Here and There and All Around 5/15/2013

Best News First!  Faye just let me know Lowell is doing much better today and will return home tomorrow from the hospital!  They discussed the Mackinac trip with his doctor, and he said as long as Lowell felt like going, it was ok. Let’s keep those prayers lifting that Lowell continues to improve and that he and Faye arrive on the Island June 2 as planned.

It’s been kind of a bittersweet day.  We officially signed the papers to list our condo, and I’ve spent a large part of the morning snapping photographs of every room, nook, and cranny in our little piece of paradise.  Right now I’m at 50 shots, and that’s after deleting at least 50 others.  Still haven’t shot the upstairs third bedroom because Ted hasn’t completely cleared it of four bikes and luggage . . . as you can see!

IMG_3582

On the way down I passed what is supposed to be the oldest Lilac bush on Mackinac.  Leaf buds were appearing!

I walked to town early this afternoon to have lunch with Frankie at Horn’s.  On the way down I passed what is supposed to be the oldest Lilac bush on Mackinac. Leaf buds were appearing!

4

So far Frankie hasn’t had any luck finding a job opening, and she will probably leave the Island tomorrow. Still praying that a door will open for her.

After lunch I popped into the Island Bookstore to get Ted a newspaper and found Mary Jane Barnwell, one of the store's owners busy at the cash register . . .

After lunch I popped into the Island Bookstore to get Ted a newspaper and found Mary Jane Barnwell, one of the store’s owners, busy at the cash register . . .

After lunch I popped into the Island Bookstore to get Ted a newspaper and found Jill putting new books on the shelves.  This time of year they receive boxes and boxes of books each day!

. . . and Jill putting new books on the shelves. This time of year the store receive boxes and boxes of books each day!

It was so much warmer today - in the high 50 - so I decided to take the long way home by the boardwalk.  As soon as I got past the library though, the wind off the lake picked up, and it was as though someone was forcing the wind through an ice machine.

It was so much warmer today – in the high 50 – so I decided to take the long way home by the boardwalk. As soon as I got past the library though, the wind off the lake picked up, and it was as though someone was forcing that wind through an ice machine.  Nevertheless, the water was Michigan blue, and this patch of grass has turned summer green.

I knew this was going to happen as soon as I saw they were adding an Ice Cream Parlor at the Grand Hotel.  Sure enough.  My legs just hung a 90-degree left and took me straight into Sadie's.

I knew this was going to happen as soon as I saw they were adding an Ice Cream Parlor at the Grand Hotel. Sure enough. When I reached the Grand, my legs just hung a 90-degree left and took me straight into Sadie’s, where they serve 24 flavors of Hudsonville Ice Cream.

This will be a deplorable chore, but I'm vowing to my readers right NOW that I will leave no flavor at Sadie's untried and unreported.  I started today with the Sea Side Caramel because that's what I was told was the first big seller.  I will limit my scoops to "one" and always use a sugar cone for consistency.

This will be a deplorable task, but I’m vowing to my readers right NOW that I will leave no flavor at Sadie’s untried and unreported. I started today with the Seaside Caramel because that’s what I was told was the first best seller. Seaside Caramel is made up of chocolate covered salted caramels in vanilla flavored ice cream with a salted caramel ribbon. Just typing that added a pound to each thigh.  I will limit my scoops to “one” and always use a sugar cone for continuity.  Then I’ll score each flavor on a scale from 1 to 10, with a 10 being the highest possible score.  I give Seaside Caramel a 12.

What could be better - a beautiful day on Mackinac Island, a delicious ice cream cone to be enjoyed as I walk up the hill (thereby burning all the calories in the aforementioned ice cream cone)!

What could be better – a beautiful day on Mackinac Island, a delicious ice cream cone to be enjoyed as I walk up the hill (thereby burning all the calories in the aforementioned ice cream cone)!  Perfect day!

I’m working at Shepler’s again tomorrow as the last group of Winsome Women arrives and the second group leaves.  It always amazes me to see how everything gets to where it’s going when these huge groups come in.  Thousands of pieces of luggage are tagged, shrink-wrapped on carts, carried over on ferries, transferred to drays, and hauled by horses to hotels all over the Island.  Amazing!

