On the Street Where We Live . . . . 8/27/15

Today – for the first time since we arrived almost two weeks ago – I took my camera out with me and shot pictures. I just walked from our condo down to Doud’s corner, but I think you’ll be able to see what I’ve meant in the first couple of blogs about the beauty of this year’s flowers!

Looking from Marquette Park up Main Street toward the Marina . . .

Looking from Marquette Park up Main Street toward the Marina . . .

. . . and then back toward Doud's corner.

. . . and then back toward Doud’s corner.  The hanging baskets this year drape almost to the sidewalk.  Incredible!

The big cottage here is Brigadoon, but you're also seeing the corner of Anne's Cottage.

The big cottage here with the gorgeous stone chimney is Brigadoon, but you’re also seeing the corner of Anne’s Cottage, with its elegant iron fence.

Brigadoon through the flowers.

Brigadoon through the flowers.

The majestic Island House . . .

The majestic Island House and its gardens.

A few close ups . . .

A few close ups . . .

. . . you know I don't know the names . . .

. . . you know I don’t know the names . . .

. . . but I wish I did!

. . . but I wish I did!

Hanging baskets from every balcony!

Hanging baskets from every balcony – plus some flower boxes.

The Inn on Mackinac.

The Inn on Mackinac.

Love these flowers along the fence . . .

Love these flowers against the white picket fence and the white house . . .

. . . and looking past them to the harbor.

. . . and looking past them to the harbor.  Two ladies were standing with me taking a photograph of the same scene, and one said to the other, “Can you just imagine being able to look at this every day from your backyard?  That’s what I call living the good life!”  Amen to that, ladies.  Being here to experience it for even a few hours is pretty special too!

Looking down the street toward our home for the next few weeks , , ,

Looking down the street toward our home for the next few weeks , , ,

. . . and here's where we are. Sure have been enjoying our morning coffee out on that deck!

. . . and here’s where we are. Sure have been enjoying our morning coffee out on that deck!

I know I promised more than I’ve been giving in the way of blogs since we’ve been here, but we’ve had a series of “happenings” that has kept us hopping since our arrival, and my writing and photography has had to take a backseat.  I think we’re about to settle into some normalcy now . . .  at least I sure hope so!

There is so much happening this weekend and on into next week, and if the weather cooperates it’s going to be a blogger’s paradise  – the Festival of the Horse is Friday and Saturday, and the Grand Garden Show begins on Sunday.  So stay tuned and come along for all the fun!

2 thoughts on “On the Street Where We Live . . . . 8/27/15

  1. Hi Bree, I can help you with the names of the two single flowers in your blog. The red single one with white tips and the pink one just below that are dahlias. I have the same one in my backyard. This is my first attempt at them and they are gorgeous. I’m Jill’s Aunt Betty

Leave a Reply

