The Week Behind Us 8/20/2013

I HATE being sick.  Hate it.  Hate it.  Hate it.

Add to that not being able to talk above a whisper, and I’m about fit to be tied.

My sore throat started Monday afternoon sometime after getting off work.  It got worse and worse, scratchier and scratchier.   Then the voice started getting lower and lower.  Raspier and raspier.  This morning when I got up I could barely make myself be heard, unless everything else in the condo was turned off and all ears were turned toward me.  I won’t tell you exactly what Ted thought about this turn of events, but suffice it to say he was very, very sorry my throat hurt  –  but my loss of the ability to speak had him pretty darn happy.

Ted’s cure for everything upper respiratory is chicken soup, ginger ale, and regular gargling with warm salt water.  My throat is so sore I knew even little bits of chicken and noddles would hurt to swallow.  And I tried to gargle – honest I did – but I’ve just never gotten the hang of gargling – never.  It basically ends up spurting out of my mouth like a volcano erupting – and with my head tilted back and my mouth aimed toward the ceiling – all I get out of it is a salty face wash.   So – out of the clear blue Michigan sky – I decided I needed warm tea and honey.  That is NOT a south Georgia remedy, so I had to have heard it from folks up here in the north country.  Ted just shook his head when I asked him to run by Doud’s on his way home from work today and pick up some honey and some individual tea bags.

“You need chicken soup,” he said.

“Just indulge me,” I rasped.

Around 2:30 he came in with both requested items, and I set about brewing a cup of tea.  With that accomplished, I added a little half-and-half and two dollops of honey.  It really, really tasted good and even soothed my throat a little.  Will try another cup before bed.

BLOG READERS WEEK!

It seems lots of blog readers come to Mackinac Island during August.  Several were here last week, and I know of quite a few more scheduled to arrive this weekend!

August 5th (two Mondays ago) was a rainy day, and at first I thought the Stuart House would record an all time low in visitors.  But, after noon, the sun came out, and folks started popping in – including blog fans!

This is actually a family - plus one. Linda, Brian, Owen and Declan stopped in from Ypsilanti, MI - just south of Whitmore Lake where we spend a night on the trip north. They were enjoying their stay at Hart's. The lady on the right is Marsha from Marshall, where she's a librarian in the school district there. She told me she uses the little book written by our island school children (We Live on Mackinac) to help teach Michigan history. Awesome! Marsha and her husband were staying at the Grand.

This is actually a family – plus one. Linda, Brian, Owen and Declan Westphal stopped in from Ypsilanti, MI – just south of Whitmore Lake where we spend a night on the trip north. They were enjoying their stay at Hart’s. The lady on the right is Marsha from Marshall, where she’s a librarian in the school district there. She told me she uses the little book written by our island school children (We Live on Mackinac) to help teach Michigan history. Awesome! Marsha and her husband were staying at the Grand.

Wow - this was a whole CLAN of folks from Miles, MI - staying at the Harbor View Suites penthouse.  In no particular order there is Karen, Darrell, Seth, Mathew, Greg, Barb, and Gunter (from Colorado).

Wow – this was a whole CLAN of folks from Miles, MI – staying at the Harbor Suites penthouse (downtown). This family includes Darrell, Seth, Mathew, Greg, Gunter (the only one from Colorado), and Karen and Barb (the actual blog readers in this bunch)

Two other blog readers also stopped by, but I didn’t get photos:  Kathy, her family and their pooch, Sophie, were staying at Park Place Suites and Karen from Ft. Gratiot/Port Huron.  But . . .

I saw them again during the week and managed to get photos then!

Kathy and George were enjoying the Pink Pony one afternoon when we were there . . .

Kathy and George were enjoying the Pink Pony one afternoon when we were there with Jason . . .

. . . and Kathy and her husband (sorry - can't remember his name - please forgive) were getting on a ferry to Mac City as Jill and I were boarding for St. Ignace.

. . . and Karen and her husband Neil were getting on a ferry to Mac City as Jill and I were boarding for St. Ignace.

We shared the St. Ignace ferry with the Westpauls and their boys Declan and Owen who were headed into the U.P. for a few more days of vacation.  The boys got to sound the captain's horn from the pilot house as we were leaving the dock.

We shared that St. Ignace ferry with the Westphals, who were headed into the U.P. for a few more days of vacation. The boys got to sound the captain’s horn from the pilot house as we were leaving the dock.

AND - just when I thought all the blog readers came in one week, Cathy Cislak stopped by yesterday.  Sweet Cathy always brings Maddie and Bear treats, but this time she brought the pooches' mom a treat - a copy of the  Historical Mackinac Island Cook Book, printed in 1975.  Love it, Cathy, and oh my gosh, I hope I didn't give you this sore throat thing!

