Roller Coasters and Pretty Trees 10/8/2013

Oh.  My.  Goodness.  What an incredible few days on the roller coaster this has been.

Our emotions have been so raw, our thoughts so scattered, and our outlook so mixed we have found it hard to even come close to having a normal day yet. We’ve rethought all our plans – second guessing everything.  In the process of trying to find something on the island to rent for two months, we’ve discovered there just isn’t a lot to choose from . . . not if two dogs are involved.  And I don’t blame people for that – they have no way of knowing our dogs are perfect :).  So we continue to search for a spot to rent, as we pack a little each day.

I might as well go ahead and confess we’ve also looked at four houses on the Island in the last two days.  In the hours and hours of conversation Ted and I have had, we’ve come to the conclusion that all this just happened too fast for us.  We honestly felt the condo wouldn’t sell for 3-5 years.  For it to sell in one season can only be the workings of God  . . . giving us one last season, but closing the door on our condo as our second home.  We have to remember God works in His own time, and His time is perfect.

We have finally admitted we have just got to step back, pack up, leave the island at the end of the month, and go home to Georgia.  There, in our sweet little house by the water, we will be away from the emotional pull of Mackinac that draws us so strongly – as we talk with friends, walk the trails and streets, and prepare to pass our blessed little condo on to Steve and Cindy.   We’ve spent quite a lot of time talking with them this week, and we love them already. They have such a desire to live here and become part of this community, and I know they are going to be incredibly happy.  We are excited for them!   Cindy melted my heart this morning when she told me, during a phone conversation, “We’d looked at so many places over the past months, but nothing seemed right.  Then we walked into your condo, and we instantly felt at home.”

So that’s how things stand right now.  We’ve eased back into our original plan, except instead of waiting until we sell our lake house to look for something in Florida, we’re going to begin looking as soon as we get home and settled.  We need to test the waters on the market from Amelia Island all the way down the east coast of Florida to New Smyrna Beach.  If we find a place where we “instantly feel at home”, we may go ahead and buy.  From there the plan changes once more.  We’ll put the house in Georgia on the market, and when it sells (1 – ? years), we might see if we can find a little house on the Island.  As Ted says, “We just don’t know if we’re ready to not be Mackinac residents.”  In the meantime, we’ll continue to search for a place to rent which will allow our furbabies to tag along.

One more thing.  I will never in a gazillion years be able to thank y’all enough for your comments on all this.  I’ve read and re-read them through eyes blurry with tears.  Some of you made some great points and suggestions, which we will ponder.  But most of all, you reminded us that we need to leave it all in God’s hands.  He’s working on everything for us, and even though we have our plan, it might not be His.  But His will be perfect.

OK!  Enough of all that for tonight.  I have PICTURES!  Some are from the past few days, and some are from our dog walk this afternoon.  All the rain and wind over the last four days blew a few of our leaves down before their time, but we still have plenty left – so COME ON UP!

PAST DAYS

Ted photographed Ft. Holmes a few days before the rains came.

These first five photos are Ted’s.  He was up at Ft. Holmes a few days before the rains came . . .

vvv

. . . and as you can see, the golds and reds were really starting to pop.

bbbb

Birch trees and fall colors – perfect combination.

Ted walked over to Arch Rock and shot this photo of the new stairs leading from Arch Rock down to M-185.  They'll be ready in the Spring!

Ted walked over to Arch Rock and shot this photo of the new stairs leading down to M-185. They’ll be ready in the Spring!

Now see.  I just had a moment.  As I typed “they’ll be ready in the Spring”, I realized I won’t be here to see the finished product until later in the summer.  I’m really having trouble accepting that – but I know I have to.  Sigh.

One last Ted photo.

One last Ted photo – Mission Point from Robinson’s Folly.  Did you see the gull ?

The day we found out our condo was sold, we went out to The Woods Restaurant to celebrate. As always, the riide home through the "real" woods was magical. Our driver had Grand Hotel folks on board, so we got to ride through the Grand portico . . .

The day we found out our condo was sold, we went out to The Woods Restaurant to celebrate. As always, the ride home through the “real” woods was magical. Our driver had Grand Hotel folks on board, so we got to ride through the Grand portico . . .

. . .

. . .and catch the last of the sun’s rays through the fringe on our carriage.

I will go ahead an apologize.  Last weekend was the Somewhere in Time weekend at the Grand Hotel, and I didn't step foot in the Grand one time.  Too much going on at once.  I did snap a couple of folks as I walked down to the real estate office to sign papers.

I will go ahead an apologize. Last weekend was the Somewhere in Time weekend at the Grand Hotel, and I didn’t step foot in the Grand one time. Too much going on at once. I did snap this photo of a couple of folks as I walked down to the real estate office to sign papers.

This couple saw me with my camera and stopped to pose without me even asking!

This couple saw me with my camera and stopped to pose without me even asking!

Outside Mackinac Island Realty after contract signing.  (Photo: Jill Sawatzki)

Outside Mackinac Island Realty after contract signing. (Photo: Jill Sawatzki)

That same day Vince and Molly boarded the ferry . . .

That same day Vince and Molly boarded the ferry . . .

