Goodbye October. Hello November! 11/1/15

Hi Everyone!

Oh my gosh!  This has been the LONGEST month!

I have to admit I’ve enjoyed my vacation from writing this month, but for the last week or so I’ve looked at the calendar more than once to see how many days of my self-imposed “writing vacation” was left.  I’m glad it’s over . . . because I sure have missed sharing and hearing from all of you!

If we’re friends on Facebook, some of what I’m about to share will be repetitive, but maybe there will be enough new stuff to keep you interested.

SUNSET INLET

Home sweet home.  So happy to report that – after exactly one year (as of October 31) – we are truly settled in.  I don’t know if Florida will ever be my favorite place to live, but two things are really beginning to make it feel like home.  First – wonderful new friends! While we were in Michigan, Sunset Inlet really filled up, as houses were finished and people moved into the neighborhood.  We spent our first week back meeting new neighbors and getting reacquainted with the ones who were already here when we left.

We've been doing fun things with new friends this month - like going to the Creekside Fair and spending a day recently in St. Augustine. Of course, any trip includes food!

We’ve been doing fun things with friends this month – like going to the Creekside Festival and spending a day recently in St. Augustine. Of course, any trip includes food!

At the Creekside Festival. This is the closest Ted will ever be to riding a horse!

At the Creekside Festival. This is the closest Ted will ever get to riding a horse!

The other thing is our home.  The longer we live in it, the more we’re making it ours.  Decorators are wonderful, and mine is the best . . . BUT!  After the decorator has come and gone, it’s all the little things you add that make a house a home.  That’s the fun part, and I love doing it.  Of course, Ted says if I bring home one more “throw” pillow he’s going to place a moratorium on his credit cards.  But that’s ok . . . I have my own.

I have such a thing about pillows. If I could get away with it, there'd be one or two is every chair in - or out- of the house!

I have such a thing about pillows. If I could get away with it, there’d be one or two in every chair in – or out- of the house!

The weather has been HOT (Ted would say warm – I say HOT) and muggy since we’ve been back.  We had a nor’easter blow in right after we arrived, with winds around 30 mph for three days straight.  THOSE days were cooler because of the constant wind.  I’m hoping the first week in November will see a cool down that lasts AND less humidity!

Even though the weather hasn’t been fall-like yet, I can’t say enough about the beauty of our surroundings.

While on an early morning beach walk with the dogs we got to watch God paint the sunrise. Brush strokes of sunlight crept into the dark sky - separating Heaven and earth for another day.

While on an early morning beach walk with the dogs we got to watch God paint the sunrise with brushstrokes of light – separating Heaven and earth for another day.

I had to pull over one morning as I drove to my volunteer job in the ER at the hospital to take a pic of this rainstorm on the horizon. What my phone camera couldn't pick up were the shrimp boats - one directly under the rain and the other directly under the brightest part of the sun.

I pulled over one morning, as I drove to my volunteer job in the hospital ER, to take a pic of this rainstorm on the horizon. What my phone camera couldn’t pick up were the shrimp boats – one directly under the rain and the other directly under the brightest part of the sunlight.

Our beach on a day when the surf was up. (Photo by Ted)

Our beach at almost high tide. (Photo by Ted)

A very vivid sun dog over our marina recently.

A very vivid sun dog over our marina recently.

The sleepy streets of Flagler Beach after sundown.

The sleepy streets of Flagler Beach after sundown.

And oh, those sunsets!

And oh, those sunsets!

View from our skywalk with the Flagler Bridge in the background.

View from our skywalk with the Flagler Bridge in the background.

Our walk this morning at sunrise.

Our walk this morning at sunrise.

Ted and I have both jumped back into our volunteer jobs.  For me that means the ER and the Flagler Humane Society.  After being gone for 2 1/2 months I was faced with almost all new faces in the cattery (although a few of our ‘regulars’ were still there – mostly our sweet little black cats).

fffff

This beautiful 12-year-old female really caught my heart.  Another sad tale of an elderly owner passing away and no one in the family willing to take this old girl.  Her name is Kitty Kitty.