AND – just when I thought all the blog readers came in one week, Cathy Cislak stopped by yesterday from Indianapolis, Indiana.

APPOLO UPDATE

APOLLO UPDATE: This weekend Apollo is looking good. He was moved out of his peat moss stall and into a stall full of shavings. He got a bath and has special soft boots on to help keep him comfortable.

I’ve had several requests for an update on Apollo, the horse that became so ill during the Festival of the Horse, after eating hay that contained a toxic weed (hay was NOT from Mackinac Island).  In Dan’s words on August 17:  “This weekend Apollo is looking good. He was moved out of his peat moss stall and into a stall full of shavings. He got a bath and has special soft boots on to help keep him comfortable.”  Dan credits Michigan State Veterinary Teaching Hospital staff for saving Apollo’s life.

TWO SPECIAL PHOTOS

A beautiful and serene photograph taken as the sun rose this morning. (Photo credit: Great Turtle Kayak Tours).

A beautiful and serene photograph taken as the sun rose this morning. (Photo credit: Great Turtle Kayak Tours).

I haven't mentioned Chris Ann lately - my sweet friend who went to Heaven in March of this year.  Her husband, Burton, returned recently to their home by the Mackinac Bridge, after visiting with their children all over the country.  That first night back they built a big bonfire on the beach near their little cottage.  I know Chris Ann was smiling down happily that evening.

I haven’t mentioned Chris Ann lately – my sweet friend who went to Heaven in March of this year. Her husband, Burton, returned recently to their home by the Mackinac Bridge, after visiting with their children all over the country. That first night back they built a big bonfire on the beach near their little cottage. I know Chris Ann was smiling as those sparks drifted through the night sky.

The week ahead is wide open – until the weekend when Mike Forrester and Hilde and Bud DaVanon arrive.  Another special arrival will be Frankie Thill, who will be returning to the island to work for the last part of the season at Benjamin’s Photo Shop on Main Street.  So excited to have Frankie and sweet Hershey back on Mackinac where they belong!

See you in a few days!  God bless.

39 thoughts on “The Week Behind Us 8/20/2013

  1. I’m sorry to hear you aren’t feeling well. If you have a fever, or that very sore throat isn’t better tomorrows get checked for strep, says the nurse. ☺

      • One of our kids had strep a couple of times with no fever. When it hurts that much to swallow anything, it makes you wonder. In that case, antibiotics are your friend!

    • YES, a trip to Sadie’s Ice Cream Parlor….I LOVED my Sherbet flavor. Glad you can use your voice thru your fingers! Feel better SOON. ALOT is going on this weekend.

    • I second the orange sherbert. In fact, I’ll go have some tri-color sherbert on your behalf right now. I’m suffering from our granddaughter Amy suffering her second boo-boo (fall from something like a down dog position to the carpet, skinned off her freshly made healing scab from her scooter fall) (Both of these incidents in my presence!) I need Sherbert!

      • Sue, enjoying my second cup of honey and tea – wishing I had some of that sherbet. Enjoy for me!

        Sent from my iPhone

      • Tonight as I helped myself to tri-color SHERBET, I do believe it is the first time I ever recognized there was NOT a second R in it!!
        Maybe not, because sherbet LOOKS right, but I’ve always pronounced it sher-bert. How do you say it? Why isn’t there another R in the last part of the word? Well, my Sher-bet is melting now so I have to go.

  2. Hope you feel better soon! You still managed to write a great blog. I love the one with the kayaker at sunrise. That is what I plan on doing during my visit next week.

  3. Feel better soon.

    Been watching the weather up there-seems like it has been wonderful. Hope it lasts. We will be on the island Thursday taking pictures.

    ps Michigan State is wonderful!!! My daughters horse had cancer and they cured him. Very caring and talented people.

  4. I do hope you get to feeling better. We grew up with a shot of whiskey for a sore throat. It really does help and you can add a dab of honey if you want to sweeten the taste. Hope you feel better soon.

  5. My brother used to add a dollop of whiskey in the hot-tea-and-honey but I take it without. Works best with Cinnamon Tea, if you can find it! Sorry about the cold – probably your body noting that you have a little break between excitements!! That’s what mine does!
    Thanks for reminding me of the Stuart House – yes, I’ve started a list!! Can’t just come and sit around, can we?! And kayaking is on the list – I hope they’re still open the end of September!
    The bonfire picture brings back wonderful memories – such a perfect symbol for Chris Ann!

  6. Oh No!…Feel better Brenda..SOON! Can’t wait to see you and the whole gang!
    So glad to know that Apollo is doing so well and I KNOW that Chris Ann is smiling. 🙂

  7. Girl, you have strep. I thought I was immune to strep. First time I had it was two years ago at age 47. I never run a fever, but I first get a headache then my throat hurts so bad I can hardly swallow my spit. OUCH! Take care of yourself.