27 thoughts on “Here and There and All Around 5/15/2013

  1. So happy to hear of Lowell and Faye’s good news!! I expect lots of pictures when this trip happens. Frankie, not sure what happened but sure hope your on the island in August…wouldn’t be the same if we didn’t see you and Hershey. You are part of the island. Can’t wait to try Sadie’s …bring on the chocolate!

  2. I love your island reports too. I will be happy for you when you sell your condo, but selfishly I will be a little sad that this blog will come to an end.

    • Dave, will still be blogging from here at least a couple of months in the summer when we return and rent something. No way am I not coming back to Mackinac!

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. I kind of want to join the Winsome Women group so I can stay at the Grand Hotel — I know that sounds bad, but they’ve gotta discounts, right? That might be the only way that I can afford it! They were there when my family and I visited in October!

  4. Brenda, it is so nice of you to keep us posted about all of your friends. I hope and will pray that Frankie gets a good job soon. Will continue to pray for Lowell to get stronger each day so he can make the trip to the island. Good luck to you and Ted in selling your condo. It certainly looks like something a lot of people would love to have.

  5. P.S. Please tell the folks at Horn’s that I really enjoy the web cam photo every time I ck this blog. I used to love watching the ferry boats come in with the new arrivals and then the departures on the other web cam until it closed. I was happy when you told us about Horn’s web cam.Thanks for that.

    • You are so welcome, Judy! Have you also tried the new Main Street webcam from the Chippewa Hotel? Just Google the hotel and click on their webcams.

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. Glad to hear that you’re doing better Lowell. I’m still praying for you. Can’t wait to hear the report on the other 23 ice cream flavors. Now that’s the reporting I’d like to do.

  7. Ever prayerful Lowell & Faye.

    Oh my Brenda, dear kindred spirit …..

    Every single flavor and on a sugar cone :0) My mouth is already watering from the first flavor. It certainly is a good thing one can’t hop in the car and just buzz on home. What with the thought of the task your willing to undertake for us all!! WOW….

    FYI we’ll be willing to help you out with this herculean task on our arrival in June! take time to enjoy the coming season amongst all your condo prep work.
    .
    Blessings,
    Theresa

  8. So glad to hear Lowell’s doing better!
    I am positive that the walk up the hill cancelled out any and all ice cream calories. I, unfortunately, live in flat land. . . . . :o)

  9. Thanks for the report and pictures of Sadie’s. I’m anxious to go there when we come in Aug. Glad Lowell is doing better. Those prayers are working!

  10. I came home from the hospital this afternoon, but I was just too tired to type anything until now.. I don’t know how many of you have had Congestive Heart Failure, but it is a little scary. It doesn’t hurt, but to say the least, it’s not fun to feel, although you’re gasping for air, you feel like you’re suffocating. But all is well now, except for being so tired.

    My thanks go to everyone who has prayed for me, especially Brenda who called Faye. You don’t know how it makes me feel to know that. Although I’d like to meet every one of you, our trip to the Island is still on for June 2. And are we ever looking forward to it.

    Brenda, as usual, the blog is the best. Nice to see the picture of Jill, you and Frankie and the oldest lilac tree. Is that tree in front of the William Backhouse Astor house? Do you know how old it’s supposed to be? If I remember correctly, when I was working on the Island in the mid 1950s and walking by that house every day, it was said that the lilacs there were over a hundred years old.

    17 days to go!

    • Lowell! So good to see you back online, my friend! That is exactly where that Lilac bush is, but I don’t know the age. If you asked a dozen tour drivers, you would get a dozen different answers! Counting down the days here too, Lowell. Please do me a favor and stop scaring us all silly! You behave yourself now. Hugs to you and Faye, and know that both of you are lifted up in so many prayers each night. See y’all soon!

      Sent from my iPhone

  11. Glad to hear you are home, Lowell !! CHF is very scary. Sounds like you are much better too, Brenda!! Both of you….keep healthy!! It’s fun to see pictures of the people you talk about – your friends, become our “blog” friends. Have a great summer!

Leave a Reply

