Happy Anniversary to the Lady on the Hill 7/10/2012

WE HAVE A MYSTERY SPOT WINNER!  Wow – we had a TON of correct answers, but the very first one was Ashley Felstow.  See end of this blog for the answer.

The Grand Hotel is celebrating its 125th Anniversary today, June 10.

On June 10, 1887, the Grand Hotel opened its doors for the first time, and the hotel has offered high style and first-class elegance, grace and service ever since.  One of the highlights of the celebration today was the serving of a 125-foot cake to guests on the porch.

The cake in pieces . . . . .

. . . and as it appeared tonight on the Grand Hotel porch for guests to enjoy.  (Photo credit for these two photos:  Grand Hotel)

Photos by Blog Readers

Lowell Greene – Olivet, MI
“Arch Rock Curio Shop – 1955”. Lowell worked at this shop 1955-56, and sold candy and pop.  He once met the Princess of Thailand there and often saw then Governor G. Mennen Williams and his family ride horses past the shop, although Lowell said they never stopped. Lowell remembers they had Great Danes with them that were perfectly well-behaved and as big as the children’s ponies. In the fall of 1957, one of Lowell’s sisters was selected as a beauty queen of the Detroit Police Department, and Gov. Williams crowned her. That evening another sister took Lowell to meet the Governor, and when he saw Lowell, Gov. Williams said, “I know you! You work at Arch Rock!”

Beth Brandt.
“Grand Hotel”

Moira Croghan – Mackinac Island, MI
“Private Omnibus” – Grand Hotel. Moira is a new neighbor of ours here at Surrey Ridge Condos.

Tom Wachowski – Arizona.  Tom, playing with his son on the lawn at Mission Point Resort.

Personal Note:  In the next week or so, I will be needing a new supply of reader photos.  Please look through your vacation photos from Mackinac Island, and send me your best shot, so I can include it in a future blog.  Everyone loves this feature, and I love sharing your memories of the Island  Thanks!

A Different Light

Ted and I happened to be behind the fort earlier tonight – at a time we aren’t normally out and about – at least not on this part of the Island. A friend pointed out to me the beautiful way the light hits the white wall – only at this time of day.

As the sun’s rays bathed it one last time, the turret above the wood planks almost appeared to be glowing.

How quickly the shadows encroached, the white walls soon covered in the first shade of evening.  I love the Island at this time of day.

Mystery Spot Contest

The object of the Mystery Spot is to be the first to identify where the object is located. When you think you have the answer, email me at brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com. I’ll check my email several times a day, and as soon as we have a winner, I’ll post the winner’s name at the top of this blog so you can stop guessing (you may have to refresh your page for this to show up). Is there a prize for the winner?  Yes there is; but the prize is secret, and the only ones who will know what it is are the winners. To be fair, I’m asking residents of Mackinac Island to please NOT guess. This is just for readers who don’t live here . . . but would like to! And the Mystery Spot is   . . . .

Again, please email your answers to me at brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com.  PLEASE DO NOT ANSWER IN THE “COMMENTS” SECTION OF THE BLOG.  Remember, I’ll post the winner at the top of this blog as soon as someone gives the correct answer.

Hoping you’re having a great week!  See you back here on Friday!

MYSTERY SPOT ANSWER

The Mystery Spot is the distance sign at British Landing.


27 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary to the Lady on the Hill 7/10/2012

  1. Beautiful pictures once again, and thanks for sharing that story about Lowell, what a wonderful story! Love the father-son picture on Mission Point also!

  2. Bree, aren’t you thankful for your camera for all the “nuances” it enables you to see — beautiful photos, but a very “conscious” person had to appreciate it before the photo “happened”. After I took my first water color class, I truly began to SEE color in the world that I had not seen before.

