Setting the Date 10/7/2011

Lots of correct answers on the Mystery Spot this week, and they started coming in right after I posted last night.  The very first one though was Laurie Leanna from Greenfield, WI.  Please see end of this post for the answer!

We’ve set the date.  Sunday, October 30.  The taxi will be waiting, the luggage will be stuffed full, the condo will be closed, and we’ll be heading home to Georgia.

Until we set a day, the concept of leaving is always just a random time somewhere “out there”.  When someone asks, I say, “Oh, the end of October – the first week in November – we really don’t know yet.”  But once we write it in on the calendar hanging inside one of our kitchen cabinets, it becomes real, and my mindset changes completely.

Suddenly I’m in a whirl about getting out and photographing the island as often as possible.  I need to stockpile pictures so I will have extras to fall back on when I’m too busy getting ready to leave to go outside with my camera.

I had a “stockpile photographs” day today.  I called Jill and said, “Let’s bike through the woods and see what’s going on with the colors.”  Jill’s only day off is Thursday, and she is always game for an adventure when she’s off.  We stayed out for two hours and covered a lot of Island, but now I find myself not wanting to hold any of these back for another day.  So tonight, along with the Mystery Spot at the end, you are getting a lot of fall Island photographs.  We had a great time zipping back and forth into different areas, and I’ll post some of Jill’s shots later on.  But, for tonight, these are all mine.

We left the condo and rode a couple of blocks north, then turned on Fifth St. That ran us into Cupid's Pathway, and a few minutes later we turned on Carriage Road, which brought us out at St. Anne's Cemetery.

The cemetery area is always one of the most colorful on Mackinac during the fall. Still not at peak, there were, nevertheless, brilliant trees totally ablaze . . .

. . . while others showed that "spot color" so prevalent this fall.

Two crosses - one wooden against sun-kissed leaves . . .

, . . . and one stone - against leaves and blue sky.

The history of Mackinac Island lies within these stone walls.

Bikers, seeking fall colors just as we were, come through the trees.

The bright blue of the cannon in the Fort Cemetery adds yet another splash of color . . .

. . . to this beautiful setting where soldiers rest.

Our stop at Sugar Loaf didn't reveal much color at all.

After puffing up hills and flying down the other sides, we arrived at Arch Rock. If you're familiar with the Carriage Tours, you will notice that the usual three-horse hitch wagons are no longer running out to Arch Rock. The two-horse hitch is used for the entire tour, now that the Carriage Museum has closed for the season.

These two loved posing . . . I think they remembered me from the Carriage Museum as the "lady who always has horse treats in her pocket".

This late in the season you can get away with going places you wouldn't dare tread during the height of the summer. These next few photos were taken from in front of the VIP State Park housing on the west side of the fort.

What a view from the front porches!

These two homes are available for special State Park visitors.

We biked back to the condo through the woods and stopped to say hello to the Carriage Museum staff. They were busy closing the building for the season. Jill continued on up the hill to the Community Stable to meet Leanne and help with some chores.

It was just so gorgeous out that I went inside and got Maddie and Bear, and we walked down toward the corral. There we happened to see Ben and another Grand Hotel horseman out exercising one of the Grand's hackneys.

Denise and Judy race down the hill from the Carriage Museum to catch the 5 p.m. ferry. That little black head you see in Denise's basket is Scooter, her little dachshund she brought to work with her today.

Maddie - among the red sumac leaves near our yard.

Bear - waiting for us in the shade. As you can see, our flowers are still going strong, even with the cold mornings we've been having.

I hope you enjoyed this little fall preview.  There’s lots more to come in the next week of so.  Frankie and I are traveling through the Tunnel of Trees on Friday, an area on the way to Harbor Springs I’ve heard so much about from Michiganders and blog readers.  If it turns out to be as beautiful as all the stories I’ve heard, I’m sure you will get a post full of photographs from that drive next week.  AND – Somewhere in Time weekend at the Grand starts tomorrow!

