Foggy Days, Rainy Nights and Other Good Things 10/13/2013

When I wrote the post on Wednesday,  I thought I’d have nothing to talk about tonight except packing boxes.  Amazingly though we’ve spent a lot of time outdoors this weekend – going first one place and then another, or just out with Maddie and Bear.  Of course that means putting packing into a higher gear for the next two weeks, but so be it!

Our closing date is Oct. 29, a Tuesday, and we’ll be leaving Mackinac on either the 30th or 31st (I typed that sentence really fast so I couldn’t start thinking about it).  Ted wants to be at the Bottom for the Georgia football game, and with that goal in mind, I have no doubt he’ll be there at the appointed time.  We still can’t talk much about leaving without getting a case of the “sentimentals”, but time is the only thing that will take care of that . . . time AFTER we leave the Island.

We’re still “homeless” for next summer, but we have 2-3 irons in the fire, and we’re hoping one of them works out.  Sure would like to get that buckled down before we leave the Island.

Friday started off as another October gift – sunny skies and mild temperatures.  This time last year we couldn’t venture out without several layers, and here we were walking the dogs without even a light jacket!  But when I happened to glance outside late in the morning, I thought, “Oh, no! Something’s on fire!”  But it wasn’t smoke, it was fog . . . rolling in from the lake in huge swirls.  And that’s how fast things change in Michigan!

Later in the afternoon I grabbed the camera and walked a few blocks further up the hill.

Late in the afternoon I grabbed the camera and walked a few blocks further up the hill . . . just as workers were coming home from town.

The fall colors shrouded in fog were eerily beautiful as I walked up and down each hill.

The fall colors, shrouded in fog, were eerily beautiful . . . .

. . . and popped out even more brightly than on a clear day.

. . . and seemed to pop out even more brightly than on a clear day.

Yards . . .

Yards . . .

. . . and streets are covered in crunchy leaves.

. . . and streets are covered in crunchy leaves.

I turned around at 7th Street and started back home . . .

I turned around at 7th Street and started back home . . .

. . . stopping to admire the apple crop at the Bradley's.

. . . stopping to admire the apple crop at the Bradley’s . . .

. . . and standing in the middle of the road by the condo to capture the ghostly carriage coming up the hill . . .

. . . and standing in the middle of the road by the condo to capture the ghostly carriage coming up the hill.

No ghost . . . it was Molly!

No ghost though . . . it was Molly!

On Saturday night I put together my old standby – corn salad – and Ted and I went downtown to a friend’s going away dinner.  The host has an apartment over the Island Slice Pizzeria, and I took that as an opportunity to shoot a few photographs of Main Street from a different vantage point.

The lights were just beginning to come on downtown when I began to take photos from the apartment's balcony.

The lights were just beginning to come on downtown when I began to take pics from the apartment’s balcony.

An hour or so later, more lights.

A little later – more lights.

When I went back inside I was told that the ladder in the corner of the room led up to the roof.  With Ted’s help, I managed to get up there without incident, and, oh my goodness, what a view!

Looking over roof tops to the lighthouses

Rain clouds were gathering as I looked over the roof tops toward the lighthouses.

The Arnold dock.

The Arnold dock.

Looking back toward Market Street.

Turning around to face toward Market Street, I could see Fort Mackinac.

Main Street - always beautiful at night.

Main Street – always beautiful at night.

The Iroquois

The lights of the Iroquois Hotel glow softly against the dark sky.

After I made it safely down off the roof and we'd eaten dinner, the threatening rain came.

After I made it safely down off the roof and we’d eaten dinner, the threatening rain came.  I walked back out on the balcony to capture the street lights reflecting off the wet pavement.

Oh my the way.  The hit of the party was a yellow lab puppy named Millie . . .

Oh by the way. The hit of the party was a yellow lab puppy named Millie . . .

. . . who was doggone tired after a day exploring the Island and went soundly to sleep on her mom's sweater.

. . . who was doggone tired after a day exploring the Island and went soundly to sleep on her mom’s sweater.

After dinner - as we waited for a taxi.

After dinner – as we waited for a taxi.

A slow drizzle accompanied us home.

A slow drizzle accompanied us home.

OTHER STUFF

Sweet Sally, a Baying Walker Coonhound belonging to Mary and John, checks out the steps

Sweet Sally, a Baying Walker Coonhound belonging to Mary McGuire, checks out Crow’s Nest Trail, which leads from Anne’s Tablet to Marquette Park.

