Mackinac Island Winter Update – Vol. 5 12/21/2011

Snow on the Island!  Finally!  It fell overnight this weekend and covered the streets and the grass.  And lucky us – my friend Denise and her husband Mike (both with Carriage Tours), were on the island and captured it all!  Even though it’s all melted now, Denise covered all the fun while it lasted!

The south end of Cadotte. Snow is falling, adding atmosphere to the merry decorations along the fence that stretches all the way to Chambers Corner.

A festive wreath hangs on a streetlight. I love that on the Island even sawhorses are decorated with Christmas lights!

A beautiful angel "Harks the Herald" from this porch.

This is in the open space between Market Street and the first house on the right going up Cadotte Ave. The snow hasn't accumulated yet.

Santa looks all relaxed in his recliner! I guess on Christmas Eve morning he'll hop on that lighted bike and scurry up to the North Pole.

The Geranium Cottage on Market Street - always beautiful, but never more so than at Christmas.

Heavier snow now - on Main Street at the Iroquois Hotel. Even though the Iroquois is closed for the winter, the McIntyres have it beautifully decorated.

A quiet Main Street - through the snow.

Daybreak on Sunday morning - people awoke to a snow-covered island.

Looking west down Market Street toward Lake Huron. Even with the clouds, the Island looks beautiful covered in white.

I love the potted Christmas Tree beside the Mackinac Island Medical Center sign.

O Christmas Tree, O Christmas Tree . . .

The Manger scene at the head of the Arnold Dock.

Denise found the one taxi operating during the winter, and one of its horses was REAL interested in what she had in her backpack!

They said hello to our friend George Wellington, the winter taxi driver. I love George!

The Arnold Ferry freight boat - the mighty Huron - complete with Christmas Tree on the forward deck.

A great shot of town.

If anyone is planning to be on Mackinac Island over New Year’s Eve, the following link can give you all the great restaurants that will open to serve you during that holiday – it even has the menus!  http://mackinacisland.blogspot.com/2011/12/patrick-sinclairs-irish-pub-opens-for.html#!/2011/12/patrick-sinclairs-irish-pub-opens-for.html

I know there’s a lot of interest out there about why the mackinaclive.com webcam site is for sale.  I’ve really tried to get some info on that and will continue to try.  Since I’ve converted from Windows to the Linux operating system, I’ve been unable to access some streaming video sites, and mackinaclive.com is one of them.  I’m using the Chippewa Hotel site, which now has a webcam pointed toward Main Street (http://www.chippewahotel.com/web-cam.cfm) and the Horn’s Bar site (http://www.hornsbar.com/webcamframeset.htm).  Neither of those are live streaming, but you can see what’s happening on the streets in fairly real time.

That’s all I have for tonight, but if you have time on Friday, come on back here for a special Christmas edition of Bree’s Mackinac Island Blog.  Until then – happy shopping, wrapping and caroling.  God bless.

A beautiful photo taken of a sunrise this week by the Mission Point Resort folks. The gazebo illuminated by the sun is one of the most-used spots on the Island for summer weddings.

Santa Bear

24 thoughts on “Mackinac Island Winter Update – Vol. 5 12/21/2011

  1. Love the pictures of the island with the snow falling…talk about magic!
    “Hi George”….we see him everytime we are on the island…always say hello to him..he probably thinks we are some crazy people but we get a nod and a hello back 🙂 Bear looks so serious, like…”have you been naughty or nice”, but you just want to plant a kiss on that nose. 😉 I’ll definitly be back on Friday, but wanted to say Happy Holidays to the Horton family before then. Miss ya’ll!

  2. I really enjoy the winter pictures. Speaking of which, for some strange reason, I haven’t been able to get many of the pictures on your river blog, plus the page is huge, I have to move the page from left to write to see the text. I wonder if anyone else has mentioned that. Also can’t get to the comment area on that.

    • Mary, I suspect something has gotten reset in your computer. It happens to me every so often. Luckily, I have 3 computer savvy sons who can check to see what has been reset. Maybe you have someone like that or can find someone. Ask around. By the way, my sons always say, “You must have reset it,” even when I know I’ve never been to where I could have reset anything.

      I used to say that computers only did what they were told to do. I don’t say that anymore. It’s obvious that each computer has a mind of it’s own.

      Good luck and Merry Christmas.

