Thanksgiving Week – Here It Comes! 11/23/15

Hi Everyone!

I was beginning to think I wasn’t going to get to blog tonight.  It’s been an incredibly busy day!

We had a surprise birthday party for Ernie Sund, a neighbor here in Sunset Inlet this afternoon.

We had a surprise birthday party for Ernie Sund, a neighbor here in Sunset Inlet this afternoon.  Hmmm . . . should I tell his age?  Will he still speak to me if I do?  I think I’ll chance it – Ernie turned a hale and hearty 75 today.  Happy Birthday, Ernie!

I left in the middle of the party to drive down to Daytona Beach to pick up Jason and his girlfriend Jennifer who flew in for Thanksgiving.  What fun we’ve had with them tonight . . . eating dinner, chatting, and watching movies.

Now – it’s 11:50 p.m. and instead of being sleepy and wanting to crawl into bed, I’m wired and can’t close my eyes.  So, I’m getting to blog after all!

Guess what they got in Michigan this week?

SNOW! No, this isn't Mackinac. It's the front yard of good friends Lowell and Faye. They got something like 12 inches of the white stuff!

SNOW! No, this isn’t Mackinac. It’s the front yard of good friends Lowell and Faye who live in Olivet. They got something like 12 inches of the white stuff on Saturday!  And Lowell got out and shoveled, which I expressly asked him NOT to do.  Sigh.

Mackinac only received a little powder here and there, and the weather forecast is calling for a warm-up before Thanksgiving. (Photo: Robert McGreevy)

Mackinac only received a little powder here and there, and the weather forecast is calling for a warm-up before Thanksgiving. (Photo: Robert McGreevy)

What Mackinac has had plenty of is rough seas and wind. This photo by Bruce LaPine shows huge waves breaking over the east breakwall.

What Mackinac did have this week were rough seas and wind. This photo by Bruce LaPine shows huge waves breaking over the east breakwall.

The island just keeps on awakening to the glory of God's artwork, and Bobby Lee just keeps on capturing it from his spot aboard the Mighty Huron.

The island just keeps on awakening to the glory of God’s artwork, and Bobby Lee just keeps on capturing it.

I got an incredible number of return comments from the blog posting from my iPhone, so I think my trip to Mackinac is going to be so much more fun as far as bringing you along.  Instead of having to wait until I get back to the motel to write and post photos, I’ll be able to “post as I go”.  The only thing I can’t do is add new “header” pics to each post from my phone.  I’ll talk more about all that in the next post.

Ted and I are so excited that this year we’ll be hosting Thanksgiving dinner at our place for 16 friends and relatives!  Even though Julie and Jordan will be in New York (celebrating Jordan’s 16th birthday), and Blake is spending Thanksgiving with friends in Colorado, we’ve still managed to come up with quite a crowd to sit down around the table.  We have so much to be thankful for, and when we say grace that day, all of you will be in my thoughts.  You have blessed me over the years far more than I could possibly express in words.  I am so thankful for each of you.

Have a wonderful holiday week.  Overeat, watch a lot of football, get out and play in the sand/water/snow/mud/grass (whichever fits), hug your family tight, and remember we can always lose all the weight we’ll gain on Thursday before Christmas – when we’ll do it all over again!

Love y’all and God bless.

Note:  Thank you, Greg Main, for the incredible header photo!

Leave a Reply

