Mackinac Island Spring Update 3/31/2013

No doubt about it, the BIG NEWS of the week is . . . . . . . . the ferry is running!  On Tuesday, March 26 – just as the sun was rising – the Arnold Transit Huron arrived at the island.  Islanders are very excited to once more have ferry transportation!

Even though there’s lots of snow on the ground and the temps are still very chilly, the annual Cawthorne’s Village Inn Easter Egg Hunt went on as planned today.

The lot across the street from Cawthorne's Village Inn was covered in brightly colored eggs!

The lot across the street from the restaurant was covered in brightly colored eggs . . .

. . . and when the hunt was over

. . . and when the hunt was over – with a little help from the Easter Bunny – everyone’s basket was full!  (Photos: Jennifer King)

Mackinac news straight from Jeannette Doud’s column in The Town Crier:

  • AT 12:01 a.m. Monday, March 25, the 1,000-foot Paul R. Treugurtha officially opened the 2013 shipping season at the Soo Locks for upbound traffic.  The Roger Blough will be the first freighter downbound from Lake Superior.
  • The Grand Hotel is preparing for the 2013 season with its first arrival of staff this week.  The hotel will have a soft opening on April 26, and the official opening will be May 2, followed right away by the Titanic Weekend on May 3 and 4. 
  • Elementary school students at the Mackinac Island Public School have been learning about manners, and on March 21 they practiced what they had learned.  The children took part in a fancy dinner at the Village Inn, then returned back to the school for a dance and sleepover.  What fun!

And Now Presenting . . . . . The CLARK BLOSWICK  Photography Exhibition

Clark posted so many photographs this week that I just decided to make this an exclusive Clark Bloswick post.  Fantastic photography from everywhere on the Island!

The U.S. Coast Guard Neah Bay was passing Round Island Light on a straight course to St. Ignace.

The U.S. Coast Guard Neah Bay – passing Round Island Light on a straight course to St. Ignace.

A close-up of the Neah Bay

A close-up of the Neah Bay.

Mackinac Islanders have certainly seen their share of beautiful sunrises and sunsets this winter?

Mackinac Islanders have certainly seen their share of beautiful sunrises and sunsets this winter!

A seagull stands

A seagull standing in snow.  Where else could you see that?

dddd

There have been a lot of freighters coming through the Straits this week.

fffff

The ice continues to melt as one day flows seamlessly into another.

First boat of the season arrives at Mackinac.

First boat of the season arrives at Mackinac.  A very welcome sight!

All of these carts came loaded with supplies on the first boat.  Now empty, they return to St. Ignace . . .

All of these carts came loaded with supplies on the first boat. Now empty, they returned to St. Ignace . . .

. . . and returned loaded with freight on the 4 p.m. boat.

. . . and came back loaded with freight on the 4 p.m. boat.

999

As you can see here, there is still plenty of ice out on the lake where the Coast Guard cutters have not opened a path.

ffff

A seldom-seen winter’s night view of the city of Mackinac Island and the Mackinac Bridge.

dddd

Full moon rising . . . awesome.

Hoping everyone has had a beautiful Easter Sunday.  We didn’t have any family home, so after sunrise service and breakfast, we loaded up Maddie and Bear and headed for the state park for a 2-mile walk.  It almost hit 80 here this afternoon before cooling off after a little thunderstorm late in the day.  I’m pretty sure we’ve seen the last of the 30’s and 40’s until next winter, but we might have a few more days in the 60’s before transitioning straight into summer in the south.

See you next week, good Lord willing.  God bless.

17 thoughts on “Mackinac Island Spring Update 3/31/2013

  1. Beautiful pics. Best yet from winter. I”m sure it’s an exciting time on the island as it begins to reawaken from a long winter. It’s bee a long winter here in NE Ohio. These pics make me anxiously look forward to our annual island trip in August.

  2. Amazing pictures from the Island! I can’t believe the Grand will be open in a matter of weeks. Can’t wait until for my June visit. Hope everyone had a blessed Easter!

  3. A Happy Easter to everyone! Excellent pictures I really like the Sunset picture above the Seagull. I also like the seagull picture. Can I get the full size picture of both of those by any chance. Definitely all of these pictures in this update are outstanding!

    • Hi Jason. I’m sorry, I don’t have the full size photo of either of those photos. If you’d let me know why you’d like them, I’ll see if Clark would be willing to share.

  4. Brenda,

    It’s hard to believe it could be so beautiful! Almost takes my breath away. I wonder if the seagull realizes how fortunate he/she is to be a part of such beauty. And the picture of the full moon rising behind the Bridge. Do you have any idea where that was taken from? Was it from west of Mackinaw City?

    I thought when I looked at the picture of all those Easter eggs, “Even I could have found some of those.” Then I thought to myself, “But you would have had to lean over to pick up each one.” I guess I might as well face it. I’m not a kid anymore, but sometimes I’m a slow learner.

    Only 62 more days! June 2 is coming fast!

    • Lowell, I’ll have to ask Clark about where that photo was taken from. My guess it was taken from the island. He has one heck of a camera lens!

  5. Spectacular picture of the full moon! Had a few flurries of snow in the air today in SW Mich……maybe an April fools joke?? Let’s hope we’ve seen the last of that also.

  6. Awesome pictures!! I can just feel the excitement of getting ready for the season! And there is just a little excitement on your part too?!!! My daffodils are peaking out of the ground…there is hope for Spring here too!

  7. Brenda,

    I had thought I would just surprise you and Ted when we drove into your driveway, but I couldn’t keep it a secret.

    The reason we want to stop by is to tell you that I’ve been faking it for years. Yup, you guessed it. Contrary to what I’ve been saying all this time, I really don’t like your blog at all.

    APRIL FOOL!!!

    PS: You really didn’t believe me, did you? I sure hope not.

  8. Awesome photos!! Love the sunrises & sunsets. The moon was breath taking. What a sweet comment from Ann about Chris Ann pushing the moon up, very touching.

Leave a Reply