. . . hugged us all goodbye . . .

. . . hugged us all goodbye . . .

. . . and left the Island for the last time as our pastor and his wife.  They are returning to their home in Sarasota FL, where they'll be serving a church on Long Boat Key.  Monday was just a sad day all around.

. . . and left the Island for the last time as our pastor and his wife. They are returning to their home in Sarasota FL, where they’ll be serving a church on Long Boat Key.

One of the houses we looked at today was in Trillium Heights, where the Beech, Oak and Maple trees are clothed in

One of the houses we looked at today was in Trillium Heights, where the Beech, Oak and Maple trees are clothed for Fall.

Would you believe I took this shot out of a basement window in that Trillium Heights home?

Would you believe I took this shot looking up and out through a basement window in that Trillium Heights home?

Village trees.

Village trees.

DOG WALK ON TUESDAY

The winds have left our trails blanketed in short, brown pine needles.

The winds have left our trails blanketed in short, brown pine needles.

Bear - in front of McGyver's turn-out.

Bear – in front of McGyver’s corral – sniffing stuff he shouldn’t be sniffing.

A West Bluff horse

A West Bluff horse checks to see if Ted brought any carrots.

Pretty trees, pretty horse.

Pretty trees, pretty horse.

A Star Ferry makes its last trip of the day to the Island.

A Star Ferry makes its last trip of the day to the Island.

Flowers and a Monarch Butterfly  in front of a West Bluff cottage.

Flowers in front of a West Bluff cottage.  Did you spot the Monarch?

Brent, heading to the barn with a couple of Belgians.

Brent, heading to the barn with a couple of Belgians.

Bear made a new friend behind a bluff cottage - who had treats in the barn.  Maddie was chasing chipmunks.

Bear made a new friend behind a bluff cottage who had treats in the barn. Maddie was chasing chipmunks.

Going home for dinner.

Going home for dinner.

A gorgeous tree at the Barn View residence.

A gorgeous tree at the Barn View residence.

That’s all for today.  Tomorrow we have an electrician (our hot water heater went out today) and a house inspector coming.  Then lunch with two great friends, Sue and Terry Conlon.  Hmmmm . . . I can always pack some more on Thursday!

See you in a few days!  God bless.

25 thoughts on “Roller Coasters and Pretty Trees 10/8/2013

  1. One is NEVER ready not to be Mackinac residents! I have fought that for over 40 years and still have not come to grips with it! I think Jill’s photo of you at the realtor’s office says it all! All in good time – and you can get rooms in Straits Lodge with dogs, they tell me!

    I swear, Ted must have been trailing us! We did that very walk on Wednesday – Manitou Trail to Arch Rock – the new stairs are great, and Gary was very impressed by the design! And then Tranquil Bluff to Leslie and around to Sugar Loaf, climbed up to Fort Holmes, then down through the cemeteries and down to town.

    Don’t forget to enjoy October!

  2. Brenda, do they have time shares on the island where you split a house with other folks? That might be something that could allow you to stay on the island during the summer but give you time to spend down south with your family as well.

  3. Hey Brenda and Ted,

    First great post, I refrained from commenting on the previous post since I sent you all an email. The Straights Lodge at Mission Point DOES accept pets. We plan to bring Gizmo and Ben on our next visit and stay there.

    An interesting point about time shares. If you recall from my email. Sirena sent me a condo listing for sale……….I got an idea I’d like to get your ear on. I’ll email ya.

    Great pics you guys! I’m enjoying the fall colors.

    • The problem with the Straits lodge is it’s basically a hotel room. We’ve got to have more room than that for 2 months or Ted or I one may no longer be among the living 😊. Plus we have to be able to cook most of our meals.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  4. Brenda and Ted, you will always have Mackinac in your heart now. Although I left the Island over 30 years ago after five summers and three winters, I still have friends there and my little house here at Higgins Lake often magically appears on the Island in my dreams at night. I have enjoyed your blog so much and will pray that the Lord opens all of the right doors and that your path is made clear and straight before you! God bless you both.

  5. Oh Jill – I really like the picture of Brenda & Ted in front of the real estate office. I certainly can tell they know how to dress for style! Ted, I want you to know, red and orange are just about my favorite color combination. And Brenda, the cap on your beautifully elegant hair style… Well, what can I say? Seriously, Brenda, your earrings brought to mind that I don’t ever remember seeing my mother without her earrings.

    Ted, I like your pictures. Took me right back to Fort Holmes, especially the first one. As far as the new stairway at Arch Rock is concerned, as beautiful as it is, I don’t think I’ll be able to use it, as much as I would like too. It just may have a few too many steps.

    From my selfish point of view, I would like to see you buy a little house on the Island. I would like to be able to think of you being there, and I’m sure you would like it. However, the Straits Lodge that Irene and Jason suggested sounds like a good alternative, however, from what I see on the internet, they only allow one dog. I don’t think Bear or Maddie would appreciate staying in a kennel for that length of time. Of course, you could be the exception and they would allow two.

    Anyway. I better stop rattling on, but before I stop, I want you to know I enjoyed the blog today, both pictures and words. “You sure done good.” As always.