Went to Nicole Doud's baby shower this afternoon at the Jockey Club. Nicole is one of the sweetest people I know, and Baby Doud is expected in December. We are all going to be fighting next summer to babysit!

Nicole Doud’s baby shower was this afternoon at the Jockey Club. Nicole is one of the sweetest people I know, and next summer we are all going to be fighting to babysit Baby Doud!

The Jewel Golfcourse - after the baby shower.

The Jewel Golf Course – after the baby shower.

Just before I started home this afternoon things really got busy on Cadotte!  With the summer flowers still blooming and the fall leaves shouting for attention

Just before I started home this afternoon things really got busy on Cadotte! With the summer flowers still blooming and the fall leaves shouting for attention, you hardly know where to look first!

Stephanie Fortino's feature about Bree's Mackinac Island Blog came out in this month's Town Crier.  Stephanie did a great job of writing the story and capturing my love for Mackinac and all its people.  I'm trying to get permission to reprint the article on the blog this week.  Will let you know later this week how that turns out.  Thank you, Stephanie!

Stephanie Fortino’s feature about Bree’s Mackinac Island Blog came out in this month’s Town Crier. Stephanie did a great job of writing the story and capturing my love for Mackinac, its people, and my readers. I’m trying to get permission to reprint the article on the blog, and I’ll let you know later this week how that turns out. Thank you, Stephanie!

The next two weeks will be dedicated to packing and saying a lot of goodbyes – just like we’ve done the last six years.  And we’ll be constantly reminding ourselves we’ll be back next summer – just like we’ve done the last six years – only next summer will be for a little shorter time. 

I find myself keeping three little phrases spinning through my head these days – God’s in charge.  God doesn’t make mistakes.  God’s time is perfect.

It’s all good.  God bless.

35 thoughts on “Foggy Days, Rainy Nights and Other Good Things 10/13/2013

  1. Love, love, LOVE the rooftop pictures of the island, especially Main Street at night! I just have this great affection for Main Street lit up. Thank you so much for such a different view that we don’t get to see for our self Brenda. Awesome!

  2. I was on the Island today and bought the paper after seeing your article on the front page! It was a wonderful article! I also went on a private carriage ride and saw the condos you live in or have been living in anyway! That was neat! I read your blogs and love them! I hope and pray you find somewhere nice to stay next summer!

  3. Can’t wait until the Town Crier arrives at my house to read the article about you and your blog.
    The pictures you took of downtown are great. Glad the trip up and down the ladder went safely.
    Good luck with the packing. It’s always interesting the things you find while packing.

  4. Great pictures! I love the fall colors. I have to be honest – I’ve been a little heavy hearted for you and Ted and the thought of you selling your place. You’re our (all of our) connection to the place we all love so much. Change is tough, but I believe we can’t grow if we’re not stretched a bit from time to time. I pray your new changes bring you lots of joy.
    Thank you for a wonderful season of pictures and words!!

  5. Loved the pics. Thinking of you, with the sadness of leaving your condo mixed with the sadness of heading back to friends in GA.

  6. Love the balcony and rooftop photos of downtown! Not a bad place for Fourth of July. And I have a bad case of puppy love! What a sweetie!

    Those of us who have had to leave the island are all with you in spirit, you know. You’ve awakened a lot of memories for me, and I’m sure, many others. Oh, my, but that island is special! Hang in there. Good friends are waiting to ‘catch’ you in Georgia. Hugs.

  7. A life time memories shall travel with you and us my sentimental friend. For it is with a sentimental heavy heart I wish you and Ted along with your sweet furry friends a beautiful journey that only God the destination.

    As they say take time to smell the roses, how many roses,road apples,or island breezes have you brought us all….Thank you for all of it . But know it’s only one chapter for you. Look towards the Sweet Georgia air, and only 4 hours to the grand kids! How cool!

    Wishing you both sweet island memories just for you to keep…with your island freinds and as all have written my what sweet Georgia homecoming it shall be!

    With love,hugs, and blessings,
    Theresa and family

    • Theresa – thank you, my friend, for those sweet words. You and your family are dear to my heart, and I hope we land on the island at the same time next summer!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  8. I love your rooftop pictures! What a great prespective!

