Yacht Races and Dreams Coming True 7/16/2013

NOTE:  To the sweet blog reader who came by the Stuart House Monday with your husband and your precious Yorkie in the stroller, please email me your information so I can post the photos (brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com).  I wrote it all down on a piece of paper on my desk at the museum and forgot to take it with me – and, old lady that I am, I sure can’t remember what I wrote. Lordy, I need a helper!

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Thought I’d pop in here with a few photos of what’s been happening the first couple of days of this week.  Of course the 2013 Chicago to Mackinac Yacht Race is underway, and if things had progressed normally, all the boats would have finished by now.  Unfortunately, Mother Nature didn’t cooperate with sailing winds this year, and it has been an extremely tough race, with sailors sitting idle for hours and hours without a single breeze.  The winds picked up slightly this morning, and boats have slowly but surely crossed the finish line during the day.  As I type this (at 8:25 p.m.), there are still a few boats out; but hopefully all will be in the harbor and doing some serious partying by nightfall, which is still another hour away here on the Island.

On Monday, after my Stuart House hours were over, I walked along the boardwalk and practiced using my long lens on the few boats that were coming in at that time.

On Monday, after my Stuart House hours were done, I walked along the boardwalk and practiced using my long lens on the few boats that were coming in at that time.

There has been a lot of social network chatter from the racers.  It seems, what Mom Nature took away in wind, she added in biting flys.  Some were saying their supplies of bug spray was gone in the first few hours.  That makes for a really bad day on the water.

There has been a lot of social network chatter from the racers. It seems what Mom Nature took away in wind, she added in biting flys. Some were saying their supplies of bug spray were gone in the first few hours. That makes for a really bad day on the water.

This boat has just passed the finish line and been welcomed by the firing of the canon.

This boat has just passed the finish line and been welcomed by the firing of the canon.

dd

There’s always good with the bad.  As they sat in the doldrums overnight, with not a cloud or a breeze to be had, sailors reported numerous shooting stars and sightings of the Northern Lights.  That must have been amazing!

Blog reader Lori wrote me a few weeks ago with a special request.  Her daughter, Brittany, will be a Senior this year, and her wish was to have her senior pictures taken on Mackinac Island.  Now, I just have to tell you that in MY time, senior pictures were all the same.  We did arrive at school that day with special attention taken to make up and hair, but as far as what we wore, we had no choice.  We were seated, draped in a black V-necked cape, and photographed one after another (the same cape was used by all).

Wow!  How things have changed!  These days, seniors get to choose where their Senior photos are taken, and anyone can take them!

So, Lori asked if I would help Brittany find some special places on the Island for the photographs.  Her two biggest wishes were photos on the porch of the Grand Hotel and one with a Mackinac horse.  Well, I knew the Grand was no problem, but you know me!  When I think Mackinac horse, I think Friesian!  I contacted Maryanke Alexander, and she very graciously agreed for Brittany to be photographed with her awesome Regina.

The family arrived this morning on the 8 a.m. ferry (Brittany’s Godmother, Lisa, is a professional photographer), and we spent the entire morning racing around the island.  We got beautiful photographs with Regina, at Anne’s Tablet, at the Somewhere in Time gazebo, at the Grand Stable (where we just happened to catch Ben leaving with a vintage buggy – one wish we thought we’d miss), and at the Grand.

The photos below are mine, because I just couldn’t help snapping a few.

Brittany and her family on the East Bluff, overlooking the harbor.

Brittany and her family on the East Bluff, overlooking the harbor.

You can just tell that Regina knows her photograph is being made. Brittany sure looks natural up there, doesn't she?

You can just tell Regina knows her photograph is being taken. Brittany sure looks natural up there, doesn’t she?

I couldn't believe how well the colors in the Grand flowerbeds blended with Brittany's gorgeous red hair.  I love this photo!

I couldn’t believe how well the colors in the Grand flowerbeds blended with Brittany’s gorgeous red hair. I love this photo!

A HUGE thank you to Maryanke Alexander, Carriage Tours, Ben Mosley, and the Grand Hotel for making Brittany’s dream come true!

A friend of mine, Mary Stancik, shared this video today, and I just had to post it.  It is definitely one of the top five most beautifully awesome videos I’ve ever seen, and it was all filmed in time lapse photography in Michigan.  The music is great also, so turn up your speakers!  http://player.vimeo.com/video/65504232?color=12f202.

Ted and I are off to Traverse City tomorrow.  Thank you to everyone who wrote to tell us all about the wonderful restaurants, wineries, and shops to check out.  Alas, Ted has his mind set on several hours at Sam’s Club.  Does that sound awesome or what!

Have a great rest of the week! 

17 thoughts on “Yacht Races and Dreams Coming True 7/16/2013

  1. Beautiful girl, beautiful pictures! Even Regina looks like she loves having her picture taken. Love the pictures of the boats coming in…so peaceful looking.

  2. As always I was ridiculously excited to see a new blog post in my inbox. What a doll Brittany is with her gorgeous hair! I always love your photos. I missed what kind your new camera is however, I have a great book I purchased on amazon for digital SLR’s. The digital photography book by Scott Kelby. Little tips and tricks learning things about your camera and photos in general.

    I pray that you all have ease in the sale of your home, although I am selfishly glad every time my inbox pings with a new blogpost.

  3. Thank you Bree for posting Mary’s video of the northern lights. My wife and I found the photography beautiful. I must tell you that I also find all of your photographs to be something that I wish that I could say were mine. You have the magic knack.

  4. Bree,

    You dearest are a dream maker in a beautifully wrapped package! Your smile and photo’s say it all. When you add your words it becomes truly magical like the Mackinac Island her self!

    Brittany, you are a memorable island beauty! The wishes granted you today will stay with you forever… Enjoy your senior year! Lori, I remember being in your tiered but fulfilled spot last year. It sure was worth it don’t you think? Wait till you see what you’ll have to pick from. LOL , enjoy!

    Island folk like Maryanke and Paul, Parks people, Carriage tours, and The Grand Hotel, along with Rose from The Bayview B & B, Made our Amelia’s Dreams come true! The smiles and memories are priceless reminders of her Mackinac Dreams!

    Bree , Thanks for sharing the video it was absolutely breath taking!

    Enjoy your time off the island and bears yacht club time.

    Blessings,
    Theresa and Amelia

  5. Not to take anything away from your photos – but I just have to say that the video is amazing!! I hope it is OK, I just had to share it, it was so beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Thanks so much for the update. The stories are interesting and the pics are wonderful. You’re really making lots of progress with your new camera. The video of Michigan skies was outstanding. Prettiest sky’s of anywhere I’ve ever been.

  7. We’ll expect a full story on the Traverse City visit and how you spent your day…..we know Ted will be at Sam’s.

    • Yeah, that’s what we’ll expect. Of course, you’re welcome to throw in a little Mackinac Island. Actually, we’ll expect that too.

      By the way, Brenda, are you enjoying the South Georgia heat?

      • Lowell, the answer is NO on the heat. Without air conditioning, it’s been pretty warm!

        Sent from my iPhone

  8. I love the way Theresa put it…you are a dream making in a pretty package! We can’t wait for Lisa to get her pictures edited so we can see. I can tell by the pictures the rest of us got it’s going to be amazing. I forgot to tell you we live about 30 minutes from Lowell, we live by Concord. My kids were so excited we made the blog. 🙂 Thanks again for all your help. ❤

Leave a Reply

