Nice and Easy Does It 6/6/2013

Sleeping late is such a nice treat, and I don’t usually do that (contrary to what Ted occasionally tells folks).  After Lowell and Faye left Mackinaw City on Wednesday, Jill drove me across the Mackinac Bridge and dropped me off for a hair appointment in St. Ignace, then she boarded the ferry to return to the Island for work.

Grey roots covered and about an inch trimmed off, I returned to Mackinac also and was on-Island about 5 p.m.  Ted met me downtown, and we joined what looked like the entire Island population at the Community Center for a benefit spaghetti dinner for our Fire Chef Mike Bradley, who is battling cancer.  That huge room was filled to the brim with Mackinac folks who have known Mike since he was born, and with folks like us who have known him only a few years.  There was an out-pouring of pure Mackinac love in that room last night.

When we returned to the condo around 7:30, I began to worry that we hadn’t heard from Lowell; but a while later he left a message that they were home and fine.  He called this morning to fill us in on their trip home, which included stopping in Cheboygan, where they had lived for several years.  He and I both couldn’t believe their trip had come and gone so quickly.  It was quite a whirlwind – but one they will remember forever.

The article in the Town Crier should be out next Thursday (June 13), and I can hardly wait to read it.  I’ve promised Lowell I’ll mail them several copies as soon as it hits the stands.

After a very lazy morning, I met Jill and Sue Conlon half-way down the hill for lunch at the Jockey Club.  We opted to eat outside, which might have been a bit foolish because we never took off our coats.  The food was yummy though!

Our server came out with our lunch balanced on his head.  He sat down, while Jill dug in her purse for her camera, and waited patiently for her to focus and shoot.  If I'd done that, our lunch would have been upside down on the cement!

Our server came out with our lunch balanced on his head. He sat down, while Jill dug in her purse for her camera, and waited patiently for her to focus and shoot. If I’d done that, our lunch would have been upside down on the cement!

When lunch was over we walked up the West Bluff to check out the Lilacs, and yes - I believe they are going to be in full bloom for Lilac Festival, which begins June 7 and runs through the 16th.

When lunch was over we walked up the West Bluff to check out the Lilacs, and yes – I believe they are going to be in full bloom for Lilac Festival, which begins June 7 and runs through the 16th.

After running a few errands in town, I turned toward home.  Then I remembered Ted had gone to Cheboygan after groceries and he might be returning to the Island soon.  I called him, and sure enough, he was half-way across the Straits.  I walked back to the Shepler dock and instead of walking home, jumped on the taxi he'd already ordered because of the groceries.  I love when that happens!  Smile for your grandmother,

After running a few errands in town, I turned toward home. Then I remembered Ted had gone to Cheboygan after groceries, and he might be returning to the Island soon. I called him, and sure enough, he was half-way across the Straits. I walked back to the Shepler dock and instead of walking home, jumped on the taxi he’d already ordered because of the groceries. I love when that happens! Smile for your grandmother, Alyssa!

We passed

We passed a wagon loaded with flowers going somewhere up Cadotte.  It’s spring planting time on the Island – a little bit later than usual.

OUT-TAKES

Going through dozens and dozens of photos I snapped during the Lowell & Faye trip this afternoon, I came across several I didn’t use for one reason or another and decided to do an “Out-Takes” feature. 

cccccc

Man in elevator:  “Geez!  It’s that guy again!  Every time I’ve seen him this week he’s been getting his picture taken.  Is he a celebrity?  Should I know him?  Maybe I should ask to have MY picture taken with him! 

Lowell to Lora:

Lowell to Lora:  “The time I walked across Arch Rock, I came THIS CLOSE to falling off!” 

Ted to Stephanie, the reporter:  "You know, I have some good stories too.  Maybe you'd like to interview me when you're done with Lowell."

Ted to Stephanie, the reporter: “You know, I have some good stories too. Maybe you’d like to interview me when you’re done with Lowell.” 

"Faye, I'm thinking we could move our house in Olivett and put it right there on that empty lot!"

“Lowell, I’m thinking we could move our house in Olivet and put it right there on that empty lot!”

vvvv

“Stephanie, when we rowed across to Round Island in that little boat, a freighter came SO CLOSE I could have reached out and touched it.”

"Hold on, Faye!  This Mosley fella says he can drive horses, but he's taking these curves pretty fast if you ask me!"

“Hold on, Faye! This Mosley fella says he can drive horses, but he’s taking these curves pretty fast if you ask me!”

Hoping everyone has enjoyed this week with the Greene’s as much as Ted and I have.  With the Lilac Festival beginning tomorrow, there will be plenty going on to share next week.  For now, this is Brenda – signing off for the weekend!

God bless.

23 thoughts on “Nice and Easy Does It 6/6/2013

  1. Love all the pics….especially the lilac house with the blue ceiling. Great memories. Glad Lowell and Faye made it home without excitement.

