Slow News Week! 2/9/16

Hi Everyone!

Did y’all survive the Super Bowl?  As one who doesn’t care that much for football, AND seeing as how I was alone on Super Bowl Sunday (Ted was in Georgia overnight), I am dazed and amazed that I watched as much of it as I did.  I was definitely for the Broncos . . . for no other reason than Blake lives in Colorado.  So, MY TEAM WON!  And that’s enough about football!

It’s really been slow around here for things to write about.  Let’s see.  I’ve had internet trouble for two days straight, but I think it’s fixed now (picture me rapping my knuckles on my head – knocking on wood).  I could talk about the weather, which has been VERY windy and rainy this week (windy enough the chairs on the decks are sliding around on a regular basis, but so far nothing has jumped the rails).  We have a FREEZE warning issued for tonight (but I can almost guarantee you it won’t reach 32 here on the coast).

Wind and rain out the bedroom window. A good night to curl up with Amazon Prime. Has anyone else been watching Poldark? A PBS series. Awesome!

Wind and rain out the bedroom window a couple of nights ago. A good night to curl up with Amazon Prime. Has anyone else been watching Poldark? A PBS series. Awesome!

Oh, I bought Bear and Maddie new toys today . . . 

It's been an hour since I took this photo, and Maddie has already destroyed her pink hippopotamus and is working on pulling the stuffing out of Bear's giraffe.

It’s been an hour since I took this photo, and Maddie has already destroyed her pink hippopotamus and was working on pulling the stuffing out of Bear’s giraffe.  I took it away from her and hid it.  Bear will get it back when she’s out of the room snoozing.

Like I said, it’s a slow news week.  So . . . . I’m just going to post a few more winter pics from Mackinac because I know everyone enjoys those!

clarkbloswickmightyhuronnorthofisland

There was enough ice in the Straits this week that the Mighty Huron was forced to go around the back side of the island to reach the Arnold dock.  But, no one is complaining at all.  Islanders are just happy they’ve had ferry service for so many months this winter!  (Photo: Clark Bloswick)

tomchambers

Tom Chambers captured a beautiful view up Main Street this week.

 

clark

Another Clark Bloswick exquisite photograph.  As one person said, the Iroquois Hotel looks like a miniature castle.

john lou deroshia

From John Lou Deroshia – looking across the Mackinac Island Public School yard to the Straits.

 

josh carley

Early morning  – and a dray is heading down Marquette Street.  (Photo: Josh Carley)

From Bobby Lee: People have been looking out these same windows on the dock for almost 125 years, and more times than not, horses have been just outside when they've checked.

From Bobby Lee: People have been looking out these same windows on the dock for almost 125 years, and more times than not, horses have been resting right outside.  I love that about Mackinac.  Very little truly changes on the island. 

Personal Note:  I was wrong about my doctor’s appointment.  It’s Wednesday, the 17th, not the 10th.  Darn it .. . one more week!

 

13 thoughts on “Slow News Week! 2/9/16

  1. 125 years…wow…
    That’s one of the things I love most about the Island…the history. When you’re downtown, everything is touristy (which I love too) and modern…but when we go hiking through the woods…I always think, “These very same woods have been here forever…for the most part unchanged…” I like to think of all the people who may have been there before…throughout time…
    I know…I’m sounding corny and cheesy…but it’s just so amazing to think about life so long ago…
    I like thinking about that kind of stuff… 🙂

  2. Even a slow week is an interesting week! 🙂 Definitely looks VERY cold on the island. Just like here in Illinois. Where oh where is Spring?

  3. Was Tom Chambers up a tree when he took that photo? I don’t think I’ve ever seen that perspective, and it’s lovely!

Leave a Reply

