Through to the Other Side 9/2/2013

You know that feeling you get when you’re not feeling well and you suddenly think, “Oh my gosh, this is it.  I’m never going to feel better than what I do right now.  Woe is me.”  You know that feeling?

I’m past that.

Yep, I’ve come through to the other side.  A few prescription-dose tablets, and the world suddenly looks all sunny and bright again.  I DO feel better.  In fact, I feel great!  Thank you, Lord, for doctors and medicines and time to let them work!

Although I’d been out and about ac couple of times during the last 10 days, on Saturday I finally felt like going out and DOING something!  It was a good thing too, because Labor Day weekend was filled with activities!

LABOR DAY LAST RIDE OF THE SEASON

Each year island residents who own horses celebrate the end of another wonderful summer on Mackinac with a last ride.  In formal riding attire they meet on the East Bluff and ride throughout the island.  There’s no set route each year.  They just ride and enjoy the beauty of this gorgeous place where we spend our summers, before most of these privately-owed horses (and their owners) leave the island for the winter.

The riders culminate their journey on the East West Bluff,  where the flowers around each of these beautiful homes are still at their peak.

The next-to-the-last leg of the ride is to the West Bluff, where the flowers around each of these beautiful cottages are still at their peak.

horses2

horses4

horses5

house

The riders pass several of these homes on the ride down the West Bluff . . .

. . . until they come to this one . . .

. . . until they come to this one . . .

. . . where they assemble for Mint Juleps  . . .

. . . where they assemble for Mint Juleps served in silver goblets . . .

. . . and toast the end of the season and all the Mackinac Island riders who have gone before them.

. . . and toast the end of the season and all the Mackinac Island riders who have gone before them.

After the toast, they continue down the West Bluff . . .

After the toast, they continue down the West Bluff . . .

. . . ride in front of the Grand Hotel and then return to the East Bluff where they meet for breakfast at one of the East Bluff cottages.  What a great Mackinac Island tradition!

. . . ride in front of the Grand Hotel and then return to the East Bluff, where they meet for breakfast at one of the East Bluff cottages. What a great Mackinac Island tradition!

FAREWELL DINNER FOR VINCE AND MOLLY CARROLL

I’ve spoken often here of Little Stone Church and our wonderful minister Dr. Vince Carroll and his wife Molly.  It was with great sadness we learned last spring this would be their final summer on the island, as Vince has accepted a church in Long Boat Key, FL – near their home in Sarasota.  He and Molly have served Little Stone Church and the island of Mackinac for ten years, and next summer will certainly not be the same without them.  Vince is one of the most dynamic and powerful ministers I’ve ever heard, and both those adjectives are somehow projected without the raising of his voice.  I could honestly listen to him for hours, and I have never once had my mind stray beyond the pulpit when he is speaking.  Molly is a dear friend and loving part of this community, and these two walk together on God’s path – showing all of us the ideal of a Christian marriage.

Vince and Molly – everyone on Mackinac will miss you greatly, but none more than Ted and I.

Unless he is in the pulpit you hardly ever see Vince when he is not sporting a bow tie.  The men of the church thought it would be great fun to show up at Vince and Molly's farewell dinner all wearing bow ties.

Unless he is in the pulpit you hardly ever see Vince when he is not sporting a bow tie, and the men of the church thought it would be great fun to show up at Vince and Molly’s farewell dinner all wearing bow ties.  We ladies decided we loved the look, and we’re all encouraging our husbands to continue wearing them!

vvvvv

Nearly 80 people  attended the dinner, which was served under a tent at the Yacht Club.  As usual, the food was some of the best on the island.

Thanks to Patty for this pic of Ted and I at the dinner.  LOVE the bow-tie!

Thanks to Patty for this pic of Ted and I at the dinner.

Vince and Molly Carroll.  And for some strange reason, Vince chose that night NOT to wear his bow-tie!

Vince and Molly Carroll. Which man didn’t wear his bow tie?  Vince!

