Settling In At Home! 10/4/2015

Hi Everyone!

Just a note to let you know we are safely back in Florida, unpacked, and settling in.  We had a good trip to Florida with no problems of any kind.  Thank you so much for every safe travel prayer that you lifted.  We felt them all the way home.

We are so fortunate to be able to come home to beautiful Sunset Inlet! (Photo: Missy Freedman)

So happy to be back at Sunset Inlet! (Photo: Missy Freedman)

I’m going to take a little vacation from blogging for the month of October.  There is so much to do this month.  I’ve got to have some health concerns looked into (neck issues), start back volunteering, meet new neighbors, and just get all nestled back into our Florida home for the winter.  I’ll be back the first part of November, with news from both Florida AND Mackinac Island.

Speaking of Mackinac . . .

The day after we left the island, the temps dropped, the winds started to get crazy, and the ferry trip got a lot more exciting!

The day after we left the island the temps dropped, the winds started to get crazy, and the ferry trip got a lot more exciting! (Photo: Clark Bloswick)

We sure hate that we’re missing October on Mackinac – my favorite month on the island.  I know the trees are turning all shades of red, yellow, and brown, and oh my gosh I love walking through the woods there in the fall.

But – good news!  I’m pretty sure next summer we will be on Mackinac for three whole months, and that is going to be awesome!!

Prayer Request

When Jill left Mackinac a few days before we did, she was going home to join her mom and her brothers in caring for her dad.  Ken had been diagnosed with cancer a few weeks earlier; but treatment was being planned, and Jill thought she’d be back on the island in a few days.

Sadly, Jill’s dad took a turn for the worse and passed away on Friday afternoon.  His services will be Tuesday morning in Lansing.

In October of 2012, Jill and I left the island to go meet Lowell and Faye Greene for the first time.  We spent the night with Jill’s parents, Ken and Joanne, at their beautiful home in Lansing, before leaving the next morning for our trip to Lowell’s.

From the moment I walked into their living room, the warmth and love of this gracious couple embraced me.  Sitting down at the breakfast table with them for coffee the next morning was like having a chat with my own mom and dad.  They accepted me into their hearts and home – and made me feel like family.

Jill and her parents in October of 2012.

Jill and her parents in October of 2012.

I know Jill, Joanne, and Jill’s two brothers, Mark and Eric, would appreciate your prayers in the coming days.

Jill and Joanne, I wish my arms were long enough to reach you in Michigan. Please know – in spirit – you’ve been wrapped up in huge hugs from Ted and I since Friday.  We love you both – so much.  ______________________________________________________________________

See you back here in November – and God bless.

 

14 thoughts on “Settling In At Home! 10/4/2015

  1. So sorry to hear the sad news that Jill’s father passed away. I’ll certainly keep her in my prayers.
    Enjoy your month off of blogging and good luck with your health issues and getting back into your Florida routine. Take care and I’ll be anxiously awaiting your blog return the first part of November. In the mean time, see you on Facebook.

  2. So glad you made it home safely. Jill my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family! I lost my beautiful Mother in July to cancer. Mackinac Island was always a very special place to her. Stay strong Jill, I know you will probably hear it a thousand times, but he is in a much better place. Someone sent my family this poem when my Mother passed away. It brings me such comfort when I read it and I hope it does the same for you. I don’t know who wrote it, you may have come across it at your bookstore.
    Little I knew that morning,
    God was going to call your name,
    In life we loved you dearly,
    In death we do the same.

    It broke our hearts to lose you,
    You did not go alone,
    For part of me went with you,
    The day God called you home,

    You left us beautiful memories
    Your love is still our guide,
    And though we cannot see you,
    You are always by our side.

    Our family chain is broken,
    and nothing seems the same,
    But as God calls us one by one,
    The chain will link again.

  3. So sad to hear about Jill’s father. I read his obituary and saw that they had been married 62 years. What a great accomplishment!

    I will be sad to not have a “Bree’s Blog” in October but you more than deserve a rest! Enjoy your time with you family & your furry children.

    Hugs from Iowa!

  4. So sorry to hear about Jill’s Dad. So glad she was able to be there. Love and prayers for all of them.
    That picture of the ferry is crazy scary!
    I will miss hearing from you on your blog, but October sure is filling up here, too! Have lots of fun!

  5. Sending love and hugs to Jill and I will be keeping her whole family in my prayers. Glad y’all are home safe! We miss you at the lake though!!!

Leave a Reply

