Some Mackinac Goodies AND the First Mystery Spot of the Summer 5/22/2012

Wow!  I should have gotten back on-line sooner tonight!  I was amazed to see that there were only three people who had guessed correctly (maybe it wasn’t as easy as I thought)!  But the very first correct answerer and winner of the prize is Hilde DaVanon from Minooka, Illinois!  Congratulations, Hilde!  Please see end of post for Mystery Spot answer.

Ok, ok.  I said we would do the Mystery Spot on Monday.  And I would have . . . .  if I hadn’t forgotten!

So, let’s do the Mystery Spot contest every Wednesday this summer!  That will throw in something extra from the Island in the middle of the week . . . and, if you’re the first to answer correctly, you will be getting a little (emphasis on “little”) prize in the mail directly from Mackinac Island!

I’ll also probably run a favorite pic or two on Wednesday – just because I’m already discovering that only two posts a week just might not be enough . . . . imagine that!

Random Photos

Beautiful spring flowers line the walkway that leads down from Cadotte Avenue into the Grand Hotel shade garden.

The Jockey Club, one of the Island’s most colorful restaurants, is open for the season.  Love sitting outside on the patio for lunch and people watching.  And by the way, the food is great!

A different perspective of Fort Mackinac. I loved the bright colors against that Michigan-blue sky!

Ride in the Woods

I climbed on my bike for the first time this afternoon.  After riding  it over to the little shaded area across from the Governor’s Summer Residence, I locked it to a tree, and hiked downtown.  When I returned a couple of hours later, I rode back home through  the State Park maintenance area, which brought me out in the woods near the path I sometimes take back to the condo.  It was so pretty back there this afternoon that I stopped my bike and reached into my backpack for the camera (still using Ted’s, but I do have another one ordered).  It was then I noticed it . . . . . absolute silence.

Usually back here there is noise of some kind – birds singing, the far-away neighing of a horse, maybe a ferry horn. But I sat there balanced on my bike seat for at least two minutes and heard absolutely nothing. It was pretty cool.

I parked my bike and walked a short distance up the gravel road, the sound of my rubber-soled shoes amplified in the quiet.

For as far as I could see, the woods’ floor was blanketed in wide green leaves, and as I looked closer, I realized what I was looking at . . . .

. . . . overlapping fields of about-to-be-in-full-bloom Lilies-of-the-Valley. In a few days, I’ll come back here to take more photos.

THE MYSTERY SPOT
Here we go – the very first Mystery Spot Contest of the 2012 summer season! The object is to be the first to identify where the object is located. When you think you have the answer, email me at brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com. I’ll check my email several times a day, and as soon as we have a winner, I’ll post the winner’s name at the top of this blog so you can stop guessing. Is there a prize for the winner again this year?  Yes there is; but the prize is secret, and the only ones who will know what it is are the winners. To be fair, I’m asking residents of Mackinac Island to please NOT guess. This is just for readers who don’t live here . . . but would like to! And the Mystery Spot is (good grief, this is an easy one)  . . . .

Where is it?

Again, please email your answers to me at brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com.
PLEASE DO NOT ANSWER IN THE “COMMENTS” SECTION OF THE BLOG.

Remember, I’ll post the winner as soon as I get one!

See you back here on Friday for what’s been going on this week on Mackinac!  Oh – Maddie posted something new today on the Dog-Eared Page.  You can check it out at: http://mackinacislanddogearedpage.wordpress.com

The Mystery Spot – Revealed!

Tonight’s Mystery Spot is the resting area halfway between the top and bottom of Fort Hill. I just “rested” there this afternoon, before climbing the rest of the way up the hill to pick up my bike in front of the Michigan Governor’s Summer Residence.


29 thoughts on “Some Mackinac Goodies AND the First Mystery Spot of the Summer 5/22/2012

  1. As always, a fantastic “afternoon adventure with Bree”. There is a certain magic about that area of Michigan – the island, St. Ignace, Mackinaw City – whether it’s because of the meeting of the two great bodies of water, or some other great mystical unknown element, but it is indeed a magical spot. And anyone who has been there can attest to this. The pictures you choose to share with us bring back the feeling of that magic – the smells, the breezes………..for a brief, shining moment, we’re all back on the island with you. I find it so amazing that in a very short period of time you can touch upon a triangle of Lakes Huron, Michigan and a short drive away – Superior. Love, love, love that area. No wonder my ancestors were so devastated at having to leave; no wonder so many returned. Thanks again m’lady. Wonderful spending time with you.

  2. Just love your pictures as we always do, even with Ted’s camera….so maybe it’s you…and really has nothing to do with the camera. You just pick great scenes. Your comment, “absolute silence”, really caught us. We have always noticed that, mostly in our Spring and Fall trips. Last week while we were there, we biked Leslie Avenue and Scotts Road and would purposely stop on occasion just to listen to…..”absolute silence”. It is an amazing and memorable experience.

  3. I so love reading your blogs from the island Brenda…it is so…SUMMER! I too have experienced that absolute silence…Soldier’s Field last year…awesome! I’ve never eaten at the Jockey Club, but I just might put it on my list for this year. 🙂

  4. I am sitting here in class as my students gather, reading your new blog (YES! Twice is NOT enough!!) and trying not to weep as I stand in the woods and listen to the silence…… I am so glad you get to spend this time there, and to share it with us. A million thanks!!