MACKINAC ISLAND

What can I say?  I miss Mackinac, and miss it even more knowing we left just as “leaf” season was cranking up.  But, thanks to friends who were there and shared, we get to enjoy the beauty of Fall on the island through their photographs.

The sun and the Round Island Passage Light by Bobby Lee.

The sun and the Round Island Passage Light – in the wake of the ferry.  (Photo: Bobby Lee)

The Peace Garden sculpture against brilliant fall foliage. (Photo: Bruce LaPine)

The Peace Garden sculpture against brilliant fall foliage. (Photo: Bruce LaPine)

A peak through a Fort Mackinac window. (Photo: Clark Bloswick)

A peek through a Fort Mackinac gun port. (Photo: Clark Bloswick)

I don't think I took a single photo of the Mission Point Resort gazebo this summer - no idea why not. Thank you, Jackson Pearson!

I don’t think I took a single photo of the Mission Point Resort gazebo this summer – no idea why not. Thank you, Jackson Pearson!

From a photographer for Joanne's Fudge: Another group of horses leaving for winter pastures in the U.P.

From a photographer for Joann’s Fudge: Another group of horses leaving for winter pastures in the U.P.

A peaceful Arnold dock. (Photo: Steve Fridley)

A peaceful Arnold dock. (Photo: Steve Fridley)

Colors, colors, colors. (Photo: Steven Blair)

Colors, colors, colors. (Photo: Steven Blair)

Same fort - different angle. (Photo: Tom Chambers)

Same fort – different angle. (Photo: Kate Rise)

A view upward. (Photo: Steven Blair)

A view upward. (Photo: Steven Blair)

Rifle Range Trail. (Photo: Tom Chambers)

Rifle Range Trail, with the newly reconstructed Fort Holmes in the background. (Photo: Tom Chambers)

I love everything about this photograph by Jackson Pearson. Horses going to rest, fall colors, a peaceful Market Street, even a street sweeper following along behind the horses!

I love everything about this photograph by Jackson Pearson. Horses going to the ferry, fall colors, a peaceful Market Street, bikes at the post office, the fort on the hill – even a street sweeper following along behind the horses!

A splendid photo of the sidewalk in front of Destination Mackinac and the Chippewa Hotel. (Photo: Kate Rise)

A splendid photo of the Fall-decorated sidewalk in front of Destination Mackinac and the Chippewa Hotel. (Photo: Kate Rise)

For the first time ever, Grand Hotel celebrated Halloween with a special weekend event. Wow! Would have LOVED being there for this!

For the first time ever, Grand Hotel celebrated Halloween with a weekend event – complete with special lighting. Wow! Would have LOVED being there for this!

BIG MACKINAC NEWS!

Guess who’s going to the Mackinac Christmas Bazaar the first weekend in December?!  Do you see me jumping up and down waving both arms in the air??

It’s true, it’s true! Original Murdick’s Fudge has asked me to come up to write about how they open for three weeks in December to make the fudge that goes out all over the country for on-line orders.  Instead of a complete summer crew, it’s all done by just a few special Christmas elves.  It’s going to be a great story, and I can’t wait to share it!  Ted is staying home for this trip – he is never going to be a cold-weather person.  Bear and Maddie were very happy to hear a pet sitter was not in their near future!

Ok . . . I know it’s a frivolous thing to add to your prayer list . . . but it sure would be nice if there was lots and lots of fluffy white SNOW during that weekend!!!  I’ll be flying up on Thursday, Dec. 3 and returning to Florida on Monday, Dec. 7.  So EXCITED!!

And here's where I'll be - good Lord willing - on Friday night, Dec. 4. Can't wait to stand right there for the lighting of the Mackinac Island Christmas tree - right smack dab in the middle of Main Street!

