Ride-Around 8/7/2012

We have a Mystery Spot winner!  She is Kirsten Reece, an Elementary Education student at the University of Michigan!  Please see end of this post for the answer to this week’s Mystery Spot!

Last night we had a Girl’s Night Out at the Harbor View Restaurant in the Chippewa Hotel for friend Jane Winston, who’ll be going back home to Georgia on Wednesday.  There were around 20 ladies there – we ate good food, chattered so loudly that diners around us probably wished we’d quieten down a bit, and laughed like 10-year-olds at a spend-the-night party.  We ranged in age from one lady’s daughter, who was in her twenty’s, to the “not getting older – just getting better” crowd. It was so much fun, but we will miss Jane – safe travels to you, my friend.

Our dinner for Jane ended just at twilight. I found Ted and Blake at the Pony bar, watching the Olympics on the big screen TVs. Blake opted to walk home, but . . .

. . . Ted and I treated ourselves to a taxi ride home. It’s amazing how these streets were packed a few hours ago – and now they were deserted.

As we passed the Gate House Restaurant, we noticed they were flying the Jamaican Flag next to Old Glory. Mackinac Island employs a large number of Jamaicans during the season, and August 6 was the 50th anniversary of their independence.

Today has been beautiful.  We headed over to the Fort Mackinac for lunch – there’s just no better place on the Island for views!

Blake is having to work a little, but he’s definitely getting in some relaxation time!

Probably my 367th photo of the Straits from the Fort.

Beautiful Places and Hidden Spaces

It seems like weeks and weeks since I’ve just gone out with my camera with no particular goal in mind.  I did that today after leaving the Fort.  Ted was going back to the condo, and Blake planned to spend the afternoon at the Grand Hotel pool, so I threw my camera in my bike basket and went out trolling for photos.  In the back of my mind I was thinking about doing something on little hidden spaces on the Island, and I found a few of those (including the Mystery Spot!).

Since I was so close by, I rode to the East Bluff and photographed the pathway leading to Anne’s Tablet. If you take the other path – Crow’s Nest Trail – you’ll go down a lot of stairs and come out at the back of Marquette Park.

I wanted to ride through the Annex today, so I left the East Bluff and took Huron all the way to Four Corners (where Huron intersects Cadotte and becomes Annex Road). Once in the Annex, I stopped to capture the blue water of Lake Huron over the hedges of two beautiful homes that stand facing the lake.

I love the Annex – the homes, the flower gardens, the lawns, the views, the hedges – it would just be an awesome place to live. This flower garden is always a favorite and runs along Lake View Blvd.

Purple flowers . . . . . Jeff?

A beautiful “tucked-away” space leading . . . . somewhere.

The private tour drivers love bringing visitors to the Annex. They always stop in front of this awesome hedge.  You can just see the opening which leads into that home’s front yard.

I got lucky this afternoon and was riding by when two men were preparing to trim some of the Annex hedge . . . .

Be careful!

From the Annex I rode by the Grand . . . no better place to find beautiful spaces – like the Rose Walk.

Aren’t these lilies unbelievably gorgeous!

The fountain in the Tea Garden.

For a while there, I thought I might get wet, but the cloud passed over.

I rode on into town and dropped off our condo key with Jill at the Island Bookstore.  She’s going to look after Maddie and Bear tomorrow so we can go off-Island and show Blake a few of the water-front towns nearby – probably Charlevoix and Harbor Springs.  Ted hasn’t been to either of those either, and I’m thinking we’ll have lunch at Stafford’s Weathervane Restaurant, which is right on the water and where Frankie and I ate the day we went to Charlevoix to see the mushroom houses.  If my memory is right, we can also watch the car ferry that goes to Beaver Island in Lake Michigan load from the outside patio at Stafford’s.  Great food too!

Readers’ Mackinac Island Photographs

Bob and Kara with Ava and Will – Wausau, MI.  I love this photo because Bob emailed Ted and asked him how to find a cave that would be easy enough for his children to reach.   Ted suggested Eagle Point Cave – and that’s where this was taken!