  8. Hot Toddy always makes your throat feel better. The orange sherbet will too.So happy to hear that Apollo is on the mend. What an awful scare.:(

    • Just our volunteer “work”, Sue. Me at the Stuart House for 4 hours on Monday and Ted for 4 hours on Tuesdays and Fridays.

      Sent from my iPhone

      • ok, allowed because the good kind of people that you and Ted are, do that kind of thing. Enjoy the Island with September right around the corner.

  9. Sorry you are not feeling well. Was nice to see you and Jill when we were waiting for the Ferry, we had a great time on the Island. Neil and Karen ( I forget our names sometimes too!!!!!)

    • Neil! So sorry I couldn’t come up with that, Karen! And oops! Just noticed when I corrected that caption and added Neil that I put “Kathy” as YOUR name! Had it right once and wrong once! Corrected now though. I blame it all on my sore throat!

      • That is fine, I am just happy I was able to talk with you at your “work” and at the dock and see Jill and talk with her also!
        Hope you are feeling better.

  10. Sounds like you have all the good advice needed for a sore throat. If I was there, I’d make you some chicken soup, but all I can do is wish you a speedy recovery. A reason to slow down a bit and take a nap doesn’t have to hurt! You’re allowed!! Hope you feel all better soon.

  11. I’m with Chris Roddy on the hot toddy………….I have kinda an unorthodox approach to sore throats though in leau of tea and honey, chicken soup. Though I do like chicken soup when I’m ill.

    Now it only works for me it seems, but at the onset of a sore throat I go so bold as to forcing myself to eat crackers. Yep……it works. Saltines work the best for me. Seems to be my cure anyways, I’m no doc but I get the idea the cracker scrapes the bad stuff off the back of my throat on the way down and the salt well…..does what salt does. A little soda pop to wash it down, or some OJ. and it seems to do the trick for relief. I’ve gone as far as eating spicy Doritos and well for me it offers some relief. Chase it with some chicken soup or a hot toddy and you’d be as right as rain….. 😉

  12. Sending prayers from Wisconsin for a quick recovery!
    We’ve never been to Mackinac in August. We’ve been visiting the island in October every year for the last 16-years. I remember your son (or the gorilla costume, anyway) from last year!! Not sure if we’ll be making the trip this year as many of the inns have decided to close during the week that we usually arrive (last full week in October). We’re taking it as a sign that maybe we should travel someplace else this year. Although Halloween won’t be the same. In any case, we’re hoping to meet you one of these days!!
    Enjoy the rest of your week!!

  13. Bree, this is a remedy I got from a herbalist and it will knock a sore throat or a cold dead in its tracks. Put a tablespoon of cayenne pepper in a fifth of vodka. Shake it up good, let it settle overnight and gargle with it, mixing 1 part of the vodka mixture with 3 parts water that has been warmed in the microwave. Powerful stuff, but it really works!

    • Now THAT sounds interesting, Ed! But you must have missed that part about not being able to gargle. I’d hate to waste all that vodka!

      Sent from my iPhone

  14. It was wonderful to meet you and Jill during our visit to the island, Brenda. I have to show the boys their pictures later. They want to come back as soon as possible. Me too.

    I hope that you’re feeling better soon. You certainly have lots of remedies to try from all these comments!

  15. It was so good to see you last Monday with our big clan! We had a great time but it was too short of course. We had a couple in our group come down with a bit of a cold too but nothing like what you have….hope you feel better soon!

  16. So sorry about your sore throat! We use ricola throat lozenges between chicken broth and Vernor’s ginger ale, although my husband says a little whiskey helps…
    It was wonderful to see you at Stuart House and share in person how much I enjoy the blog. Exploring the museum was great fun. I also appreciated your directing me to the nearest shop with rain ponchos in light of the surprise summer downpour. Jill’s help with titles at the bookstore was also a great part of the visit. Thanks for helping us enjoy the island through your eyes whether we can visit in person or online!
    Marsha from Marshall

  17. Sorry you were under the weather. the last two photos very lovely. Was so glad to see the bond fire with thoughts of Chris Ann. I’m glad her husband was able to visit the children. I imagine that was good therapy for him and more happy shared stories with them about her. One can tell from her photos she was indeed a very special person. I would have liked to have known her.

  18. Always great to here others love the island like we do.We just returned from 6 nights at Main St Inn were we stay each summer since it opened in 2004.We miss Julie,Megan,CJ,Sasha and Vendalin and Eva from there great staff.I have been going there since I was 5 ,my kids since basically they were born.12 and 15 now.Sad that someday they may not be coming with us, but we still have time.
    Somehow I think if we stay longer each year it will be easier to leave.It doesn’t help! Missing it greatly.Takes me at least a week sadness leave.Thanks for your blog.

Leave a Reply

