie updates from Florida.  And yes, Maddie and I are already dreaming about Mackinac. In fact, Mom is going to show you some really neat photos from there right now!

Arch rock. Robert McGreevy "painted" the opening with a small flashlight and used a timed exposure. Awesome photography!

Arch rock. Robert McGreevy “painted” the opening with a small flashlight and used a timed exposure. Awesome photography!

Reflections on ice and water. (Photo: Thomas Nighswander on Pure Michigan)

Reflections on ice and water. (Photo: Thomas Nighswander on Pure Michigan)

The snow is slowly giving way to slush. (Photo: Clark Bloswick)

The snow is slowly giving way to slush. (Photo: Clark Bloswick)

dd

Snowmobiles will soon be back in storage . . . (Photo: Tom Chambers)

. . . and soon this hill will once again be alive with visitors, taxis, and drays! (Photo: Tom Chambers)

. . . and within weeks this hill will once again be alive with visitors, taxis, and drays! (Photo: Tom Chambers)

Perfectly

Perfectly captured wave splashing against ice.  (Photo:  Clark Bloswick)

And the early morning sun reflecting off snow on the East Bluff. (Photo: Clark Bloswick)

And the early morning sun reflecting off a fence on the East Bluff. (Photo: Clark Bloswick)

Speechless. (Photo by Bobby Lee)

Speechless. (Photo by Bobby Lee)

Our weekend company sadly had to cancel, but we’ve had a great time here, with perfect weather for the last few days.  Biker week ended today, so the streets are once again quiet (thank you, Lord).  We took the boat out today and rode down to Hidden Treasure Raw Bar & Grill for lunch with neighbors Brandi and Todd.

We love that this place has opened so close to our house. Right on the Intracoastal . . .

We love that this place has opened so close to our house. Right on the Intracoastal . . .

The water was quiet also this afternoon, but we saw a few boats, including this one - under full sail.

The water was quiet also this afternoon, but we saw a few boats, including this one – under full sail.  Just as the streets of Mackinac will soon be busy once again,  this waterway will very shortly be teeming with boats returning north for the summer and with residents taking advantage of this great place we now call home.

I hope everyone has had a wonderful weekend, and I hope your coming week is filled with nothing but good things.

God bless.

Just had to say one last thing. Thank you so much for asking me to write again. And please tell all my doggie and kitty (and birds) fans out there I said hi. And so does Maddie.

Just had to say one last thing. Thank you so much for asking me to write again. And please tell all my doggie and kitty (and bird) fans out there I said hi. And so does Maddie.

Bear . . . out.

Bear . . . out.

36 thoughts on “Bear – Back By Popular Demand 3/13/2016

  1. LOL, good one Bear & WOW, do you ever have ALOT of new friends in the neighborhood. I can’t wait to see you in a few months.

  2. Now that is what I am talking about! So glad to hear from you! You look great and tell Maddie she does too! Take care of mama and daddy, old people need all the help they can get! LOL

  3. Hi Bear!! Sure was good to hear from you! Wish I was there to give you a big hug and Maddie too. Looks like y’all made some great friends…and please tell mom that the pics from Mackinac are awesome as always. Love y’all. 😉

  4. Danny-dog here Bear. Mom stepped away from her keyboard for a minute – so great to hear from you! I am quite envious of all the green grass in your town; we still have a bit of that awful snow up here and so much mud! Makes my paws and belly wet and sandy, then I’m forced to sit on a towel (the horrors! so embarrassing) when I come in the house, or if we’re out in Daddie’s truck. Soon I will be able to run around the yard with no mud and no snow, just like you! Don’t tell Maddie, but I think she’s soooo cute…………..for an older woman, you know. Glad to hear from you again, I enjoy your barkposts! Stay well. Say hi to your humans too.

    • Hey my boy DANNY! Great to hear from you! I’m a little like my mom in that I think snow is pretty cool (did you get that pun?). But, we like the beach too, even if it is sandy. Maddie and I know all about that towel thing, although we just have to get the sand off our paws and we’re good to go. I think you should tell your mom I think she’s overdoing it a bit to make you STAY on the towel until you’re dry. Just saying. Love you, Ms. Deborah!

      >

  5. Glad to hear you have lots of friends, Bear. (Just like your mom and dad)! I am sure everyone will be happy to see you on the island but your Florida friends will miss you. Take care!

    • We will miss them too, Ms. Jeani. We’re thinking about training Little Bear and Legend to take our places as “welcomers” while we’re gone. Or maybe we’ll have try-outs!

      >

  6. Loved hearing from you again. I am glad that you and Maddie have so many new friends and enjoy your new home. Give my love to Brenda and thank her for all the wonderful photos.

  7. Oh Bear, it’s so great to hear from you! You and Maddie look great! Yep, another fun filled summer on the island, is coming soon. How exciting for you and your family. Please write again soon.
    Is your condo, very far from, Daytonna Beach? With a red face, I tell you that our daughter has been at, Bike Week, this past week.Her first time there. 😱

    • Ms. Christine – we are about 15 miles north of Daytona, but a lot of bikers come to Flagler. I wonder if your daughter did!?

      >

  8. Thanks Bear for all the updates! Sure glad you and Maddie are adjusting so well in your new home. Hope to see and your family this summer on Mackinac Island. Say hello to your Mom and Dad for me.

  9. Bear just melts my heart ( and Maddie too).Thank you Bear for your update.
    My kitty, known as Miss Poopie Pantz understands the pain of getting older as she has turned 15. She relates to Maddie and prefers the warmth of sun and heating pads.
    Thank you for sending those awesome pictures of the Island.
    Cheers,
    Diane (from Chicago)

  10. Great hearing from you Bear, it’s been too long. Looks like you and your sister have some really cool new friends. Enjoy the weather now, before long it’s going to be really hot and humid! Thank your mom for posting some really awesome Mackinac Island pics!

  11. Hey Bear! It’s your (wishfully thinking) long-distance gal friend, Indy. Even though I’m eyeing Legend and Koa, I just love a dog with long blonde hair. But I’m like you…in this South Georgia heat, nothing feels better than my mom’s cool brick floors. Let’s get together and romp on that cinnamon sand soon!

  12. Love reading stories from you Bear! I have a question about the Island, I do not think they had a Icebridge this year. Did you have one every year you lived there?

    • Hey, Ms Mary! I was never lucky enough to spend a winter on the island. We were usually there from May to the beginning of November. But mom told me there was no ice bridge this year, and sometimes there’s not one. This year was really good for the islanders because even though the ice bridge didn’t form, the ferry could continue running most of the time. The bad years are when the ice ridge doesn’t form AND there is too much ice in the Straits for the ferry to run. Then islanders have to fly off and on.

      >

  13. Hey Bear,

    Good to hear from you, it’s been awhile. Seems as though you have lots of new friends ;-). Give Maddie a big bear hug. Maybe we’ll bump into each other this summer on Mackinac.
    Gail

  14. Bear, you handsome canine, you remind me of a dog I once loved and lost. Slightly jealous that you and Maddie have some found a sweet spot to lay in the sun. (By the way, you’re only as old as you feel. Some days you want puppy chow, other days, you might think you’re a candidate for a bag of senior formula.)

Leave a Reply