Marlena Black – Kansas City, Missouri.
Marlena and husband Larry visited Mackinac for the first time in May of this year. This photo was “somewhere” in Mackinac’s beautiful woods.  Marlena and Larry will be back in a couple of years to celebrate birthdays and their 25th wedding anniversary.

Shannon Hoorn – Grand Rapids, MI
When she walked behind the library to sit in a rocking chair and look at the water, Shannon found this cluster of lilac blooms on the ground.  It was so beautiful, she “posed” it on the white table, and took this photograph.

Jean Lenard – Powell, Ohio
Jean stayed at the Iroquois Hotel in July with her husband and son. She took this photo early one Monday morning from their room window. It shows the Carriage Tour wagons lined up along the boardwalk, awaiting the first call to move up and collect the first round of tourists for the day. Jean says Mackinac is “my favorite place on earth!”

Trisha Young – Norton Shores, MI
Trisha visited Mackinac in 2010 and captured this shot of the Straits from the fort at dusk.

Please don’t forget to send me your best 1-2 photos of your Mackinac Island vacations (brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com).  Once again, I’m running low!  Just email them to me as attachments, give a little of the history of the shot, and don’t forget to tell me where you’re from!  I love this feature!

Mystery Spot Contest

The object of the Mystery Spot is to be the first to identify where the object is located. When you think you have the answer, email me at brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com. I’ll check my email several times a day, and as soon as we have a winner, I’ll post the winner’s name at the top of this blog so you can stop guessing (you may have to refresh your page for this to show up). Is there a prize for the winner?  Yes there is; but the prize is secret, and the only ones who will know what it is are the winners. To be fair, I’m asking residents of Mackinac Island to please NOT guess. This is just for readers who don’t live here . . . but would like to! And the Mystery Spot is   . . . .

Where is it?

Again, please email your answers to me at brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com.  PLEASE DO NOT ANSWER IN THE “COMMENTS” SECTION OF THE BLOG.  Remember, I’ll post the winner at the top of this blog as soon as someone gives the correct answer.

Update on Charlie/Frog:  We thought Charlie was going to get by without further treatment after his surgery, but his oncologist has opted for a six-weeks regiment of chemo and radiation.  He had his first treatment on Monday (he said radiation only takes a few minutes, then a couple of hours for chemo), and things went very well.   Please pray he will continue to breeze through these treatments without unpleasant side effects and no further treatments will be necessary after this.  And please pray ultimately for his complete healing.

That’s it for tonight!  I’ll be back on Friday with whatever happens between now and then!  

Mystery Spot Answer

The Mystery Spot is Greany Grove, a special area built by scouts in honor of William C. Greany.  See pic below for the history of Greany Grove.

22 thoughts on “Ride-Around 8/7/2012

  1. Enjoyed all the pictures and reader photos too. I bet it is nice to relax and stroll for a while without being in a crazy whirlwind. Safe travels to Jane and many many prayers for Charlie. You go Charlie!! The island will wait for you…

    • Forgot to mention that we love the Annex also! Make it a point to go through there every trip. While walking through there last year, a very nice gentleman took the time to talk to us, thinking that maybe we were lost or something. Turned out to be Mark Rensel (filmaker of the “Ice Bridge” video). Very nice guy.

      • I know, Hilde! Mark is wonderful – can’t wait to see the next film he’s working on!

  2. My husband and I have been visiting the island at least once a year since 2007. Our favorite thing to do is explore the less-traveled spots and you have, on more than one occasion, been the catalyst for a new venture! I’m really looking forward to hearing about your off-island trip. It sounds like something we’d enjoy but I have no idea how to plan for it. I hope you continue to keep us all in touch with “our” beautiful island for a long, long time. You truly have a gift – thank you for sharing it with us. We’ll be visiting in September – can’t wait!

  3. Glad you got to have some downtime for yourself-you’ve been a very busy lady this summer! I hope you have a good time in your off-island adventures and best wishes for a speedy recovery for Charlie.

