YEAHHHH! IT WORKED!!! 6/16/2013

OK . . . HOW COOL WAS THAT!!!!

I know ya’ll watched and enjoyed every minute ’cause I’ve been getting emails and comments and phone calls ever since we walked in the door a few minutes ago!  Mike just posted that 919 folks from across the country tuned in today!  I am SO EXCITED it all worked perfectly – thanks to . . .

Mike Forrester, who was live streaming from the balcony of the Lilac Tree Hotel for the entire parade!!

Mike Forrester, who was streaming live from the balcony of the Lilac Tree Hotel for the entire parade!!

Ted and I were invited to watch the parade from the Yacht Club, and I couldn't wait to scurry over to the Lilac Tree to see if everything had worked.  Mike, Jeanine and Siena

Ted and I were invited to watch the parade from the Yacht Club this year, and as soon as it ended, I couldn’t wait to scurry over to the Lilac Tree to see if everything had worked out. Jeanine and Miss Siena took Mike to the Grand Hotel for lunch today for Father’s Day, then hurried back to set everything up.  The Forrester family rocks!

Since most of you (I hope) tuned in for the parade, I’m not going to post a lot of pics this year, but tomorrow night I will be back with a few highlights, like the ones below.

Tonight, I’m just going to say:  Good night from Mackinac Island, and a very, very Happy Fathers Day to all the wonderful dads out there.  I hope your day was just the greatest!

p1

p3

p2

26 thoughts on “YEAHHHH! IT WORKED!!! 6/16/2013

  1. My first trip to the island was just a couple weeks ago and I’m so grateful to have found your site. The island is enchanting and I love staying in touch with it through you! I was not able to tune in at the time of the parade would there be a chance of putting a link to a recording of the parade.
    Thanks
    Julie

    • Hi Julie and welcome! I think Mike is going to post it to YouTube. As soon as I get that link, I will post it.

  2. Thank you so much for letting us know about the link to the parade. We always come to the island in the fall. This was a great treat!! 🙂

  3. My husband and I were able to tune in for the parade. Fun to revisit the island after we were there a couple of weeks ago.
    I have been enjoying your blog and so wish I had heard of it before our visit.
    We live in GA and I have enjoyed going to the island many summer trips as a kid, but it had been 20 years since my last visit before this year.
    Thank you for your blog! It will be fun to continue to follow. I also enjoyed skimming through some of your Ga blog. My husband used to live in Vienna and we have been to Lake Blackshear Resort for one of bis work events. Such a small world.

  4. Thank you for the link to Mike’s stream. I couldn’t attend this year, so this was the next best thing. My friend from Ohio, who loves the island, called me and we watched the parade together–very special!

  5. Your friends are amazing Brenda. Tell Mike thank you very much. Our family had hoped to come to the island, but my husband was unable to get the time off. My kids were thrilled to get to see the parade.

  6. It was great to be able to watch and enjoy the parade! I saw Mike zoom in on Jill waving into the camera. Thank you Mike! Hope you had a great Father’s Day!

      • That would explain it because I think we tuned in a few minutes late. But the whole parade was fun to see. It occasionally takes me back at how much we can see thanks to internet as it is happening.

  7. Thanks for the parade live video, I was able to watch for part of it and it looked like a fun time all around.

  8. So nice of Mike to do this and his daughter has gotten so big! Wonderful family and so glad they were able to come up and celebrate the festival and Father’s Day! Looks like the weather was great too.

  9. I tried to watch the parade on youtube, but it is very blurry. Is there a way to focus it, or could it be because its on my IPad.

    • Dave, I asked Mike about the problem you’re having, and this was his reply:

      I’m watching the YouTube version of the parade footage on both my iPad and iPhone and it looks fine. There is a slight pixelation on some of the movement (people walking/on bikes/floats), but otherwise it’s a nice, bright image. The bit rate and frame size is very low to accommodate the streaming bandwidth from the webcast, so it’s best to watch it without expanding to full screen.

      If Dave still can’t see it clearly, it’s an issue with his device.
      Thanks,
      Mike

Leave a Reply