  6. You are in our thoughts and prayers. It is hard, so hard, to leave that beautiful little island. We have visited there many years and the last few have not been able to get there. I must say it “tugs” at your heart a little less everyday, but the love for Mackinac Island is still there. You will settled in with many new adventures somewhere. I will follow you on your Georgia blog and see what the future holds. Love.

  7. As long as you continue to blog, I will be happy wherever you end up! Although, the thought of you buying a house in my beautiful state, sounds good to me! I still believe, that you and Ted are so lucky to be in this position in the first place. You can go wherever you want! Such a blessing. Take your time, choose your destination, and live happy. Perfection.

  8. What can I say that others haven’t. You and Ted will certainly make the correct decision for your family, but I’m leaning toward you finding another little place here on the island.
    As I’ve commented before, Bruce and I are on the island now (our last day) and we’ve missed running into you, but I did visit with Jill a couple of times and she did say she’d say “hello” from me. So, another reason we hope you find a place for next season….we’ll try and see you then.
    Take care, enjoy these last beautiful days in October…today is a doozy, and God Bless!

    Joleen

  9. Brenda — We have friends here in FL who are looking to rent their condo in Jan/Feb/March. (Their HOA requires a 1 month rental) I am not sure if we are in the area you are interested in (near Clearwater) but if you are interested, I’d be glad to pass on the info! Roller Coaster is right! Sending positive thoughts your way!

  10. The picture of Ted and Bear walking home for dinner and with the talk of you leaving Mackinac just makes me choke up with tears. It such an emotional time!

    If I won the lottery, I would buy a house and let you, Ted, and your furry children live there for 2 months for free just so you would keep this blog going! LOL! Tony, I and our Bear would visit the other months and we would all be happy!

    Hugs from Iowa!

  11. I’m going to be positive here! If you live in Florida, you will be able to take a weekend and pop over to here your minister preach or just visit.
    Lovely pictures. I can imagine how difficult this is for you. You should set a reminder for 3-5 years from now to ask yourself “What if we were just selling to condo now?” to see where God has taken you.

  12. Loved the picture of you and Ted also……love you in the hat and sweatshirt! Then the picture of Ted and Bear was so sweet. Hope you can find the right place to rent for a couple of months. I’m sure with all your friends, you’ll find something!! 3 more days are we’ll be up there!! Can’t wait to see the fall color. It just won’t be long enough.

  13. I ditto everything that everyone else said. You and Ted will make the right decisions and we’ll be right there to root you on! 🙂

  14. We where on the Island last week and stayed at the Grand.
    Oh how I know how your Heart feels I just Love the Island.
    We made a huge change last October and all I can say is fear not , it always just gets even better.
    We winter in Florida and now live in the Traverse City Area.
    We are exactly 2 hrs from Mackinac Island and every time I board the ferry I am coming HOME and I do not even live there.
    Don’t Worry it will all be Good !

  15. Well gosh. I’ve been working so much .. and traveling for work. And working and working and working. Tonight, I thought, I’ll stop by to see what Bree & Ted have been up to. I read the first paragraph of this post and whipped my mouse down to earlier posts!! Wo. Wooo! Wooooo!! Did they sell? Did they sell???

    My heart goes out to you but I know that new adventures await you. The right decisions will present themselves to you just as the sale of the condo appeared seemingly out of no where.

    Don’t panic, don’t regret it, don’t look back. Sit tight and sit back. Great things await! God will lead you to them.

  16. Hey Brenda gosh I sure hope you two nice people are able to find a place for next summer I accidentally de friended you the day you were hacked hope I can get back on Good luck with all packing. Etc etc. and I know things will definitely work out!!

  17. Dear Brenda: I have only been to Mackinac Island three times but already it is a place in my heart. I stay connected to the Island via your blog which is an amazing blessing. I can’t get through the week without checking to see how you Ted and the pups are and what’s happening on the Island etc. I cry when I see your pictures and read about beautiful Mackinac. Each time we have visited the island and the ferry leaves the dock I cry tears of joy all the way to the island. We are coming to the Grand Hotel (first time) to stay for a few nights near the end of October and I hope to find you somewhere to say hello and give you a big hug. God has provided the buyers. He is able and willing to take care of the rest of the details and He will. Continue to trust Him in your lives each day, do your best and He will do the rest. I picture you blogging from the east coast of Florida enjoying your family and from Mackinac in the summer and continuing to bless so many of us with your inspiration and love not only for Mackinac Island but for life itself. God Bless and take care. Best Regards, Paula DeWald

  18. Brenda.
    I know you have many things on you plate right now- but I would like to talk with you about dogs horses and the island. If you could email me privately I would really appreciate your help and insights.
    Your blog is an inspiration. Thank you and I hope to hear from you. Msrileystudios@charter.net
    My thanks and God bless,

    Maureen

  19. I have two favorite vacation places I visit annually. Mackinac Island and New Smyrna Beach- which is a wonderful as Mackinac. A beautiful small town, slow pace. And you won’t find a better beach anywhere- we call it Floridas best kept secret. I think you would love it there!

Leave a Reply