  3. Brenda,

    Thanks for using my info and picture that was taken 57 years ago. My, that was a long time ago, wasn’t it. As I remember, the shop itself was only about 25 or 30 feet from where one walks up on the viewing platform on the right side of The Rock. There is still a viewing platform there, isn’t there. I sure enjoyed all the other pictures also, but I think I liked those with the evening sunlight on the fort the best.

  4. What beautiful sunset pictures! Happy late Anniversary to the Grand. I love the porch and it would be even better sitting on the rockers with cake 🙂
    i enjoy all the readers’ photos too especially Lowell’s photo and story. Happy Wednesday!!

  5. Brenda – wonderful pictures and I especially loved Lowell’s story. Each time I read your blog, I feel as if I am momentarily transported back in time, onto the gentle and wonderful Mackinac. Thank you!

  6. What a cake!! Looks yummy and BIG. 🙂 Love Lowell’s story and picture. Love seeing older pictures of and from the island. It’s always so interesting to see how things have changed. I’ll have to go back through our pictures to see if we have any good one, but I don’t think I can compete with all the great ones that have already been posted.

  7. Wow-Lowell is famous! What a great story-loved the old photo of the curio shop. That cake is quite something-did you make it up there to get a taste? Maybe Mary saved you some….

    • Barb,

      I have no idea how long before I came on the scene that the curio shop was at The Rock, but I do know it was quite a few years. At the time I was there the shop was owned by Ella Chambers, the mother of Jeannette Doud who is the present owner of the Windermere Hotel. I think I’ve got that right. I don’t know when, but Mrs. Chambers husband ran the shop for many years before I was there. I worked there some years after he died. Neither do I know how long the shop remained in business. In 1960 or 1961 my new wife, Faye, and I returned to the Island for a visit. At that time, Mrs. Chambers had gone blind because of glaucoma (there was no treatment for it then), so I’m assuming the shop was no longer in business at that time. Interestingly, if my remembrance is correct, Mrs. Chambers was born and raised on Saint Helena Island, just 10 miles west of Mackinac Island (The restored buildings of the lighthouse complex are the only buildings there now). At some time she met Mr. Chambers who was born and raised on Mackinac Island. They married, and except for living somewhere near Chicago so their children could go to high school, they lived on Mackinac Island for the rest of their lives.

      I suspect some of my facts may be a little skewed in this information, but I think it’s mostly correct.

  8. Brenda,

    Who was the first to get the right answer for the Mystery Spot?

    I actually did get the right spot, but too bad I wasn’t the first. Oh well, maybe next time, or whenever.

    • I was slow to remember that I was supposed to look at the top of the blog for the name of the person. Slow in the brain -that’s my name. And that’s the first time my guess was correct.

      • No problem, Lowell. Have you seen how many people LOVED your picture of the Curio Shop!!!!

  9. Lowell – Thanks for sharing your story and picture. How neat to be recognized by the governor!

    Brenda, I love the picture of the father & little boy he is holding up at Mission Point. It is the simple things in life that are beaufiul! Take care!

  10. Loved Lowell’s story and photo. Does anyone know how long the cake was at the Grand? Sure looked good and how ’bout all the people!

  11. Yes Brenda, I certainly have noticed how many people were interested in my picture and story and I must say I’m extremely surprised and appreciative. Other than myselfI never dreamed anyone would be that interested.

    Thank you to everyone. Glad I could do a little to help Brenda’s blog, as if she needed any help. Isn’t she a marvel?

  12. Bree your blog is the first I check each time I can get online! I was on Mackinac as a child 40 years ago and then again last summer. Two of the best vacations I have ever had! Thank you for bring me a glimpse of my favorite place each week! I have some photos from last summer I would love to send you, can you remind me how/where I should send them? Thank you again for sharing your story! PS I also read your Lake Blacksheer blog last winter and enjoyed keeping up with you, your family and your pups!

  13. Love the pictures. Loved Lowell’s story/pic and the fact that Gov. let him know he recognized him! How neat! Love the pic of the storm the other day and also the shot of the omnibus. What a beautiful bus!

Leave a Reply

