Better . . . . 10/10/2013

Ahhhhhhh . . . . A little calmer around here today.  

We headed out this morning to check on another rental for August and September, 2014, and it’s now at the top of our “possible” list.  Dogs are not a problem, which is always the #1 concern, and we really liked the house.  We should know something for sure within a week or so.

It feels good NOT to have a lot of news tonight.  Ted and I both are pretty ragged right now, but the emotions are leveling out, and we’re beginning to think like rational people again.  Time, time, time . . . what a wonderful panacea it is for all kinds of woes.

I do have a few pics to share – most from me, but a couple I borrowed because I loved them.  Here you go . . . .

The condo owners voted at the summer meeting to have storage sheds built, and they were begun last week . . .

The condo owners voted at the summer meeting to have storage sheds built, and they were begun last week . . .

. . . . and this was today.  They are going up fast!

. . . . and this was today. They are going up fast!  Now the owners can keep bicycles, grills, etc. in a protected space and won’t have to haul them inside when they leave for the winter.  Good plan!

"Throw the ball, dad, throw the ball!"

“Throw the ball, dad, throw the ball!”

George was so busy watching Ted, Bear and Maddie he didn't even see me on the balcony.

George was so busy watching Ted, Bear and Maddie he didn’t even see me on the balcony.

Lunch Wednesday on the outside deck of the Pony with Terry and Sue.  What awesome weather we're still having!

Lunch Wednesday on the outside deck of the Pony with Terry and Sue. What awesome weather we’re still having!  Last year at this time we were all in winter coats, knit hats and boots.

The lobby of the Chippewa Hotel is decorated for Halloween . . .

The lobby of the Chippewa Hotel is decorated for Halloween . . .

. . . including the front desk!

. . . including the front desk!

Anna - waiting for a fare on her taxi outside the Visitors Center, which closes Sunday.

Anna – outside the Visitors Center waiting for a fare.  The Visitors Center closes on Sunday.

Just thought this was a cool pic - looking out a back window of the Visitors Center.

Just thought this was a cool pic – looking out a back window of the Visitors Center.

Wednesday was probably the first time I'd been downtown in a week.  The streets weren't crowded at all as we started home - after a stop at Doud's.

Wednesday was probably the first time I’d been downtown in a week. The streets weren’t crowded at all as we started home – after a stop at Doud’s.

d

The brick pathway between Main and Market Streets.  We were on the way to the post office.

It's Fall, and you gotta have MUMS!

It’s Fall, and you gotta have MUMS!

Cute bike outside a home at Chambers Corner.

Cute bike outside a home at Chambers Corner.

Wednesday dog walk . . .

Wednesday dog walk . . .

. . . and Surrey Hill trees are showing off!

. . . and Surrey Hill trees were showing off!

A beautiful sunrise taken by an Island House photographer.

A beautiful Mackinac day – taken by an Island House photographer.

Jodi Gough was in the right place at the right time to catch a semi-truck crossing the Mackinac Bridge silhouetted against a blazing sunset.  Spectacular!

Jodi Gough was in the right place at the right time to catch a semi-truck crossing the Mackinac Bridge, silhouetted against a blazing sunset. Spectacular!

That’s it for now, dear readers.  Once again thank you for your wonderful comments, private emails, and all the encouraging words you’ve written and prayers you’ve lifted up.  I wish I could reach through my laptop screen and wrap you all in a big hug right now, so . . . . please consider yourself hugged!  God bless.

32 thoughts on “Better . . . . 10/10/2013

  1. Brenda,

    First off, I noted that you & Ted weren’t dressed n your fashionable clothes for lunch on Wednesday.

    I’m surprised that I didn’t notice there was no outside storage at the condo. That’s certainly something that is needed by the residents.

    I like your picture of the Visitor Center window and harbor. You have the eye, or maybe it’s the brain. I probably wouldn’t have noticed (just a window with some stuff in it, thinks I). I also like the picture of the little yellow house on Surrey Hill. Too bad you couldn’t rent that for the summer. I can just “hear” all the horses clip-clopping by. Of course, I liked all the other pictures too. I thought I would try to pick out a favorite, but that was a very nice impossibility.