SUNDAY

After church on Sunday, Buz, Patty, Ted and I rode out to Silver Birches for a little informal get-together.  Rain clouds were gathering as we started toward British Landing, but we managed to get to Silver Birches, eat some great food, and dash inside just as the rain hit.

We continue to be impressed at the progress Liz and her team from Gamble Construction have made between each of our visits.  Liz said I had now graduated to "tour director", so I showed Buz and Patty around.

We continue to be impressed at the progress Liz and her team from Mike Gamble Construction have made between each of our visits. Liz said I had now graduated to “tour director”, so I showed Buz and Patty around.

jdjddjdj

I took these late in the afternoon, but earlier this was the scene of food being served . . . .

. . . and a band had been playing on the porch of the blue cottage.

. . . and a band had been playing on the porch of the blue cottage.

A taxi came out to pick up the band's equipment and deliver it back to town.

A taxi came out to pick up the band’s equipment and deliver it back to town.

Patty and Buz on the steps of the yellow cabin, which should be completed by the end of October.

Patty and Buz on the steps of the yellow cabin, which should be completed by the end of October.

Vintage photograph of Silver Birches - back in the day.  (Posted on Facebook by Brad Conkey)

Vintage photograph of Silver Birches – back in the day. (Posted on Facebook by Brad Conkey)

LABOR DAY BRIDGE WALK

Ted participated in the 5-mile Labor Day Bridge Walk again this morning . . .

Ted participated in the 5-mile Labor Day Bridge Walk again this morning.  This is the beginning of the walk, leaving from the St. Ignace side of the bridge . . .

. . . . about the pass the highest point . . .

. . . . about to pass the highest point . . .

. . . and celebrating afterwards with Bobby and Jen in Mackinaw City.

. . . and celebrating afterwards with Bobby and Jen in Mackinaw City.  He walked it in only a little over an hour.

I can’t believe Labor Day is almost over, officially marking the end of the summer and the beginning of our last two months on the island for this year.  It was chilly today – in the high 50’s.  But with 15-25 mph winds, it didn’t seem that warm.  We’re heading back into the low 70’s tomorrow, so the cooler weather is going to tease us a while before getting serious about the start of Fall.

A FEW MORE PHOTOS

Bob and beautiful daughter Ava popped in to say hi last week.  He and wife Kara are blog readers.  Kara and their son Will were shopping and didn't make it by before I had to close for the day.  See you next time!

Bob and beautiful daughter Ava popped in at the Stuart House to say hi last week. He and wife Kara are blog readers. Kara and their son Will were shopping and didn’t make it by before I had to close for the day. See you next time!  Oh, they’re from Wausau, WI.

Another blog reader, Joan from Shelby Township, MI, visited the Stuart House last week.  We changed location and sat on the BACK steps!

Another blog reader, Joan from Shelby Township, MI, visited last week. We changed locations and sat on the BACK steps!

The Mackinac Island Post Office front door - framed by flowers.

The Mackinac Island Post Office front door – framed by flowers.

Something NOT so pretty - a bat hangs upside down on a light fixture outside the Island Bookstore.  If you ever want to show your kids a bat, there are usually a few sleeping in the hallway to the left of the bookstore.  Harmless . . . very harmless.  I promise.  I even visit the bookstore sometimes just to see the bats.  Oh geez - am I in trouble with the bookstore now?

Something NOT so pretty – a bat hangs upside down on a light fixture outside the Island Bookstore. If you ever want to show your kids a bat, there are usually a few sleeping on the ceiling  in the hallway to the left of the bookstore. Harmless . . . very harmless. I promise. I even visit the bookstore sometimes just to see the bats. Oh geez – am I in trouble with the bookstore now?

Back to pretty things - the Metivier in full summer dress.

Back to pretty things – the Metivier Inn in full summer dress.

Chambers Corner.

Chambers Corner

A hay wagon heads up Cadotte to the big barns.

A hay wagon heads up Cadotte to the big barns.

A fun dinner with Jill, Bud & Hilde DaVanon, Frankie Thill and Mike Forrester.

A fun dinner with Jill, Bud & Hilde DaVanon, Frankie Thill and Mike Forrester at the Pink Pony recently.