    And I can’t wait to get my October Town Crier (along about Hallowe’en time!) That looks like a great article.

    Hopefully you’ll get a spell of nasty weather this week and get a lot more packing done! 😉

  9. Bree, I read and follow all of your comments and this one hit me the most. Maybe it’s because of the beautiful pictures you took or Fall is here, things winding down for you on Mackinac, my own experiences and love of the island my husband and I spent our honeymoon on and someday want our whole family there again. Roll all those things together and yep, it hit me. Thank you so much for writing the blog. Good luck on finding a place for next summer.

  10. So good for us all to remember “your three little things.” I have a feeling things are just as they should be and perfect in your world. LOVE the photo of Doud’s framed by the bike and corn husks.

  11. Once again your photos have made my Monday. That fog was something else-we got it down here on Saturday morning. It was sunshine and clear skies when I left Ann Arbor at 11am and when I got to my exit in Ypsilanti 10 minutes later, I couldn’t see 50 yards in front of me. Good luck with the packing and am sending good thoughts for getting next summer’s place all nailed down.

  12. Hi Bree. My husband and I just returned from our yearly trip to my dream land, Mackinac Island, last week. While waiting for the ferry, I was chatting with a great couple who told me about your blog. Wow, I can’t believe I have never heard of you in the 19 years we have been visiting the Island. You are living my dream!!! I feel your pain in having to leave every year. We usually stay at the Grand Hotel or the Iroquois Hotel for 3 nights. Love them both, but would like to have my own place there. Anyway, now I will catch up on your blogs and just live my dream through you. Thank you for this opportunity. Have a safe trip home.

    • Welcome Pam! My suggestion would be to start back at the very beginning on the archives and read through it like chapters in a very long book. A lot of new followers have told me they’ve done that, and it was really fun to move through five summers on the island in chronogical order. But you do it any old way you’d like to! Again, welcome!

      • Yes, Bree, that’s exactly how I am catching up. I’m currently on May 27, 2009, “Bear’s blog”. So much fun. It makes me laugh and feel good. Bear and Maddie are two beautiful “kids” !!!

  13. Nicole Doud is such a nice person. I always go into her store & purchase something. In fact my niece is getting married so her bridal shower gifts from me were mostly from “Little Luxuries of Mackinac” when I was on the island last month. When my niece opened them up she looked up at me and said “Aunt Von, I would expect you would get my gifts from Mackinac!” Lol!

    You said that you had 3 phrases running in your head. Another phase to remember is God doesn’t give us more than we can handle. But I must confess that sometimes I look up sky and say “Really God, are you serious?! UGH!” LOL!

  14. Lovely photos as usual….especially love the ones at night, adore the roof top clicks..thanks. I’m not too sure about you going up that ladder….hope it wasn’t too high up! Glad you/Ted feeling a little better. My younger daughter’s saying during childhood was: “things will get better”.

    • And they WILL get better, Judy! The hardest part was getting back ON the ladder from the roof! And yeah – it was pretty tall.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  15. So neat – such awesome pics- wow, I am going to miss these more then you can imagine. (btw-we just sole our home near Marshall/Battle Creek,MI and we at this moment are in Williamsburg, VA looking to purchase a home in this area. I am having many of the same feelings you folks are. I have been a resident of MI for 73 yrs. so leaving is not easy for me. I have lots of connection with the island as I mentioned to you previously my mom was raised and went to school on the island.

  16. Selfishly, I am going to miss Mackinac right along with you even though I have never physically been there. But, thanks to you, my heart, emotions, and mind have taken residence there. I will always appreciate your talented writings as they have made me a part of that beautiful and unique island. Your blog has uplifted me more than you know. I can only imagine how hard this change is going to be for you two. But as you have written, God is in charge. May God continue to bless you and Ted as He guides you both through the next door He’s planned for you to enter. Proverbs 3:5-6.

  17. Hi Brenda,

    Absolutely loved the pictures this time. Shared the small pictures with Sirena and she was really feeling the fall weather. Sure wish we were there. Will shoot ya an email.

    Hope your week is going well.

  18. It was funny when we arrived at the ferry dock Sunday and I saw the Town Crier with your picture right on the front….had to wait til I got home to read it though. I’m sorry I didn’t run into you during our short stay (Sunday night) but as usual our trip went by too fast but we made the most of it.

Leave a Reply

