Mackinac Island Winter Update – Vol. 12 – 2/22/2012

Oh.  My.  Gosh.  I’m having to ask for forgiveness tonight for not publishing an update this week.

Ted and I have been at the beach for a few days, and I’ve been away from the computer while we’ve been gone (just got back this afternoon).  I promised my Lake Blackshear readers I’d write about our beach trip for Wednesday, not even thinking that’s my Mackinac Island blog day.  It finally connected a few minutes ago when Ted said, “Are you writing TWO blogs tonight?”  YIKES!  Ya’ll, it is BAD to get old and forgetful.

So, please, please forgive me.  I’ll be back NEXT week with two weeks of goodies.  And, of course, if you want to read about our beach trip, come on over to the lake blog a little later tonight or tomorrow:  http://bree1976.wordpress.com.

Heather May, bless you!  Because of you, at least I can offer one Mackinac Island photo to tide folks over.

An absolutely gorgeous shot from the air of Mackinac Island's most populated area, the marina, and the Straits. I even found our condo in this shot! See if you can pick out the road that runs up beside the Grand, the Grand Hotel, the horse barns, the Carriage Museum, and the new Grand Hotel stable! Further over is Mission Point Resort. Great photo, Heather!

15 thoughts on “Mackinac Island Winter Update – Vol. 12 – 2/22/2012

  1. Completely understand and totally forgiven Brenda. Love that shot of the island. Thanks Heather!! Picked out everything you listed Brenda. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear about something warm (beach) 🙂

  2. It’s OK – theTown Crier came this week – I’m good!! Now to go find your beach story!

    Heather, that photo is fantastic!

  3. If you get a chance, read the book ‘My Way Home’ by Cynthia Lee Cartier. It is about a couple that moves to an island to open a lodge. Don’t know if the author has been to Mackinac or not, but the descriptions are so close to the real thing that it’s hard to believe that she doesn’t live there. Names of the locations have been changed, but it’s easy to match the places in the book with the locations on the island. It helped to bring the island closer for a little bit.

    • Cathy, Just tried to order from Amazon, and it’s only available in the Kindle edition (I don’t have a Kindle). Maybe this would be a good incentive to finally break down and get one.

      • I wouldn’t go back to regular books. I have a Nook and a Kindle Fire. Much easier to take books with me when we travel. Looks like we are going to get to live our dream starting sometime this year. Have a tentative agreement to rent a house in Trillium. If it doesn’t fall through, wejJust have to finalize the details and sell our house.

Leave a Reply