  4. That flower, Liatris! aka Blazing Star 🙂

    Gorgeous pics!

    I have got to get my discs out of our 2007 Mackinac trip.

  5. Was very happy to see the pictures of the guys “trimming the hedges!” That cottage has always intrigued me. And I agree with you, the annex would be a wonderful place to live. I agree with Hilde, it is time for you to relax and enjoy some time to yourself. By opening yourself up to so many of us, you are busy all the time. Enjoy!

  6. Loved the blog today. Your pictures and your reader’s pictures were outstanding! Can’t wait to see what you find for Friday.

  7. Thanks for featuring one of my photographs! We have been to the Island twice this summer and are hoping for one last hurrah at the end of September. 🙂

    Enjoy your off-island adventures!

  8. Bree- I just spent my lunch time with you (via your blog). My quest today after reading today’s post was to go back to October last year. I now have emails sent that show your posts so that I’m sure not to miss one but, back then I had to remember to stop by. Facebook is now a lovely help as well to stay in touch.

    How I enjoyed seeing Frankie and you enjoying the fall colors from last years posts. My husband and I will be on the island for the first week of October. I hope the weather is as good as was it was then.

    Reflecting back on those old posts, I hope that you finding the comfort spot you were looking for in doing this blog and I hope that you’re wearing your cpac machine!

    Thanks for lunch- Susan

    • Thanks for writing, Susan! Unfortunately, the CPAP machine and I are no longer acquainted. Just couldn’t do it, and I thought I could adjust to anything! Maybe I’ll give it another try when we get back to GA – didn’t even bring it with me to Michigan.

  9. All the pictures were fantastic. The picture of the carriages lining up to start their tours was great. We forget how much hard work goes into making things seem “effortless”. We long to be back there.

  10. Love the beautiful island photos! They are giving me ideas of what I want to see on our next island visit. Best start making a list. It will be a long list so we will definitely need to stay longer! Thanks so much for sharing!!

  11. Beaver Island sounds very interesting. I did a search on it a year or two ago and I would like to visit it sometime so I hope you can provide my visit through your eyes and camera! LOL! Have a good week!

    • Hmmmm – Yvonne. Not planning on a trip to Beaver Island, but we did see the ferry come back from there while we were in Charlevoix today.

  12. Curious, was the winner of the Mystery Spot a former Scout? Most people don’t know where Greany Grove is or what it is used for unless they have been in the Scout Service Camp.
    Brenda, if you want some new/different photos I suggest interviewing or just taking photos of the next Girl Scout troop coming to the island this Saturday (its my old troop, the former Mitten Bay from Saginaw but its called Heart of Michigan now). The girls will serve as guides in the Fort and downtown buildings from 8-11-12 to 818-12. Brenda Coleman is the Director.

    Pat Steele
    Vernon, MI

    • Thanks, Pat. Don’t know if I’ll get the story done next week or not. I want to do a good job with it, and it seems the schedule is packed again. The winner this week was the Scout Coordinator for the Mackinac Island Governor’s honor Guard program at the Fort last summer. We had quite a few correct answers though!

  13. Just caught up on your last few posts….I’ve got Olympic fever!!

    Lovely photos as always….love Bear in the garden!!

    Hope Blake is resting and enjoying himself as well. Nice place to reflect as well as to work a little.

    Praying for Frog…hope everything goes well for you Frog and for your family. God Bless.

  14. To quote that muscle bound guy; “I’ll be back.” If not ,I will have to endure the wrath of Cathie,and my two dogs. Seriously Bree, thank you and your readers for your prayers and thoughts. It really means a lot. After four rads and one chemo things seem to be going just swell. Say hi to Ted and the furry ones and save me a place at the Pink Pony. On the whole I’d rather be in Mackinaw with all ya’ll but Cathie keeps taking my keys.

    • Frog – your place is saved – on the couch and at the Pony! Get well, then you and Cathie get yourselves up here!

Leave a Reply

