They’re Here, They’re Here, They’re Here! 6/2/2013

Don’t you just LOVE IT when a plan comes together!!

Lowell and Faye were on the road at 7 this morning.  Their plan was to stop in Houghton Lake to attend services at a church Lowell had pastored some years ago and that they hadn’t attended since.  They had a wonderful time visiting there and had lunch with friends they hadn’t seen in quite a while.  Lowell called us a little after 1:00 to say they were leaving Houghton Lake and would be at the Shepler Dock in Mack City around 3:00.

Ted and I took the 2:00 ferry over to await their arrival.  Being my normal self, I was standing where I normally do when I volunteer for Shepler’s – chatting away with someone and not paying attention to what was going on – when a car pulled up beside me, the window lowered, and Lowell said, with a huge smile, “Well, we’re here!”  Oh my gosh, I was so excited to see them!

Ted and Lowell - getting acquainted as we waited for the ferry.

Ted and Lowell – getting acquainted as we waited for the ferry.

Shepler's provided the Greene's with VIP round-trip tickets and had placed their names on the big "welcome" board!

Shepler’s provided the Greene’s with VIP round-trip tickets and had placed their names on the big “Welcome” board!  Have you noticed what Faye and Lowell are wearing?  Yes, it was pretty chilly today!  Lowell had this idea he was going to ride “on top”, but I talked him out of it – for today at least.  I might have a little more trouble when they come back across Wednesday – the weather is supposed to be much better then.

Jill (what would I do without her) was waiting for us on the Island as we came off the boat.

Jill (what would I do without her) was waiting for us on the Island as we came off the boat . . .

. . . and then we all acted like crazy people waving at the Main Street camera.  We knew Hilde, Bud, Charlie, and Cathie was watching (I heard later they were all acting a little crazy too - something about waving BACK at their computer screens :)!)

. . . and then we all acted like crazy people waving at the Main Street camera. We knew Hilde, Bud, Charlie, and Cathie were watching (I heard later they were all acting a little crazy too – something about waving BACK at their computer screens – LOL!)

It took us almost an hour to walk the four blocks between the Shepler dock and the Chippewa Hotel.  We stopped every few steps for Lowell to point out something he remembered - or something that was gone, or something new.

It took us almost an hour to walk the four blocks between the Shepler dock and the Chippewa Hotel. We stopped every few steps for Lowell to point out something he remembered – or something that was gone, or something new.

Occasionally he would stop and try to figure out where something had been in relation to what he remembered from almost 30 years ago.  He said Main Street had changed a lot.

Occasionally he would stop and try to figure out where something had been almost 30 years ago, in relation to what he was seeing now. He said Main Street had changed a lot.

We girls mostly hung back and enjoyed watching Lowell.

We girls mostly hung back and enjoyed watching Lowell and listening to him reminisce.

At the Chippewa, Lowell took care of the paperwork, and up we went to the second floor on the elevator.

At the Chippewa, Lowell took care of the paperwork, and up we went to the second floor on the elevator.

We finally convinced him to sit down a few minutes and rest.  Jill showed him some photos on her iPad to keep him in one spot, but two minutes later he was up again.

We finally convinced him to sit down a few minutes and rest. Jill showed him some photos on her iPad to keep him in one spot, but two minutes later he was up again.

The suite the Chippewa gave these two brought back some really fond memories for Ted and I from when we stay here for two weeks in the summer - while we were still working and could only come on vacation.  Ted and I have such great memories

The suite the Chippewa gave these two brought back some really fond memories for Ted and I.  We’d stay here for two weeks in the summer – while we were still working and could only come on vacation.  They’ve all been totally renovated since those days and are even more beautiful than they were then.  I always loved having the bedroom near the hall, the bath and dressing area in the middle and the huge living area looking out over the marina.

The Chippewa gave them an awesome suite that overlooks the Mackinac Island Marina.  From their balcony they can look toward the east side of town and will be able to hear the clip-clop of horses early in the morning.

From their balcony Lowell and Faye can look toward the east side of town, including the East Bluff, and will be able to hear the clip-clop of horses early in the morning.

We left them late this afternoon, thinking they both could use some quiet time.  They had plans to run to Doud’s for a few things, then settle in for the night.  I’m hoping they get a good night’s rest because the next two days are going to be busy!

