Mackinac Week! 11/29/15

Oh. My. Goodness!  Did everyone have a wonderful Thanksgiving week?!  We sure did!

Jason and his girlfriend Jennifer spent the whole week with us, which couldn't have made this mom more happy!

Jason and his girlfriend Jennifer spent the whole week with us, which couldn’t have made this mom more happy!  We laughed a lot, ate a lot, chatted a lot . . . and just in general had a great week together!

On Thanksgiving, we had 13 gathered around our table. Matt (our son-in-law), Matthew (grandson), Matt's parent Carolyn and Jack, and Matt's brother (John) and his family joined us for turkey, dressing, and all the trimmings!

On Thanksgiving we had 13 gathered around our table. Matt (our son-in-law), Matthew (grandson), Matt’s parents Carolyn and Jack, and Matt’s brother (John), his wife Debra, and their three daughters joined us for turkey, dressing, and all the trimmings!

Missing were Julie and Jordan, who flew out Thanksgiving morning for New York City to celebrate Jordan's 16th birthday in December. Their Thanksgiving dinner was something Turkish from a street vendor.

Missing were Julie and Jordan, who flew out Thanksgiving morning for New York City to celebrate Jordan’s 16th birthday coming up in December. Their Thanksgiving dinner was something Turkish from a street vendor.

Bright and early Friday morning Ted and I spotted both Julie and Jordan on the plaza at the Today Show, and Jordan had her photo made with Dylan Dreyer.

Bright and early Friday morning Ted and I spotted both Julie and Jordan on the plaza at the Today Show, and Jordan had her photo made with Today Show weather girl Dylan Dreyer.

Also missing was Blake, who spent Thanksgiving with friends in Ft. Collins. Blake is back there working as a recruiter with ELIC. He'll be home for Christmas!

Also missing was Blake (that’s him on the left in white shirt), who spent Thanksgiving with friends in Ft. Collins. Blake is back there working as a recruiter with ELIC. He’ll be home for Christmas!

All in all, just a wonderful day!  Of course, we all ate too much, but hey – it was Thanksgiving!

Jason and Jennifer flew home on Friday, and Ted and I have spent the rest of the weekend decorating for Christmas.

I've never had a staircase to "deck" before, and this year I was ready to give it a try. I used a pre-lit garland from Target and added my own accents from Michael's.

I’ve never had a staircase to “deck” before, and this year I was ready to give it a try. I used a pre-lit garland from Target and added my own accents from Michael’s (red birds, red pears, pinecones, etc.).

I added the same accents to our pre-lit wreath on the front door . . .

I added the same accents to our pre-lit wreath on the front door . . .

. . . and for the first time ever, we used net lights over the shrubbery and accented our magnolia tree with white lights.

. . . and for the first time ever, we used net lights over the shrubbery and accented our magnolia tree with white lights.

Another first! We rimmed the second floor deck with lights . . .

Another first! We rimmed the second floor deck with lights . . .

. . . and used icicle lights on the skywalk railings.

. . . and used icicle lights on the skywalk railings.

We thought it all turned out pretty good!

We thought it all turned out pretty good!

Tomorrow we’ll (hopefully) get our Christmas tree(s) up, and we’ll have the whole month of December to enjoy the fruits of our labor!

Now here it is Sunday evening, and my thoughts are turning toward Mackinac.

Even though Mackinac has received a few very brief snowfalls (this is the school yard in a photo by Reaiah Ervin), the long-range forecast is calling for nothing but moderate temps and clear skies. I guess my prayers for a snowy Christmas Bazaar will be answered with a "no" this time, but that's ok. Just getting to go to Mackinac during December is a blessing, and - snow or not - I'm going to have a great time meeting friends, doing some writing and photography for Original Murdick's Fudge, and sharing it all with each of you!

Even though Mackinac has received a few very brief snowfalls (this is the school yard in a photo by Reaiah Ervin), the long-range forecast is calling for nothing but moderate temps and clear skies. I guess my prayers for a snowy Christmas Bazaar will be answered with a “no” this time, but that’s ok. Just getting to go to Mackinac during December is a blessing, and – snow or not – I’m going to have a great time doing some writing and photography for Original Murdick’s Fudge, visiting with friends, and sharing it all with each of you!

My flight leaves Daytona Beach at 7:20 Thursday morning, and I’m due to arrive in Pellston, MI at 3:05 that afternoon.  The last ferry to the island leaves St. Ignace at 4:00 p.m.  If I make that ferry, it’s going to be a miracle.  No worries though.  I’ll either fly over or spend the night with Sue in Harbor Springs (thank you, Sue, for the invite)!

Here’s the plan.  I’ll be blogging from my iPhone for much of this trip, so I plan to be chatting with all of you 3-4 times a day.  I won’t be able to change the header photo from my phone, so please just go by your alerts that a new post is up – NOT by a new header photo!

I’m excited to try blogging in a different way for this trip, and I hope you’re all going to get a kick out of it also.  So . . . . meet me at the airport on Thursday morning at 7:20, and let’s all go to Mackinac!

God bless.

Leave a Reply