    • Mary, sometimes I need to reset a page on my computer. I don’t know if it will help but while you are on that page, try holding down the Ctrl button and then hit the – (minus) sign once or twice while you are still holding it down. Hope it works for you.

      Cathie

    • I know The Cottage Inn is booked, but don’t know about others. Since the Lilac Tree decided to open for New Year’s, they probably have rooms available.

      • I know Mission Point still has rooms for New Year’s Eve. (906) 847-3312
        The Mackinac Island Tourism Bureau posted a full list of places to stay on their Facebook page a couple weeks ago.

      • Thanks, Sonnet, for this update. Mission Point would be a great place to stay for New Year’s!

  3. Hi Bree, I have just recently stumbled upon your Mackinac Island Blog and LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it ( and all of your pics) I have been reading it like crazy. It feels like I am there when I read it. I have been going to the island for years, and usually go up twice a year. I have plans to go in May & Sept. of 2012 and hope to meet you and share island stories ( i too love exploring the inside of the island) and also when I lived in Albany, GA. Many thanks for your blogging and time invested in it and hope ya’ll have a nice Christmas. Pam

  4. Hi Brenda, I spoke with a person that owned the web site that is for sale this past Summer by phone and he said way back then that it was getting way to expensive for him to keep up. I sure hope that someone buys it that will keep it up and have some more clients.It is so much fun to check and see who is out and about on the Island! Merry Christmas to you and yours and thanks for another wonderful update!

  5. Mission Pointe still has rooms. And last I heard the Martins at Bogan Lane Inn still had one room. … I can always dream!!

    Love the photos, Bree! They capture so well the anticipation of a snowy morning. And the horse in the backpack is priceless!

    BTW, I believe the Chippewa Main Street cam (#2) is actually live – a rather long delay, but IF there are people moving on the street, they show up.

  6. Makes me wish I was there, and I’m not that far away either. Detroit has been getting warm weather and rain. I want the snow too Mackinac. Please send some this way, especially for Christmas.

    Beautiful pictures Denise and Mike.

    Merry Christmas everyone, have a wonderful holiday and hopefully Santa Bear gets everyone everything they need.

  7. Enjoy the rest of this “oh my goodness it’s the week before Christmas!!” week. What a week it is – first day of Hanukkah today, winter solstice shortly after midnight tonight, and Christmas Day on Sunday. To everybody – Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Yule – whatever is appropriate! Bree – all the best for you and your precious family in 2012.

  8. Santa Bear is awesome-he looks like he’s really keeping an eye on the naughty ones! Thanks much, Mike and Denise, for the snow photos. As Judi noted, we’ve got rain, rain, rain downstate. Very, very strange for December. Maybe we’ll get some Christmas snow if we wish hard enough.

  9. Thanks for sharing your beautiful photos with us Denise and Mike.
    Beautiful Santa Bear made the tears roll down my face. What a gorgeous dog!.

  10. Can’t wait til your Friday post. Love that pix of Bear! We had snow here also over the weekend which was shortl-ived again. Looking like a green Christmas for us this year. I see the new Village Inn has their menu posted….looks pretty good. Can’t wait to try it. Would love to come up some year for New Years also! Maybe someday.

  11. I hope they get more snow – it makes life easier up there in the winter! Thanks to your photo-taking helpers for the island pictures. I love being able to see something other than Main Street!
    All my best to you and yours this Chirstmas and New Year’s, Brenda. A special thanks for taking time during this busy week to satisfy your reader’s need for Mackinac info and photos. It puts an extra touch on our holidays!

  12. Brenda,

    Thank you for this weeks blog. I feel like I must be special because once again “my” house is in the first picture (first house on the left). Over the years I have thought so many times that it would be nice to be living in that house again. Of course, that dream has about as much chance of being fulfilled as the one I had of one day being able to buy Round Island. When I dream, I like to dream big.

    Tell Santa Bear (unless he’s reading these comments) that I’m so glad he has been able to make it to Mackinac Island. Santa Claus can let him take over delivering presents to the children who live there.That would be a big help to the Jolly Old Elf. By the way, my wife, Faye, and I talked to Mrs. Claus in the hospice thrift store in Charlotte (shur-lot’), Michigan this morning. She was very nice and hugged both of us. Really! She told us she had been so busy cooking to help Santa Claus continue being his rather large self.

    MERRY CHRISTMAS to everyone.

Leave a Reply

