877 Miles Down – 262 Miles to Go 5/11/2013

Just a short note to let everyone who hasn’t been following us on Facebook today know that we have arrived at Whitmore Lake, MI.  We began our trip around 6:30 this morning, and arrived here at 9:15 p.m..  We stopped a lot for us and for Maddie and Bear, but it was still a long, long, day, and we are so happy to have finished this first day of travel.

This is how Maddie spent the day - snoozing away in her bed which rested on my lap all 8

This is how Maddie spent the day – snoozing away in her bed, which rested on my lap all 877 miles.

Bear, on the other hand, helped Ted drive all day.  I don't think he ever took more than a 2-minute nap.  Right now he is sound asleep in one of our two queen-size beds.

Bear, on the other hand, helped Ted drive all day. I don’t think he ever took more than a 2-minute nap. Right now he is sound asleep on one of our two queen-size beds.

Had to show you this.  We first passed this boat right after we got on I-75 about 20 miles from home in Georgia.  We followed and passed it several more times throughout the day.  This last time was

Had to show you this. We first passed this boat right after we got on I-75 about 20 miles from home in Georgia. We followed and passed it several more times throughout the day. This last time was in northern Ohio.  The boat is from Ontario.  Maybe snowbirds going home to Canada for the summer.

Gotta go dig out something warmer for tomorrow.  Jill emailed me this afternoon to let me know it was snowing on the island and is supposed to snow tomorrow – with 40 mph winds.  Something tells me I should have PACKED my winter clothes instead of SHIPPING them!

Will try to write a few words tomorrow evening to let you know we arrived.  Thanks so much for all the safe travel prayers.

Header:  Cincinnati, Ohio

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

24 thoughts on “877 Miles Down – 262 Miles to Go 5/11/2013

  1. How do you like coming down the “cut in the hill”? That’s the local name for the slope down to the Ohio River. I always find it slightly nerve wracking. Hope you have a safe remainder of the trip, and it warms up for all of us!

      • It gives a lot of people white knuckles. It’s another 25 miles for me, but when I first see the skyline that’s when I’m “home”. I really do think it’s one of the prettiest skylines around.

  2. Safe travels for the last leg of your trip. Can’t wait to hear all about your arrival. Happy Mother’s Day!

    P.S. Great pics of Maddie and Bear!

  3. Brenda,

    I think I can hear Ted calling, “Up and at ’em. Time to hit the road.”

    Brenda answers, “Oh no. Not already. I need this bed for another half hour at least.”

    Nevertheless, it’s Happy Mother’s Day, and MACKINAC ISLAND ARRIVAL DAY. Wow, what a great day it is. Couldn’t be better.

    Did you smell the lilacs as you came north? It was so nice of them to keep their blooms closed until just in time for the Horton’s arrival in Michigan.

    I don’t think you’ll be needing the air conditioner in the truck today. I hope the crew on Shepler’s Ferry will have some blankets for you to use or a warm place for you to stay as you cross the water to the Island. You’re going to need it. By the way, didn’t I tell you to keep the winter clothes where you could get hold of them? Yes, I’m sure I did. Grandpas know these things. You young people just never listen.

    Have a wonderful and safe day!

    • LOVED this early morning message, Lowell, but it was the dogs who woke us BOTH up at 6:05. After sleeping all day and all night, Maddie is hyper this morning. Bear almost fell asleep standing up when we got in our room, and I don’t think he moved all night.

      I know, I know – I shoulda, coulda, woulda listened about the winter clothes, but you know how stubborn I am!

      Happy Mother’s Day to Faye! I know you are serving her breakfast in bed this morning, just like Ted did for me . . . Ok, it wasn’t breakfast in bed but a nice steaming cup if fresh brewed coffee – just as good!

      Mackinac Island, here come the Hortons!

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Actually, we both got up about the same time and sat in our usual chairs as we drank our coffee. We didn’t even have to make the coffee. Automatic coffee makers are so nice.

        That’s our usual morning ritual.

  4. Y’all made good time yesterday. Ted, the super driver. Glad you had a good night – enjoy the welcome to your northern home today. Take care. Your Bear reminds me of my late great pal Gilmour. He would not lie down or nap in a vehicle. I used to think he’d stand all the way to British Columbia if we didn’t stop for an extended period of time. Happy Mother’s Day!

  5. Happy Mother’s Day to you too Brenda. Have faith. Warmer temps are returning to Michigan by Wednesday – – down here in Lansing any way.

    That darn boat name has me really thinking of a clever way to finish the name. “Couda spent my money on a nice trip with the wife”. “Couda bought a new car for our graduate”. “Couda bough diamond earrrings for my MOTHER. Saw a boat name several years ago that I never forgot. “MOM’S MINK”.

    Safe traveling the rest of the way. You know how peaceful a drive it is once you reach the rolling hills in mid Michigan. Jill will be so excited to see all of you.

    • CAN’T WAIT TO SEE JILL!!!!!! Happy Mother’s Day to you, Joanne! P.S. Love all your name suggestions for the boat!

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. Happy Mothers Day!!..Safe travels on the last leg of your trip..I’m sure Jill is just as excited as you are, if not more. 🙂 We leave for home tomorrow afternoon and I will have to say that I will miss seeing the sun come up over these mountains in the mornings. It is breathtaking!

  7. So glad to hear you are having safe trip….I know all 4 of you are tired…Tell Ted to go slow and be careful…but heck he has Bear to help him drive…Happy Mother’s Day to ya!

  8. Safe travels to all of you. I loved your pictures, they brought back memories from when I drove from the U.P. to Florida in March with my little Papillon on my lap in his bed the entire way.

  9. Love all the comments. A friend of mine wanted to name their boat “Facelift” but her husband didn’t think it was as funny as we did. Happy Mother’s Day. Travel safely….yesterday was toooooo long.

  10. Bree and Ted,
    You really did travel far yesterday and made good time. Tony and I are leaving tomorrow morning to start our journey to the Island. We will stay in Holland tomorrow night and be on the Island Tuesday for a few days at the Windermere. Would love to meet up with both of you and share a cup of coffee. Love the pictures of the dogs. I know they love road trips.

  11. By now you are probably on the island, and have a burst of Island energy! You’ll sleep tonight hearing horses’ hooves and have that lovely cup of coffee tomorrow morning anticipating your summer. Can’t think of a better Mother’s Day gift!

Leave a Reply