And here’s where I’ll be – good Lord willing – on Friday night, Dec. 4. Can’t wait to stand right there for the lighting of the Mackinac Island Christmas tree – right smack dab in the middle of Main Street!  See that snow on the ground?  This is last year – thanks, Nicole Doud, for sharing this photo!

BRAGGING RIGHTS

From Mackinac back to Florida! Our 13-year-old Matthew doing some serious surfing a few weeks ago!

From Mackinac back to Florida! Our 13-year-old Matthew doing some serious surfing a few weeks ago!

I think that about catches you up on what’s been happening with the Hortons.  Thanksgiving will be here before we know it, and our list of guests for dinner is growing each day – which makes us so happy.

Notes:  I’ll be keeping the Mackinac Island blog open until after my December trip, then I’ll close it down until we return next July.

So . . . .  what have y’all been up to????  Wouldn’t it be awesome if everyone reading this did a little one-paragraph version of what you and yours have been up to in October?  Happy events, prayer requests – whatever you want to share.

Ok- see you back here in a few days – or a week – or whenever I’ve got something to share.

Have a GREAT week.  I’ve missed you all!  God bless.

12 thoughts on “Goodbye October. Hello November! 11/1/15

  1. Hello! I wanted to share a little bit about what my husband and I did during October- it’ll fit right in with the blog! On October 8 we made the 9 hour drive from Illinois to Traverse City for two nights. Then on October 10 we drove to Mackinaw City to catch a ferry to Mackinac Island to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary! I can’t tell you how excited I was to be on that ferry, being giddy the whole way over! We also had the privilege of detouring under the Mackinac Bridge- something I’ve never done before! We spent the day on the island and it grabs my heart almost as much as it does to you Bree! We then spent the next two nights in Petoskey, where my grandma was raised. We went zip lining in Boyne City on Sunday and made the 9 hour drive home on Monday! The following Saturday I was surprised to see photos on Facebook of the three inches of snow that fell! We had a wonderful time in northern Michigan!

    I hope you have a wonderful time during the Christmas Bazaar- I’ve been dreaming of visiting up north during the winter so I can’t wait to live it through you!!

  2. Oh wow Stefanie! What an awesome trip! You definitely visited some of my favorite places – although I’ve never been to Boyne City. Thank you for sharing, and a belated Happy Anniversary!

  3. It’s great to see you back Bree! And it’s great to see pictures of our two favorite places….Mackinac and Flagler/Ormond Beach areas. Our biggest October excitement was last night….618 “visitors” for Trick or Treat !! Lot’s of colorful tree watching throughout the month also makes October a great month.

  4. Hi Bree, I’m very glad you’re back. For October we celebrated our son and now daughter in law wedding. And as I write this my sister and I are closing up the cottage here in the great up north, after spending just over a week up here. Very bittersweet. I’m glad you’ll be back and will pray for some snow for you.

  5. Good to hear from you! Here in central Ontario fall is setting in, though it was slow to arrive; many of the trees are still full of colourful leaves – it will keep folks busy raking for a few more weeks! We had our Thanksgiving up here in October – as always, a great excuse for family get togethers and lots of delicious food. Now, the men are off to the seasonal hunts; in a couple of weeks, when that is over, we’ll be settling in to prepare for the winter. I look forward to seeing your stories about the Christmas Tree lighting on the island;that will be wonderful! Take care! Danny-dog says hello to Maddie and Bear and hopes all is well with them. woof woof.

    • Deborah, your October sounds perfect – even the early (for us) Thanksgiving! I know November means hunting season for the guys (and some ladies) on Mackinac also. Enjoy this time before the snow flies!

      >

  6. The Kittingers did football, football and more football in October. One week we were at 4 games. We work concessions too. 😉 Josh had a Great season…wonderful coaches! The highlight was our varsity team got to go to the state playoffs for the first time in school history! Thanks for the updates and pictures. 😊

Leave a Reply