    The beautiful Fall weather all over this part of the country certainly is appreciated, but I hope you haven’t packed your sweaters and coats because I think you’re going to need them in a few days. And that will be nice too.

    • Lowell, that little yellow house is the butterfly house at Surrey Hill. It DOES have an apartment above it, but sadly it’s ALWAYS rented! 😦

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  2. Brenda,
    WALB said yesterday morning’s low at “the rivah” was 53. Us here in SW GA are slooooowly preparing for the Horton’s return!

    And it’s riding weather! Put on your boots and come ride my TWH’s with me!

    🙂
    Mary Jane
    Thomasville GA

      • Yep! “Doc” in my profile pic. I bought him for my (then) 11 y.o. daughter. He’s a big puppy. You’ll love him.

        And think about coming to Thomasville for Victorian Christmas…two enchanting evenings strolling the historic brick streets of our beautiful town, taking in the sights, sounds and scents of Christmas. Dec. 12 & 13. Just a hop, skip and jump from the Lake!

  3. I think that it’s awesome that you’re going to rent a house on the island next year. It was very sad for me to think that you were done with mackinac but now that you’re going to still try and spend your summers there makes me happy. Good luck to you both…..it seems that you have a very good life and that makes me happy.

    Jeff

    • Thank you, Jeff. It won’t be for the whole summer – we’re hoping for a couple of months, but we’ll just have to see if it all works out. Could not fathom NOT being on the island for some extended period of time, but we just want to continue on with the plan for ONE house to take care of. But who knows what the future holds? Our hearts are open to whatever doors the good Lord decides to open!

      > Date: Fri, 11 Oct 2013 13:53:23 +0000 > To: brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com >

  4. At least you have a couple of weeks to research possible to rent for next summer before you take off for Georgia.

    The Visitor window picture is neat but I don’t have eye for such a thing, I am like Lowell that it would just look like “stuff” to me but your picture is beautiful.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  5. Hi Bree!

    I haven’t checked the blog in awhile and imagine my surprise when I read you sold the condo! Congratulations, and I wish you the best of luck in all the decisions you are faced with right now.

    My grandmother and I are coming up Saturday-Tuesday for a third trip this year. Will you still be at the Stuart House, or has it closed? Would love to see you one last time, since next year you may be up as “visitors”.

    All the best,

    Jeff

    • Sorry, Jeff, but this past Monday was my last day at Stuart House. Maybe we’ll spot you out-and-about! Enjoy!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

      • Maybe! I’ll bet there will be a lot fewer people to be “lost” in this time of year. Hopefully we will see some great colors!

  6. The island will be different next summer…….especially the Pink Pony….Ted, his smile and discussion will be missed at that place……….

  7. Love the color and the emptier streets at this time of year on the island. Your pictures really make me miss that. Awesome pictures as always…they really deserve a WOW!

  8. So glad you will be back for at least 2 months in the summer next year. Enjoy the rest of you stay on the Island. When do you have to move out of your condo?

  9. Glad you are feeling better about your dilemma. I am sure you will find something on the island. You have many friends there to keep an eye out for something you can rent. Loved the pictures!

  10. What a wonderful couple of days we had on your island Brenda! 🙂 We were everywhere in three days. We biked up to Fort Holmes on Tuesday night to try to see the Northern lights (no luck – but what a night time view of the island and the bridge!)

      • It was spooky in the dark. It reminded me of the ride we took out to the Woods before they put in street lights. We had our lights on our bikes, but that was it. It was just us and the very visible Milky Way. 🙂

  11. Good to hear things are adjusting. I guess we both learned it just takes a bit of time. Really great pictures! Email me some of your fall set you’ve taken. The island is really looking great this fall.

  12. I think you have a great plan. August and September are such lovely months on the Island and too hot in the south. You and Ted look refreshed and happy. Praise the Lord.

  13. My guess too, that Aug. and Sept. would be the best months. Less busy than when the schoolchildren are there and the south is still too hot.
    My favorites shots this week are, your little window in the Visitors Center and the blazing sunset. Both are fantastic. Stay relaxed.

  14. I loved the view out that Visitor Center window while we were there this summer, but it never occurred to me to take a picture. That’s why you get so many nice pics, you just know when to pull out the camera!

Leave a Reply