    • Oh Lord. First you want to smell the moss, now you want to wallow in the flowers. What am I going to do with you, Cathie? Hurry and get up here so we can get in trouble.

  5. Bree, we have been all over this Island the last two days from Arch rock, Leslie Ave/Scott’sRd., Pontiac Trail, Sunset Rock, the airport, great turtle park, surrey hill, Grand Hotel Stables, community stables, coffee trail, Mission Point, British Landing etc. etc. and you have me stumped on this mystery spot! It’s driving me crazy :). I hope someone guesses it soon :))

  6. I am like Hilde in that I never have eaten at the Jockey Club but will put it on my to do list. I always thought it was not for the public and only for the golfers but one day I was biking by and it said open to the public. It looks very bright & cheery so I need to have lunch there during my upcoming visit.

  7. Brenda,

    Well, I guess I was wrong once again about the Mystery Spot. However, I was right in one respect. It’s new since I was there. In the 1950s that hill had barricades at the top and bottom and no one used it.

    Next time, please use a picture of a place I know. One of The Grand or The Little Stone Church would work well, thank you very much.

    Aside from that, I loved the pictures, especially the one of the silent woods.

    I do have an authentic request though: Would you put the link to The Dog Eared Page back at the top of Bree’s Mackinac Island Blog? As my Mama used to say, “Always say, “Please,” and we all know you should always do what you mother tells you to do, so “Please.” There, I said it.

    • PS: Maybe you could cheat just a little. You could give me a phone call to let me know when you’re going to post the Mystery Spot picture. Come on, help me out a little here. Oh, I almost forgot: Please.

  8. Beautiful pictures and thanks for taking me on a nice walk! I have a camera I will bring you this weekend. It is an extra one—and if you like it—it is YOURS!! It is a Nikon Coolpix Touchscreen……

    • Anne – you are so sweet – but I’ve just this week ordered a camera – a “used” one similar to the one I’ve been using for years. Hoping it is in as great a condition as the owner says it is!

  9. Just loved your picture of the Lilies-of-the-Valley. It brought back wonderful memories of traveling with my family as a child and singing, “White coral bells upon a slender stalk, Lilies of the valley deck my garden walk. On, don’t you wish that you could hear them ring? That will only happen when the fairies sing.”

  10. We have never been to the Jockey Club, we too, thought it was private, but now we will have to try it out next time we come. And Chevy post, I remember that song so well from Girl Scouts! Lilies of the Valley were my mom’s favorite flower too. Envious of the “peace and quiet” in the woods. What a great refuge from the noise of everyday life! We all need moments like this!

  11. Ahh, yes-the absolute silence. One of the best things about Mackinac. Not many places left where that can happen.

    Chevy-thanks for taking me back to my grade school days!!! We sang that song every spring, it was one of my favorites.

  12. Back in the 60’s when my sisters and I worked on the Island during the summer, one sister worked at what is now the Jockey Club, then it was just called the Snack Bar, later the Grand Stand. They served full meals; the girls wore plaid kilt like outfits to match the interior decor and “Scaramouch” (look up your Shakespeare) was pictured on the wall. They even sang a song about him. The best part was the hot fudge cream puffs served in little “spiders”.

  13. What a sweet post…….L.O.V. has always been my favorite spring flower since childhood. I have a few in my small garden by the front porch that I transplanted from my daughter’s place about 2 yrs. ago. They are are slowly multiplying!

    Lowell’s post, made me LOL! I so agree with him about the dog eared page being in the header, or somewhere on this page (“Pretty Please”). I looked for it this a.m. and wondered where it was! I so enjoy the doggie page. Your photos are outstanding as usual. Love the woods. I’m afraid the young people of today don’t know what TOTAL SILENCE really is! I will never forget our buggy ride with Judy to the beautiful restaurant in the woods while visiting her a few years back. I just can’t wait until we can get back there. I’m hoping my hubby and I can make an October trip this year for a long weekend. I LOVE OCT.

  14. Love seeing the pics of Mackinac again. We eat at the Jockey Club at least once every year when we visit. We love sitting out front under the umbrella, watching horses go by, and the occasional golfer. Food is good, as are the cold beers! Can’t wait til August

  15. My challenge to myself is to win the Mystery Spot prize once this season! I am dying to know what it is (although I think I already have a good idea…).

    Here downstate my ‘Karl Rosenfeld’ peony popped open a few days ago. When the beautiful peonies on French Lane open this year, I would love if you posted a picture of them and the siberian iris that yard has! Haan’s also has some incredible mature ‘Sarah Bernhardt’ peonies.

    • Jeff – the answer to the Mystery Spot should be at the bottom of that same post. If not, maybe you need to “refresh” that page. Anyway, the first Mystery Spot was the rest area halfway between the top and bottom of Fort Hill.

      Now about those flowers. You are kidding me, right? I think I know what a peony looks like, but Siberian Iris? And I’m also supposed to know the different between Karl and Sarah peonies??? Are they cousins? LOL – you are sooooo funny, Jeff. I’ll do my best though.

Leave a Reply

