I’ll Have Champagne With My Horses, Please 7/12/2012

It’s Official!  The Grand Hotel/Carriage Tour Stable and Carriage Museum held its Open House this afternoon, and I can’t think of too many places in this world where a horse stable could have been more lavishly welcomed.

The event was announced as 5-7 p.m., and the public was invited to “come as you are”.  By 4:45 taxis and carriages and bicycles and walkers began to arrive, and as I write this at 7:35, I can look out our bedroom French doors and still see people strolling down the road from the stable.  It was THE place to be on this Thursday afternoon!

Dozens and dozens of bikes filled in the spaces between the trees across from the stable . .

. . . . and Carriage Tour wagons brought folks up from town.

There were tables filled with delicious goodies . . . .

. . . and your choice of soda, wine, or champagne.

We hadn’t been in the stable for a couple of weeks, and it was amazing how different it looked from when we’d visited when Julie and the grandchildren were here.  The antique carriages from the Grand Hotel and Carriage Tours are beautifully displayed now for the public to enjoy.

Even the actual stable where the horses were looked different – the finishing touches had been placed on everything.

Someone asked a question about the Hackney gait, and one was brought out to “show off” that high-stepping prance.

“Well, hay! Where’s MY champagne and hor’dourves?”

Hundreds of people attended, and around 6 p.m. the official dedication was given. Dr. Vince Carroll from Little Stone Church pronounced the blessing of the stable, and Dan Musser III, President of the Grand Hotel, gave remarks . . . .

. . . as did Dr. Bill Chambers, CEO of Carriage Tours.  That’s Jeannette Doud seated on the left.

Carleton Varney, interior decorator for the Grand Hotel, chose the colors for the museum part of the stable, using the same green, white, and red that he used in several suites at the hotel. That chandelier was one of two given to the Grand by Varney and once hung in the New York Metropolitan Museum.  Folks, this is not your “typical” stable and carriage museum!

Every space is filled with memorabilia from the Island’s horse culture.

We walked out past the Grand Hotel jazz trio, which played for the event.

What an opening!  I’m going to walk back over tomorrow when I can look at everything again without all the people.  But, please, when you visit the Island on your next trip, this is a MUST SEE.  You have to climb an extra hill past the Grand, but it is so worth it – and it isFREE to the public.

A Few Random Pics From This Week

My friend Chris Ann crossed back to Mackinaw City from the Island at sundown this week, after taking a watercolor class from Mary Lou Peters, one of my favorite artists. She captured this beautiful sunset from a Shepler ferry.

Misty Martincheck from Shepler’s took this gorgeous photo of the Mackinac Bridge while on the first of Shepler’s Moon Cruises.

Spotted in the parking space for Cindy’s Riding Stable. Too cute!

Blog fans Marie and David were at the stable opening tonight. So enjoyed meeting you both, and geez, I hope I remembered your names correctly!  Such a sweet couple!

That about wraps it up for the week. Next week I’ll have a story about a chance encounter on-line with a blogger in Georgia that turned into a very special story for both of us.  AND – we’re headed to Canada on a three-day trip!  More on that next week also.

Have a great weekend, and God bless.

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Personal Note:  Received a call from Charlie (Frog) and Cathie this morning that brought smiles all around.  At his doctor’s appointment today, he was told his lung tumor had been completely removed with wide, unaffected margins.  The other great news is that they now believe what they thought was lymph node involvement in his chest might just be evidence of his continuing COPD, and not connected at all with cancer.  That would truly be spectacular news!  He won’t know for two more weeks what the course of other treatment will be – or if other treatment is needed.  All in all, wonderful news!  Charlie and Cathie both are so thankful for your prayers.  Don’t stop!

Geez – I love my readers!  Don’t think I’ve said that lately.

16 thoughts on “I’ll Have Champagne With My Horses, Please 7/12/2012

  1. Yeeaaah Charlie!!!! Whatever your doing, keep it up! I think I hear the island calling! 🙂
    I will definitely be visiting the new stables while we are there. Never missed a visit to the former stables and can’t wait to see the new one. Would not have missed the opening if we had been there…darn. Always miss the good stuff!
    Love the “just married” bikes. Have a safe trip to Canada and can’t wait to hear all about it.
    P.S. A little over 6 weeks more…sigh!

  2. Looks like a wonderful event. The stable & museum is gorgeous.

    I am also glad to hear the wonderful news about Charlie.

  3. I always enjoy your blog, but especially so this time. The museum and stable are just gorgeous. I can’t wait to see it next trip. Thanks for making me feel at “home.”

  4. Great news about Charlie! Hope he will be able to visit the Island soon! I can’t wait to visit the new stables in the Fall. Thanks Brenda for the great story!

  5. Woo Hoo Charlie! That’s such good news! The stable looks absolutely lovely as befitting anything with the Grand name attached. I doubt there’s any other stable in the world with chandeliers like that!

  6. What great news for Charlie.

    Beautiful chandelier! Beautiful stable. Darling “Just Married” bike shot. How sweet. Love both shots of the bridge. the black horse is a beauty. I hope it enjoyed the snack! Thanks.

  7. Charlie, I am so pleased and thankful for you. Will you now be able to make the trip to the Island this summer or fall? It would certainly be wonderful if you could.

    Brenda, I would liked to have been at the Grand’s Stable and Museum Open House. Not only to see a stable from Magic Land, but I think I might have liked some of the food. Oh, that’s right, there is no food I don’t like. I sure am glad my parents had skinny genes to pass on to their children.

    As usual, I liked all your pictures, but I’ll have to say the “Just Married” bikes were something else. And the black horse. What a beauty!

    Question: Is Bill Chambers a brother to Jeannette Doud?

  8. Wonderful news about Charlie!! Wow that is one awesome stable & museum. I’m definitely planning on visiting it when hubby & I come up for our vacation in September. Have a great rest of your weekend!!

  9. Good to hear positive things about Charlie!

    The blog readers are so talented with their photography skills! The picture with the “just married bicycles” is so cute and the moon cruise bridge picture is stunning!

    I am sitting hear eating cheese & crackers that are wrapped in plastic from a convenience store and they don’t look anything like the Grand’s hor’dourves! LOL!

  10. I’m sorry it’s taking me so long to comment but all of my electronic stuff took the last train west. Please thank all of your bloggers for their thoughts and prayers, it seems to have worked. It’s hard to keep a good Frog down,rivet,rivet. Great horses and stable and bikes and other pictures.

Leave a Reply