Thanks to everyone for your safe journey prayers and your prayers for Lowell’s health on this trip.  As you can see from the smiles on their faces, they are pretty excited and so, so happy to be here!

33 thoughts on “They’re Here, They’re Here, They’re Here! 6/2/2013

    • Lora, I’ve already heard about YOUR surprise for the Greene’s. So sweet and thoughtful. I love my readers!

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Oh, I hope they are having a great time. I know we are. Have been all over the Island but haven’t been able to spot Lowell and Faye yet. Had a wonderful lunch out on the patio at the Pink Pony. Give them my best!

  1. OMGosh…your right…Bud and I were waving like a bunch of little kids right back at you waving at us! It was so cool!! Lowell and Faye I hope you have a fantastic time and so wish we could be on the island right now to meet, greet and spend some time with you. Will be with you in thought and can’t wait to hear all about your trip down memory lane. 🙂

  2. It’s just spooky how you can tell when we’re waving at you. So glad Lowell and Faye got there safely. From the big smiles I’d say all you are having fun.

  3. Glad to see all is well! You all look great! Such big beautiful smiles!
    Enjoy all of your well deserved surprises.

    Blessings,
    Theresa

  4. First time back on the island after so long can be pretty emotional. After some nice food and a good night’s sleep listening to horses on the road, they’ll be ready to go go go tomorrow! Sleep tight, everyone. Sweet dreams!

  5. Can’t wait to hear all the fun things planned. Do you know what is so great about this blog? That we all get to share in other people’s experiences. It is like we all get to go on the trip with Lowell and Faye. I love to live vicariously through all of you!! Have a wonderful time. (I know you will)

  6. Reading this post and seeing these pictures make me so happy! I am still smiling seeing the joy on all of your faces! So happy they were able to come visit the island! 🙂

  7. So glad everything worked out! That must have been a great walk from the ferry-I’d have loved to hear Lowell talk about “old’ Main St. Can’t wait to hear about the rest of their weekend!

  8. I just love all of your postings! It makes me feel like an extended and welcome member of your family. I hope that’s not creepy. I just really appreciate seeing/hearing what is going on on the island and I really like seeing it through your eyes. Thanks for the weekly smiles and I hope that this is one of the best summers for you and your family.

    • I think we all feel that way. Last year, we spent a day on the Island, and I kept a look out for Bear and Maddie. I kept wondering if that way creepy as well, but I would have been thrilled at the chance to say in person how much I enjoy this blog.

      • Awww – thanks, Lauri. Hoping to start my volunteer job again soon so visitors know where I’ll be at least on one day a week! Love meeting you all!! > Date: Mon, 3 Jun 2013 11:55:55 +0000 > To: brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com >

      • Thats so funny because I did the same thing last summer when I was there with my daughter…and I felt a little creepy because I was looking everywhere! I finally saw Ms Bree on the street in town talking to one of her friends and I didnt want to be rude and interrupt. I’m glad I am not the only one that feels this way. She’s like that famous southern style Georgia peach’ that you want as a family member..

      • Y’all are so funny! And don’t ever worry about interrupting a conversation on Mackinac. I love meeting you, and sometimes I might only get that one chance!

        Sent from my iPhone

      • Excellent and Whew! ( on not being creepy!…society isn’t what it use to be so you just never know) Hopefully I should be on the island twice this summer. Once with my daughter(‘s’-if the other one isnt too busy) and wife/dog and hopefully we can finally meet. If I cant make it I am grateful that I at least have your blog to read.

  9. Just catching up today (Mon.) on your last few posts….and wow! I’m so excited for Lowell and Faye…..I know that excitement only theirs has to be x 100 or more. I hope those lilacs start blooming before Lowell & Faye head back home and hope it warms up too. Does anyone know if this was Jeb Bush’s first visit to the Island? Love that the Live cam is working again…..life is good!

  10. How exciting for all of you. How I would love to hear all about how the island has changed, since Lowell was last there. What a rare treat!

  11. Please tell me how do I access the camera on main street that you were waving at? God Bless you Brenda, for the wonderful memories you are helping to be made for the Greene’s. Can tell by your big smile that you are happy too.

  12. Totally awesome so glad Faye and Lowell were blessed beyond their wildest dreams. Thank you for making this so special for them.

Leave a Reply

