We Are Headed North 5/10/2013

Hi Everyone!

It’s been the usual busy week before we leave for Michigan.  With Ted working three days, I had lots of uninterrupted time to pack and repack, and I think Ted is pretty excited right now that he’ll be able to put stuff in the truck tonight instead of early in the morning.  First time that’s happened!

The plan is to leave around 6 a.m. which means I’ll set the alarm clock for 4:30.  Gotta have some coffee to start the day – something it sounds like I’ll need plenty of on Sunday when we arrive.  The high on Mackinac for Sunday is forecast at 42, with a low of 34 and a chance of snow showers.  Hmmm . . . we left Michigan during the first snow of winter; maybe we’ll be returning the day of the last snow of winter.

I’ll try to post from the road tomorrow.  Since I have an iPhone now, I’ll probably drive everyone crazy on Facebook “checking in” all day.  Don’t know where we’ll spend the night.  Ted says we might not stay in Whitmore Lake this year, so I’ll let you know where we end up!

Safe travel prayers are always appreciated.

Mom and Dad are packing the truck, and I came and jumped in to make sure they didn't forget me.  I don't think we leave until tomorrow, but I might just spend the night in here.  Bear and I have been talking, and we think this must be the BIG trip we take twice a year - the one where we get to ride ferries and eat horse poop.  I sure hope we're right!

Mom and Dad are packing the truck, and I came and jumped in to make sure they don’t forget me. I don’t think we leave until Saturday, but I might just spend the night in here so I’m ready to go when they are.   Bear and I have been talking, and we think this must be the BIG trip we take once a year to Michigan – where we get to ride ferries and eat horse poop. I sure hope we’re right!

I jumped in too!  If there are ferries and horse poop involved, I don't want to be left out!  Don't you just love how mom tries to cover up the back seat so my hair doesn't get on everything.  She knows it's useless, but she just keeps on trying new ideas.  Gotta love her spirit!

I jumped in too! If there are ferries and horse poop involved, I don’t want to be left behind! Don’t you just love how mom tries to cover up the back seat so my hair doesn’t get on everything. She knows it’s useless, but she just keeps on trying new ideas. Gotta love her spirit!

Happy Mother’s Day wishes this weekend to all you ladies who have known the joy of bringing life into the world or who have opened your heart and arms to an adopted child.

Happy Mother's Day wishes to all you ladies who have known the joy of bringing life into the world or who have opened your heart and arms to an adopted child.  And a very special Happy Mother's Day to my mother, Louise Sumner, who I carry in my heart always and who I know is celebrating Mother's Day in Heaven with my daddy.  I miss you, Mama.  I miss you.

And a very special Happy Mother’s Day to my mom, Louise Sumner, who I carry in my heart always and who I know is celebrating Mother’s Day in Heaven with my daddy.  Miss you, Mama, and love you more than words can say.

The bags are packed, the truck is loaded, the mail is forwarded, and we’ve said our farewells to friends and family. On Saturday morning we’ll pile into the truck, point the front end north, and never deviate from that direction until we pull into the Shepler’s Ferry parking lot.  If our condo sells this summer, we will be home earlier than usual, but whether that happens this year or in some year in the future, I’ve already settled on one truth.  When the leaves are budding and the grass begins to turn green here in the south, my heart will forever turn toward Mackinac.  Each spring the Island will call, and each spring, good Lord willing, we will be headed north.

32 thoughts on “We Are Headed North 5/10/2013

  1. So excited for you and so happy you are able to make one more trip (if not many more) to the island we all love to visit with you! Will pray for a safe and speedy trip.

  2. Sending prayers for a safe trip. Can’t wait for your stories & pictures of the island. My kids have meeting Bree as the #1 thing to do this year on the island…hope to meet you the week of July 8th. Safe travels! ❤

  3. “and eat horse poop”…. lollllllllll That is hysterical! What is it about our naughty animals? lol
    Hey,,,,I thought of you on the way home from work tonight. We have Lilac’s blooming here in South West Michigan 🙂 Cold too….. gonna be in the low 50’s this weekend…but LIlacs blooming!!!! woohoooooooooo Spring has had a hard time getting here this year!
    I’m searching my summer calendar for a time when we can make it up north before you sell the condo! Would LOVE a chance to meet you, Ted & the furbabies 😉 Hopefully it’ll work out.

    Prayers for safe travels!

  4. Well BON APPETIT doggies. Now your folks won’ t have to lug heavy bags all the way to Michigan. When you arrive lunch will be ready. Safe trip ya’ll.

  5. Have a safe trip! We’re supposed to get frost here in NEOhio on Sun and Mon night. Gonna warm back up quickly by the middle of next week, though. Safe travels and Happy Mothers Day!

  6. Safe travels Brenda, Ted, Bear and Maddie. See ya’ll in August! Can’t wait.
    Happy Mothers Day to you and to all the wonderful moms out there.

  7. Brenda,

    A prayer has been said for the safety and enjoyment of you, Ted, Maddie and Bear as you travel from the Deep South to the Magic Island. It is going to be cold for a few days, at least. I was told it snowed there today. I hope you can get to your winter clothes without much trouble. You’re going to need them.

    We always have lilacs blooming on or before our anniversary, except for this year, but they are blooming now -and beautiful they are. And oh, they smell so good.

    It looks as though Ted won’t have to do all the driving this time. Maddie is quite ready to take the wheel.

    • Can’t wait to see how the Mackinac lilacs are coming along, Lowell. Working outside for Shepler’s Tuesday and Wednesday in Mac City so I hope I can find my winter clothes too!

      Sent from my iPhone

  8. Safe travels you guys. Looking forward to seeing you. When you know which boat you will be coming across on, if it is nice out, the kids and I would love to come down and welcome you home. (You may be coming across on the same boat as Jay’s new bathtub. When I talked to Shepler’s today, they said they didn’t have the freight boat in the water yet so they wanted to put it on the regular boat. So It is going across when ever they can fit it in.)

  9. Hi, Bree–
    Don’t forget to stop at Down Home Up North at Mackinaw Crossings when you have time! We have more scarves on sale, plus some other great things right now. Would love to see you. –Amy Peterson

  10. Brenda, Ted, Maddie, & Bear,

    Hope your having Mackinac Dreams tonight! Take time to enjoy your trip up to God’s country. I understand the beautiful flowering everything will greet you! Make sure you take a great big sniff when you get to the border ….. No Bear & Maddie it’s not those horses yet….but I’m sure you’ll catch the sent of the lovely early lilacs! Be safe see you in June!

    Happy Mother’s Day to all you special ladies out there, enjoy Sunday!

    Blessings,
    Theresa

  11. Sending safe travels prayers to your Family. Enjoy your trip North and Happy Mother’s Day to you and all your blog readers.

  12. Safe travels as you make your way north. How exciting for you! Don’t forget to stop and smell the cedar trees. Ah, I can smell them already.

  13. Hi Brenda– Happy Mother’s Day!! Some flowers came for you yesterday and a guest staying in another condo asked me where you lived because they had been delivered to her. Now they are on your doorstep. Do you want me to bring them inside? It’s been quite cold here– but maybe that’s good for them…? Travel safely! xoxoo M

Leave a Reply

