Mackinac Island Spring Update 4/7/2013

Five weeks to go . . . I think.

Ted has had a possible 3-day job come up May 6-8 here in Georgia (the week we would be doing our final packing to leave).  If that job commitment is made, there’s a chance we won’t get out of here Mother’s Day weekend.  We’ll just have to wait and see what happens . . .

I only have a few photos tonight, and most of the ones I do have deal with more snow . . . something the island will be happy now to see end.  The first of the Grand Hotel workers arrived this week, and most of them came from very warm climates.  I’m hearing there are a lot of very happy Jamaicans seeing their first snow ever and enjoying it immensely!  I just can’t quite comprehend that the Grand “soft” opens at the end of this month and officially opens one week later, on May 2.

I read in The St. Ignace News this week that P.J. Parrish, the author of “Heart of Ice” – set on Mackinac Island – will be participating in the Mackinac Island Library Summer Author Series.  As you know “P.J.” is actually the pen name for two sisters, Kristy Montee and Kelly Nichols.  They’ll be at the island library on June 28 at 4 p.m. – can’t wait to hear them!

The Seabiscuit Cafe is already open!  Love, love, love their English Pot Roast Muffins!  Oh my gosh – now my tummy is growling!

April 4 and it is snowing on the island.  That cart just arrived with the first of this year's merchandise for Little Luxuries of Mackinac Island.  Have I mentioned that Nicole's shop will be twice as large this year?!  Oh my goodness, do NOT tell Ted!

April 4 and it is snowing on the island. That cart just arrived with the first of this year’s merchandise for Little Luxuries of Mackinac Island. I chatted with Nicole this afternoon, and she said more snow is forecast for the end of the coming week.  Good grief!  Oh . . .have I mentioned that Nicole’s shop will be twice as large this year?! Oh my goodness, do NOT tell Ted – he will chop up my charge card. (Photo: Nicole Doud)

The Father Marquette statue welcomed April to the Island through a veil of snow flakes.

The Father Marquette statue welcomed April to the Island through a veil of snow flakes. (Photo:  Clark Bloswick)

gggggg

For the entire month of April the Mackinac Bridge is illuminated by blue lights as part of an autism awareness campaign.  So beautiful.  (Photo: Clark Bloswick)

Perfect place - perfect time.  Clark Bloswick was walking down Astor Street when he spotted the Huron coming straight on to the Arnold dock.

Perfect place at the perfect time. Clark Bloswick was walking down Astor Street when he spotted the Huron coming straight in to the Arnold dock.  I swear when we get to the Island I’m tracking down Clark Bloswick and Robert McGreevy and following them around all summer.  Maybe that way I can get some fantastic shots too!

Greg Main posted this photo of the new street lights that are being added.

Greg Main posted this photo of the new street lights being added downtown.  The light with the speed limit sign is older, and you can see the new lights beyond that one are brighter and seem to direct more light down on the street.  Love them!

As the weeks tick by, I’ve begun to think seriously about Bree’s Blog, and where I want to go with it this summer .  Coming up in June will be what I hope is one of the best stories yet from that magical spot.  It involves a wonderful, loyal reader and his wife and the amazing way the Island is helping make a dream come true.  That’s all I’m giving away for now . . . . :)!

That’s all for tonight.  Have a great week, think SPRING, and God bless.

16 thoughts on “Mackinac Island Spring Update 4/7/2013

  1. And I look forward to the story in June…I know it’s going to be GREAT!! I want to say that I cannot wait but that would mean that I want time to fly by and as much as I can’t wait to get to the island…I want Summer to be here for a while. 🙂 Right now I am looking forward to our trip to New Mexico and seeing my baby girl . P.S. I think Spring might finally be here!!

  2. Brenda,

    Now that you know where I live, whenever you and Ted, decide to come north, be sure to wave as you go by Ann Arbor. Look west and you’ll be able to see me in your mind’s eye, waving from the back porch.

    Hopefully, the ice will be gone from the Straits, all the snow will have melted from the statue in Marquette Park and the tulips will be blooming at the Grand by the time you get to the Island. Don’t hold your breath though, because it has been a cold spring so far.

    As usual, I like the pictures you’ve posted, but my favorite for this blog is the one of the Huron coming into the dock. Clark did a good one that time.

    I think I might have a slight inkling of what the story will be about. In any case, I’ll sure be looking forward to it.

  3. Per your recommendation, I just got through reading “Heart of Ice” It was very well written, the story was thrilling, and it paints such a vivid picture of the island! Thanks for the heads up about this great book!

  4. We just got home from visiting Mackinaw City and Tahquamenon Falls. There is still 26 inches of snow at the falls in the UP!
    Mackinaw City is still sleeping but, it is beginning to stir…Mama Mia’s Pizza was open this weekend, as well as BC pizza and Murdick’s Fudge Shop.
    I have some great pictures of the ice around the bridge and at the falls if you are interested in them.
    Can’t wait to head up Memorial Day weekend and again for a weekend in July!

  5. Bree – just wanted to say thanks for keeping up this blog. My hubs took me to M.I. for the first time in Aug 2010. I fell in love with it. We’ve been talking about going back this year and I was just kind of blah about the whole trip idea for some reason. But, reading your blog and seeing the pictures all the time re-inspires me. There is a certain peace about the island and it makes me feel like the rest of the world, and all its pains, don’t exist. Maybe we’ll still head there this spring! If so, hope to finally meet you!

  6. Bree, I look foreword every week to reading your blog. It sure is a lot of fun and the only blog I read.

    Regards, Pat Pulte
    Murray Hotel Worker

  7. It is hard to believe I will be there in less than three months. The good news is, we will be up there at the same time as my grandmother, aunt, and cousins so it will be a real family affair this year 🙂

    Working a new job here downstate, living one of my dreams, things are great. Can’t wait for summer, gardening, and MACKINAC!

    • Sounds like you’re enjoying life and making some really fun plans, Jeff! Hope to see you this summer!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