Thank you, Brad Conkey, for being brave enough to go up in the Red Baron, a bi-plane giving flights over the Island this summer.  What a view!  We can even see our condos behind the Grand Hotel!

Thank you, Brad Conkey, for being brave enough to go up in the Red Baron, a bi-plane giving flights over the Island this summer. What a view! We can even see our condos behind the Grand Hotel!

Whew!  I feel like I’m really back now . . . a long blog post with lots of photos!  Oh, here’s one more:

Our friend Samile posted this last week - a wonderful Lake Blackshear sunset.  Made me VERY homesick for south Georgia.  We are so blessed to live in two such awesomely beautiful places on this earth.  Thank you, Lord.

Our friend Samille, back home in Georgia, posted this last week – a wonderful sunset from Lake Blackshear, our winter home. Made me VERY homesick.. We are so blessed to live in two such awesomely beautiful places on this earth. Thank you, Lord.

30 thoughts on “Through to the Other Side 9/2/2013

  1. One of the best moments of my week….a visit with Brenda and friends on the island. Ted, I hope you enjoyed the bridge walk. I have done this walk once, and really enjoyed it. I sure hope I get to do so again one year. glad you are feeling better Brenda. thanks again for a pleasant visit!

  2. Love all the pictures..especially of the last ride of the season. What an awesome tradition that is. Brenda are you sure that bat isn’t on the sprinkler instead of a light?. I also look forward to seeing the bats at the bookstore. Look for them every time we are there. 🙂 Had a great time at the dinner with everyone…enjoyed meeting Mike, seeing Frankie again and of course Jill, Ted and YOU! Love you guys!

  3. I heard Vince preach when I was on the island during the Lilac Festival. He was wonderful. There was something about his tone and the genuineness of his words that reached out and grabbed me. I wanted to hear more…I wanted to adopt him and carry him back to Tennessee with me! I know you all will miss him.
    The pictures were great this week!

  4. Now, Brenda, I think that after another summer on the Island (and the wonderful blogs you’ve given us, you don’t really want to sell the condo and only spend 2 months there, especially when you think of that hot muggy weather in Georgia and Florida.

    It looks like Ted enjoyed his stroll across the Bridge. I always wanted to do that, but never got to, and now it’s too late, but I get a thrill out of it anyway when someone else is able to do it.

    When will you & Ted be staying at the Silver Birches?

      • I agree Lowell, who wants to spend the summer in any hot and muggy environment. Sirena and I really want a summer cottage up north in MI. We are really tired of the heat in San Antonio, TX.

  5. Glad you’re feeling better. Can’t believe how good Silver Birches looks! How fun you got to be ‘tour director’! Ted did a great job on the bridge walk-a friend of mine did it and said it was darn cold and windy. Have a great week!

  6. The picture of you and Ted with his bow tie on is so sweet. He looks so dashing! LOL! I am coming to the island this Friday (Sept 6th) and will stay until Tuesday (Sept 10th). I will stop by the Stuart Museum and see if you are working and I will stop by the bookstore to see your partner-in-crime, Jill. Have a great week!

  7. So glad you are feeling yourself again.
    I do love a newsy blog, filled with beautiful photos.
    My husband and his sisters walked the bridge a few years back. They were very glad they did. I love the horses at the end of the season, what a fabulous tradition.

  8. Hi Brenda,

    Here on the island yesterday and today, leaving tomorrow. Did the bridge walk yesterday, it was great! Except I kind of messed up an already injured ankle, so I am really doing a low key trip. The weather is beautiful! Maybe I’ll see you around town.

  9. Love the vintage photo of the Silver Birches….doesn’t look like it’s changed much. I still have on my bucket list to do the bridge walk some day…..it looked a little chilly. Guess you can add my name to list of people who go to the bookstore to check out the bats too! I have to say we didn’t see any there is Aug. which was strange, but maybe it was because of the cool weather.

