Party Weekend! 6/10/2012

Whew!  I think I’m getting too old for all this fun!

It was another beautiful weekend on the Island, and the Lilac Festival activities are in full swing!

Ted began working at the Visitors Center this week, and after he got off Saturday afternoon, we walked downtown with Patty and Buz to have dinner and check out all the fun.  We stopped in at the Chippewa patio for a drink, then walked down to the Seabiscuit Cafe for dinner.  I’m such a stick-in-the-mud about ordering the same thing over and over, and this year I promised myself to try something new each time we eat out.  On Saturday night I chose the English Pot Roast Muffins . . . slow-cooked pot roast, smothered in caramelized Spanish onions, served over a toasted English Muffin and drizzled with Bleu Cheese sauce.  It came with a side of Tavern Dark Ale onion rings.  Oh yeah – it was yummy!

When we walked out of the restaurant, we could hear music coming from Market Street and knew “Dancing in the Street with the West Michigan Bootscooters” had begun.

We got there about twenty minutes before the dancing was over, but Patty and I got to line dance (no, we’re not in this shot) . . .

. . . and joined in on a very spirited rendition of Y.M.C.A.

We got “Dancing in the Street” medals to prove we’d been out there!

Patty and Buz are MUCH younger and MUCH more flexible than Ted and I, so they joined in on the Twist & Shout number. Wow! How low can they go?

Friends Bonnie and Don and Mary and Skip were in the crowd.

The evening ended with a little slow dancing.  Ahhhhhh . . . . .

Sunday was Buz’s birthday, and as a surprise Patty placed flowers at the alter for him in Little Stone Church for the morning service.  After church a big group surprised him again with lunch at the Gate House.

Don’t you love surprise parties – especially when they are really surprises!

A great group of friends!

Buz – working the table.

Love these two!

I know there haven’t been many Mackinac Island photos tonight – this one has mostly been friends and fun together.  But, after all, having friends and family here makes the Island that much more magical.  Sharing the magic . . .  I love it!

26 thoughts on “Party Weekend! 6/10/2012

  1. You are absolutely right…friends and family is what it’s all about! It looks like a fabulous time was had by all. Happy belated birthday Buz!

  2. I don’t need to see pictures of the actual island to share in your island fun! These are great!!! I’m the exact same way with finding a dish I love on the menu and never ordering anything new. But guess what I’m having next time? English Pot Roast Muffins at the Seabiscuit Cafe! My mouth is watering already! Thanks for the recommendation. (P.S. What did you have at the Gate House???) 🙂

    • Elizabeth – it was something off the “Specials for the Day” Menu – a blackened whitefish sandwich with some kind of sauteed onions. It was good also, but I don’t think it’s offered every day.

  3. I looked over at the island tonight from St. Ignace….and can’t wait to take the ferry over tomorrow and meet you and see all the island sights. It looks like you all know how to have fun!! See you soon, Ms. Bree.

  4. I didn’t have a chance to sit down and look over the previous blog (Bike Rides, Birthday, & Beautiful Weather) until now but how ironic you had a picture of Loretta Spata from Martha’s Sweet Shop. I am addicted to her chocolate chip cookies! While on the island for the week, I think I stopped in almost every day! YIKES! In fact, I meet her husband Tony Spata at the store one day and he was so nice & talkative.

    The picture of you and Ted slow dancing is fantastic! Your love for each other really shows through!

  5. What a great time it looked like it was! Good times with friends indeed. Hello to Patty and Buz. They are such a nice couple and we were lucky enough to meet them last year at the Seabiscuit and talk for a while. Happy Belated Birthday Buz!

  6. Hi Brenda,

    I hope you received my info regarding the Mystery Spot (I sent it via my phone while on the island). I met Vicki at the Island Bookstore and she told me I had just missed you (this was last Wed.).
    We loved our time on the island with my daughter, son-in-law and our two grandchildren. Our grandson age 6 always gets sad the day we leave, he’s addicted to the Mackinac Magic as well.
    Our stay at the Windermere Hotel was wonderful, I love that porch!
    We got to see the 10K race start from the Windermere and more power to them!
    Envious you have the whole summer!!!
    Take care,

    Pat Steele
    Vernon, MI

  7. Family used to own property in Mackinaw City. I am planning a trip during the week of the anniversary of my husbands death and wasn’t considering Mackinaw as an option….. but I have never stayed on the island so it would still be something different while being in an area I know well. Now I’m wondering if its too late to find a place to stay there.

    P.S. I love the blog since I’ve found it and enjoy hearing about all of the things you do.

    • Hello Monique. I’m sure you will be able to find accommodations on the Island. If you go to http://www.mackinacisland.org/lodging/, you will find a listing of all the lodging on the Island, with room rates and availability. The only problem weekend might be over the 4th of July, but even then you should be able to find a room at one of our hotels or B & B’s. Thanks so much for reading the blog – I’m glad you enjoy it.

      • This will be an August stay. During which I plan to remember my husband and leave some things drifting in the waters he so enjoyed coming up to see and spend time in.

        Thank you for getting back to me.

    • Hi Monique! I have stayed on the island many times and all of the places that I have stayed at have been very clean & nice. Here is my list of places that I have stayed at: Cottage Inn, Harbor View; Harbor View Bed & Breakfast; Windermere Hotel; Lilac Tree Hotel; and Inn on Mackinac. Also Tripadvisor is a great resource for rating the hotels.

      • Hi Yvonne, Thank you for your recommendations. I have been to the island for years but just have never stayed on the island. This year I will.

    • Sorry for the loss of your husband. I would think the Windermere would be a lovely place to stay for such an occasion. Very nice and quiet, and a great view of the water.

  8. One of the things I love about the island is the “quality time” we all get to spend with each other when we go there. Without all those “outside” distractions, we seem to focus on life. Looks like you had a great time with your friends. Party on!

  9. That was a lot of fun! We were there about 730ish I think, so we must have just missed you. Here’s a video my wife took of my 4 year old and I line dancing to Lady Gaga! I have never line danced, so it was a little tough for me…but Ava loved it! http://youtu.be/v0lx2RUqmZA

  10. Brenda,
    I stopped in to see you at the Stuart House this morning & mentioned my daughter got married on the island over the weekend. That was her reception at the Community Hall while you were out in the street line dancing – and you got a great shot of both my niece and my son dancing on the street! What a surprise when I pulled up your blog tonight when I got home so I could catch up – there were all of the wonderful pictures! Again I say thank you for the time you share with those of us that have such wonderful memories of years past spent on the island!

      • So much fun Brenda! My niece is the red head in the reddish dress in the front of your first picture. My son is the lightly bearded one in the photo with your friends Patty & Buz as they “twist & shout” – he has the white shirt and black vest on. That would be wonderful if you happen to come across more & have time to e-mail photos on a rainy day. Again – it means so much to so many of us who can’t be there. God bless.

    • Pam, I ALSO took some pics of your beautiful daughter dancing in her wedding dress and ROSE color cowboy boots! I didn’t realize WHO it was at first…what a surprise. Was wishing YOU had come outside to dance with her also!

      • Weren’t her cowboy boots perfect for the occasion? So busy inside I didn’t get a chance to go check out the fun outside! Hope you all had fune for me!

Leave a Reply