  2. Brenda, I really like your made up conversation for the pictures. However! I did tell someone (not sure if it was, Lora or not) that it was a wonder I didn’t fall off the Arch when I walked across it. Both ways now, mind you. I remember just what I was saying to Stephanie when I had my hand in front of my face. I was telling her that on one occasion it was so foggy there at the Rock that I could actually see the fog moving between my face and my hand. I’ve never seen it that foggy any other time in my life. Oh yes, it was Faye who said we should move our house to the Island. That is a good idea, don’t you think!?

    • Boy, Lowell, you are tough! Ok – I changed the one about the house to Faye, since I was right there and should have remembered that. The others I’m going to leave alone because I was out of hearing range. Therefore, I’m claiming writer’s privilege to “make up” those conversation snippets.

      • Actually, I think your made up conversion was more interesting than the real thing, especially for the man in the elevator.

      • Lowell you did tell me about the time you nearly fell off Arch rock. You said you were young and occasionally did things you weren’t suppose to do. You must have so many great stories. Sarah and I loved meeting you and Faye and hope to see you again!

  3. Oh Lowell, what a wonderful idea! I’m so glad you and Faye are tucked back in we’ll have to try for another time!
    Brenda, thanks for all you share of yourself and with other. You make us feel special each and every day.

    Blessings,
    Theresa

  4. Loved your post Brenda..as always…but it was especially good today with that picture of my granddaughter..Alyssa!! Miss her bunches and it’s always good to see a ‘current’ picture!! Love her smile!! Your pictures of Lowell and Faye are terrific!! I loved the conversations you added…so like you!! 🙂
    So glad the lilacs are ‘cooperating’ this spring..take lots of pictures during the festival..(I know you will)…enjoy and have a great weekend…Blessings!

  5. Hi Bree, any chance your waiter’s name was Rudy? My dad tells stories about a server named Rudy that worked at the fort and would carry the food on his head. Whenever we visit the island he asks if we saw Rudy. I’d love to be able to update him if its the same man.

    Looks like you had a wonderful visit with Lowell and Faye. What great memories.

  6. Brenda, my husband and I were on the island Mon until today and saw Lowell & Faye several times. We were eating ice cream at Sadie’s and saw you breeze in to get the lucky couple for their taxi. We stayed at the Winderemere hotel and saw Lowell & Faye talking with Margaret Doud. It was a nice surprise you had planned for them. We talked with Ben Mosley while visiting the Grand Hotel stables ( which are spectacular) and found that he knew an Amish horse harness craftsman in Shipshewana, IN that we knew, small world. We had a wonderful stay and look forward to coming back in September.

    Pat Steele
    Vernon, MI

    • Wow, Pat, you covered a lot of ground! Wish I’d spotted you at Sadie’s! Maybe in September. . .

      Sent from my iPhone

  7. Hope to meet you next week! We will be on Mackinac Island Mon-Sat! So excited! First we are visiting my Inlaws in Mt Pleasant MI. I always LOVE our visits to one of my favorite places is the world!! Evi Tremain, NJ

    • Evi, I start volunteering again on Monday at the Stuart House from 10 am to 2 pm. Maybe you could drop by there!

  8. Bree, I’ve really enjoyed your posts this spring/summer. I’m definitely getting my Mackinac “fix” from your blog since I won’t be coming to the island this year for the first time in 13 years. (We’re heading to Traverse City this year!)

    I loved reading about Lowell and Faye’s visit to the island. I’m glad everything went so well and I’m looking forward to reading Lowell’s post.

    Thank you again, Bree, for your wonderful blog!

  9. Your made up conversations for the photos are hilarious. Tony and I are coming to the island Monday with our 2 nieces and 2 nephews for three days. (We love being aunt & uncle!) If we get there early enough we will stop by the Stuart House. I also want to introduce them to the other celebrity, Bookstore Jill!

  10. Hello Brenda,

    I have so enjoyed your Blog the passed few weeks,especially the story about Faye and Lowell Green.I feel that I have been with them on their journey.The island is such a magical place and hold a special place in my heart.I would love to see the Lilac festival it must be a site for sore eyes.Maybe one day I will,I never thought in my wildest dreams that I would ever go to America let alone go to Mackinac Island.

    Keep up the good work Brenda.

    Kind regards

    Lynne (from across the pond) x

  11. I really enjoyed reading about Lowell and Fayes visit to Mackinaw Island!! They both looked so happy. What a wondeful experience it must of been for them. I love all of the pictures you took and I so enjoy your blog! You are an amazing writer and picture taker!

  12. Hi Brenda,

    My family and I will be up June 27th-30th, I’d love to see you again this year…however we are there Thurs-Sun, so you won’t be at the museum (right?). How can we meet up?

Leave a Reply