  10. Glad your up and about.Can’t believe kids are back to school and the grind.Still having withdraws from our annual week at Main St Inn.I have been coming to the Island each year since about 1970 and love it more each time.
    Kids are 15 and 12 and actually came in tow with us since birth.Now we can’t get them to go anywhere else for summer vaca.Make sure you take a ride out past mission point to look at stars about 10 pm.Amazing.
    I have a painting business in Grand Rapids,someday I may work up there also.Check with Julie at Main St if you need anything or Michelle at Bay view
    The Wynns

  11. Loved the end of the season tradition with the horses. That is one of the things I love about your blog…………learning things we would not know otherwise. Only 3 weeks until we arrive! Cannot wait. Hopefully will get to meet you!!

  12. Hi Brenda! Glad you are feeling better! We were on the island from Thur-Sun. Had a lovely time. It always flies by. Only one glitch in our trip…we actually experienced a visit from the Mackinac Island ambulance and EMTs. My husband had a small medical emergency. I must say the staff at the restaurant, hotel, and ambulance were wonderful in taking care of us! It’s a long story, but all is well now. I am always a bit sad after our last visit of the season, but look forward to our next arrival! Hope you all had a wonderful holiday! Melody

    • Oh my goodness, there’s nothing quite as scary as being away from home and needing emergency care. So glad you were here though cause our EMTS are the best! You’ll have to tell me what happened one day. Sorry we didn’t spot each other somewhere, Melody, while y’all were here.

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Hey there Brenda! Will try to fill you in on the short version of a long story.  🙂 We were eating dinner at the Round Island Bar & Grille at Mission Point. (I didn’t want to put all this on the blog because I didn’t want to scare people off.) But an awful smell drifted through the air…very much like sulfur…or almost like a gas leak. The staff started checking the fireplace and vents and they called maintenance but they didn’t respond to the servers call. In the meantime, the smell was really getting to my husband and he said, “I need to get some fresh air” so he went out on their deck.  I could see him from our booth, but it had been a while so I sent my boys out to check on him.  I was going to pay for our dinner and just leave to see how he was doing.  No sooner had the boys gotten out to the deck to check on my hubby, he went down.  Totally unconscious.  I couldn’t tell if he was breathing, having a heart attack…it was terrifying.  I ran in and yelled to a server, “Call 911! Get medical!  We need help on the deck!”  All of the staff ran out to help us.  The servers, the Round Island manager, other Mission Point staff…security arrived to make sure maintenance DID check out the fumes.  My poor boys were terrified.  My youngest was nearly in tears.  The whole time I just kept praying for healing for my husband and that he’d come to.  I know CPR so I asked a server to check if he was breathing.  He was.  I asked someone to see if he had a pulse.  He did.  So no CPR was needed.  Finally (before the ambulance got there) my husband came to.  The staff got him a cushion and some water.  The Mission Point staff was amazing.  One woman in particular was really there for my boys.  My youngest later told me, “Mom, I think she was an angel. She just disappeared after it all happened!”  So sweet.  The EMTs arrived via ambulance and did a battery of tests and determined it was the fumes that got to him and made him go unconscious.  We never did hear what happened or what the fumes were, but I know they did check things out.  The restaurant manager at Round Island was so awesome making sure we were ok.  It was a scary ordeal…but we are all good and healthy!  And it didn’t scare us away, LOL…we’re always ready to come back to “our island”! 🙂 Melody James

         

        ________________________________

  13. Love your blog! My husband and I were married at the Grand Hotel and celebrated our 15th anniversary last summer with a stay at The Chippewa Hotel. Our kids are begging us to move to the island from our home in Holland (MI) — Which we would love :)! Enjoy your island time!!

  14. Thanks for the photos. I could smell every flower and hear every clomp of horse feet. Wish we’d been at the Club dinner. You’re right, best food on the Island.

  15. So enjoy your posts. Photos are stunning. What a fairyland the island is. Ted does look spiffy with the bow tie. What a darling idea to have a :Bow Tie” party for the Rev. I know they will miss the island and all of the people, but it will be nice that they will be so close to home. Glad you are feeling better.

Leave a Reply