Have a great weekend, and I’ll see you back here on Monday.  God bless.

THE MYSTERY SPOT

The object of the Mystery Spot  is to be the first to identify where the object is located. When you think you have the answer, email me at brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com. I’ll check my email several times a day, and as soon as we have a winner, I’ll post the winner’s name at the top of this blog so you can stop guessing, AND I’ll post the full photo of the mystery spot at the bottom of the blog with the answer. Is there a prize for the winner – yes there is; but the prize is secret, and the only ones who will know what it is are the winners. To be fair, I’m asking residents of Mackinac Island to please NOT guess. This is just for readers who don’t live here . . . but would like to! And the Mystery Spot is . .

Where is it?

Don’t forget to email your answer to me at brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.comPlease do not answer in the comment section.

MYSTERY SPOT ANSWER

The Indian medallion hangs on the side of the beautiful Iroquois Hotel.

14 thoughts on “Setting the Date 10/7/2011

  1. Love the color change on the island. My first time on the island ever was in the Fall and it was just so pretty, I couldn’t get enough pictures. Maybe the next time we come back will have to be in the Fall again. One of the best times to be there! 🙂

  2. Lovely, lovely photos as always. Looks like you had one of those perfect fall days where all you want to do is be outside soaking it all in.

  3. Enjoy the tunnel of trees. It is one of my favorite places to drive no matter the season. Would love to see it in it’s winter coat sometime. Loved today’s fall tour.

  4. I hope you enjoy the tunnel of trees! My family and I took the ride a few summers ago. The road wasn’t as busy in late August as it is in the fall. My husband has a very large truck and when we were half way through, we began to call it the “treacherous path” because the road narrows so much. Thank goodness we didn’t encounter too many cars going the opposite way. We tried it again in the fall with a smaller vehicle, much, much better. Try to stop at the general store in Good Hart – wonderful baked goods and a great hound dog!

  5. Beautiful pics. I’m sure you are looking forward to getting back to Georgia for the upcoming Holidays. I have to say I will miss seeing your pics and reading your stories of Mackinac Island, since it is the first thing I look at every morning at work.

    Have a great weekend! Beautiful ‘summer’ like weather here in Ohio. Sunny and near 80 all weekend.

  6. Beautiful pictures and the weather looks great! I’m still trying to figure out a way to get up there for a day or two this fall….not sure if it’ll happen, but I’m gonna try!

  7. We try to take the Tunnel of Trees road when we’re up north. It’s a beautiful ride! Some friends have their sumer home off one of those incredible switch-back driveways that plunge down the cliff on the water’s side – yikes! If the weather cooperates, a lunch outside at Leggs Inn is a wonderful way to see Lake Michigan, plus some fun photos to share. Oh, man, I wish I was there!! Or maybe lunch at Pier House in Harbor Springs. So many possibilities! There’s a good bakery in Alanson – great cinnamon rolls. 🙂 You’ll have a good day, I’m sure! Can’t wait to see the pictures.

  8. Excellent, excellent pictures, thank you sooo.. much. I am anxious to get your take on “Tunnel of Trees”. It is breathtaking, hope you enjoy.

  9. Brenda,

    Well, even with all it’s beauty, I have to say it, “This blog makes me a little sad. I really don’t want you and Ted to go back to Georgia. I hoped you would take my advice and spend the winter on the Island or at least stay until after New Year’s Day. Don’t you know all your kids and grandkids would love Christmas On Mackinac Island? It would be the experience of a lifetime.” Now, I hope you feel properly guilty!

  10. I’m sorry to hear that you “set the date”. I will miss you. I’m surprised that Jordan and I have not run into you on your trips around the island. We must cover at least 5 miles or more each day. Have you been out to the airport today? The colors are spectacular as you look across. You should also take a tour with Dave, the site director.

Leave a Reply

