Mackinac Island Winter Update – Volume 5 12/20/2012

As I sat down to write this post, there was a little more spring to my fingers than usual – and here’s why.   On Wednesday, Jan. 2, I’ll be landing in Flint, MI and traveling from there to Mackinaw City, Cheboygan, and Mackinac Island.  I’ll be seeing up close and personal the snow in the photos below, but most important, I’ll be seeing my dear friend Chris Ann.  More on that later . . .

If ever there was a winter wonderland over the Christmas holidays, it was on Mackinac Island.  It was a busy, busy time for islanders, and the Island is now popping with visitors arriving for the special New Year’s Eve celebrations.  As of yesterday, I heard there was still one room available at the Cottage Inn and several rooms open at Mission Point Resort.  Feel like a last minute, fun-filled, snow-covered party?  Head for the Island, my friends, head for the Island!

Can you believe this landscape?!  Nicole Doud took one of her dogs - Charlie - out for a run with his playmate, Gia, into the Mackinac woods!

Can you believe this landscape?! Nicole Doud took one of her dogs – Charlie (in the background) – out for a run in the Mackinac woods with his playmate, Gia!

fffff

The affects of that pre-Christmas snow storm can still be seen all over the island.  Trees and branches, laden with heavy snow, still block some trails, but Park and City employees are working hard to clear all the cross country ski areas.  Even as it is, it makes for a beautiful walk!

Nearing sundown on Main Street - Christmas Eve.  (Photo: Mission Point Resort)

Nearing sundown on Main Street – Christmas Eve.  Downtown was bustling! (Photo: Mission Point Resort)

George waits patiently in his taxi for the last boat of the day passengers to arrive on Christmas Eve.   (Photo: Mission Point Resort)

George waits patiently in his taxi for the last-boat-of-the-day passengers to arrive on Christmas Eve. (Photo: Mission Point Resort)

Orietta and Steve spotted this otter playing on the frozen pond near their home.

Orietta and Steve spotted this otter playing on the frozen pond near their home.

About to go cross country skiiing, Steve and Orietta are all bundled up against high temps in the 20's.

About to go cross country skiing, Steve and Orietta are all bundled up for high temps in the 20’s.

Orietta says Steve is "one happy man" when the snow is deep and the snowmobile can be brought out for travel.

Orietta says Steve is “one happy man” when the snow is deep and the snowmobile can be brought out of storage!

Orietta snapped this pic as she held on to Steve on their trip into town.

Orietta snapped this pic as she held on to Steve on their trip into town.  Can’t you just hear those branches creaking in the wind?!

The first "lake steam" of the winter occurred this week.  Islanders say "after the lake steams three times, ice will begin to make."  (Photo: Shepler Ferry)

The first “lake steam” of the winter occurred this week. Islanders say “after the lake steams three times, ice will begin to make.” (Photo: Shepler Ferry)

Some Cottage Inn visitors enjoyed a snowy hayride this week!  (Photo: Cottage Inn)

Some Cottage Inn visitors enjoyed a snowy hayride this week! (Photo: Cottage Inn)

Chris Ann Update

I’ve talked with Chris Ann a couple of times in the last week, and we’ve also chatted online.  She’s had family in and out all through the holidays.  On Sunday, Dec. 30, one of her best friends, Mary, is going up to stay with Chris Ann and Burton until Friday when two of her daughters arrive.  I’m flying up on Wednesday, Jan. 2, and will visit with Chris Ann, Burton and Mary on Thursday and Friday.  My plan right now is to also try to get over to Mackinac on Saturday to see some Island friends.  I’ve been trying to make the decision to do this for nearly three weeks now, and although it will be a bittersweet trip, what it comes down to is I need to see my friend again. 

Sue and Terry Conlon, Patrick’s parents, have graciously invited me to stay with them at Black Lake near Cheboygan, and they are coming to pick me up Wednesday at the  Flint, MI airport and will take me back to Flint on Sunday.   Sue met Chris Ann for the first time on the night the Shepler folks went to sing carols (Patrick is Shepler’s dock master and the young man I’ve tried to adopt away from Sue and Terry – for some reason they won’t let me).  Sue immediately saw the spirit and unquenchable love Chris Ann has for everyone she meets – something I’ve written about for some time now.  Without Sue and Terry, it would have been much harder for me to make the trip.  Thanking them in advance!

The ice is forming in front of Chris Ann and Burton cottage at the base of the Mackinac Bridge. This is from a couple of mornings ago, and that’s two members of Chris Ann’s family out there, walking Lilly.

I’ll try to get my usual Sunday post out next Sunday to share with you about the trip, before leaving again on Jan. 10 to fly to Colorado to see Blake.  It’s going to be a busy, busy beginning to 2013!  Please offer up a safe travel prayer for me.  I’ve never flown anywhere alone before (can you believe that?), and both of these trips are going to be “solo”.  Hoping I don’t get off the plane and find myself in Outer Mongolia.

Ted and I will be ringing in the New Year at a party here on the ri’vah.  Let me go ahead now and wish all of you the most wonderful of years in 2013.  I pray that we all spend the next 365 days giving to others unselfishly, loving each other unconditionally, and praising God unceasingly.  Love and hugs from the Hortons!  God bless.

14 thoughts on “Mackinac Island Winter Update – Volume 5 12/20/2012

  1. Happy and Blessed New Year to the Hortons! Safe travels on both of your trips my friend. Dress warm lol. Is the island a one day thing or are you staying overnight? Would love to spend a Christmas or New Years on the island just once.

  2. Safe travels. I’ve only flown a handful of times, but several of them have been alone. It makes me nervous until I get to the correct gate, but then I’m proud of myself for doing something out of my comfort zone.

  3. Too bad I can’t meet your flight in Flint! I work in downtown Flint at McLaren Hospital….where I sure hope I won’t have any reason to run into you!! Safe travels into our little airport!

  4. Prayers for safe travels. That is so wonderful that you can get back to Mackinaw City and see your friend Chris Ann. What a joyous visit that will be. Your an amazing lady Bree, we are so blessed to “know” you. Happy New Year! Michelle

  5. Happy New Year Hortons! Have a wonderful visit with Chris Ann and with all the people who are making this visit possible. You are in my prayers for a safe journey.

  6. Bree, I have lived in the U.P. all my life spending time every day outside taking care of my horses. There is something special about snow in the woods, it really takes you away from the stress of the world. You won’t be sorry to make the trip, enjoy every special minute. Sending prayers for a safe and wonderful blessed trip.

  7. God’s grace and blessings accompany you on all your travels, Bree and you will be wrapped in prayer for your solo traveling, knowing you are never “solo.” (but I know what you mean.)

  8. Happy New Year to you and yours! So happy to hear you are making a trip up north in the winter. You can scratch that off your bucket list.
    So glad you will go to visit, Chris Ann. It will be bitter/sweet for both of you, but you’ll be glad you did.
    Have a safe trip. We’ll look forward to your updates. x

  9. Happy New Year also and so glad you are making the trip to see Chris Ann and the Island, even if it is for one day. Safe travels!

Leave a Reply

