Kaleidoscope 9/2/2011

We have a winner for the Mystery Spot Contest!  She’s Fran Wenhold from Tallahassee, Florida.  Wow, Fran, that’s quite a ways from Michigan!  Please see the end of this post for the answer.

It’s September.  How can that possibly be?  We left Georgia over 16 weeks ago, and 8 or 9 weeks from now, we’ll be heading back.  They say as you grow older, time goes faster, and I’m beginning to believe that.  At least our time on the Island certainly does.  So much has happened away from the Island while we’ve been gone.  The biggest news is our daughter, her husband, and our grandchildren have moved from Arkansas back to Florida.  What a blessing that is!  For the first time since our grandchildren were born, we’ll be able to see them a lot more often.  Suddenly, watching Jordan’s dance recitals and Matthew’s ballgames isn’t out of the question anymore.  We have so much to look forward to when we return home.  But that’s still a ways off . . . and I confess to not being ready to leave just yet.  Fall on Mackinac Island just may be my favorite season here.

We’re beginning to feel a little nip in the air – especially in the evening.  Windows that have been open all summer sometime require closing in the middle of the night.  My fleece vest has been dusted off and worn a couple of times – early in the morning, or on trips up the hill after dark.  The days are still warm and wonderful, but the change is coming.  You can just feel it.

I think I’m going to continue with my Random Photo Day on Fridays for a while.  Everyone seemed to enjoy it last week, and I love using the pics I can’t find another spot for.  So, here’s the batch for this week!

One of the sights I never tire of is glancing up and seeing a wedding carriage approaching. As I walked home on Cadotte the other day, I met this one. The bride and groom were graciously sharing their carriage with two little flower girls, who looked as if they were already blissfully planning their own weddings on Mackinac Island.

A moment in time on Cadotte -carriages, bikes, walkers, burleys, a little horse poop, and always - the lake through the trees.

The plants and flowers in the huge containers that surround the rest stop on Cadotte are at their peak. There is always a breeze in that area, so the tall grasses are in constant motion.

Trinity Church at dusk.

I went home a different way today, walking my bike up Fort Hill. I had been meaning to stop by Trinity and take some photos to go with the one above. So today I parked my bike up the hill a ways, then walked back down to the church. The door to the sanctuary was partially open, and standing outside on the top step, I could just see one of the stained glass windows on the inside.

The tall window at the back of the church is topped with a brilliant sun rising out of the water.

Trinity's Parish Hall, so lovely with its beautiful new blue-painted porch.

A slightly different view of the fort - taken from around the corner of the church, looking back up.

Ted and I ate lunch yesterday with Hilde and Bud, and we had so much fun talking about Mackinac. Today, Jill and I met Anne (another blog reader) and her mother, Dee for lunch. Ann used to work on the Island "back in the day" with Jill, and they had a blast telling stories. You can see where Anne gets her beauty - her Mom is a lovely, lovely lady.

A plant doesn't have to always be colored brilliantly to be beautiful. These ornamental cabbages at the Grand are striking in their own way . . . .

. . . but I have to admit I really, really, really love color!

That’s my kaleidoscope of random shots for this week.  I’m not going to post this weekend, but I’m definitely going to be working on the blog.  I got my permissions today to publish the Soo Locks story, so for the next day or two, I will be writing that story and selecting the best photos. On Monday, I’ll be taking you on a tour of a real freighter – the inside story!  And then on Tuesday – the Soo Locks as very few have seen them.  I’m so excited you’ll get to see everything Ted, Barb, and I did – thanks to Jim Deemer, an electrician for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, who conducted our tour and gave us the inside “scoop”!

See you Monday!

P.S.  As I was finishing this post, I heard the sound of a vehicle going by  Living in the Village as we do, where there are a couple of elderly residents with health problems, we probably see or hear that emergency vehicle more than most do on the island.  The sound of an “engine” always pulls me out of my chair like a magnet, to peek through blinds or walk out on the deck to see what’s happening.  It’s usually the ambulance going further up into the Village, lights on and flashing.  Tonight though, it was a firetruck passing by on the road below us.  The lights were flashing, but they moved on out of sight, and I never saw any other vehicles following them.  I wonder if they’re testing the new truck.  When I opened the door to look out, the wind was blowing and the air was damp and cool.  A change is definitely coming.

THE MYSTERY SPOT
The object of the Mystery Spot  is to be the first to identify where the object is located. When you think you have the answer, email me at brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com. I’ll check my email several times a day, and as soon as we have a winner, I’ll post the winner’s name at the top of this blog so you can stop guessing, AND I’ll post the full photo of the mystery spot at the bottom of the blog with the answer. Is there a prize for the winner – yes there is; but the prize is secret, and the only ones who will know what it is are the winners. To be fair, I’m asking residents of Mackinac Island to please NOT guess. This is just for readers who don’t live here . . . but would like to! And the Mystery Spot is . .

Where is it?

Don’t forget to email your answer to me at brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com.  Please do not answer in the comment section.
MYSTERY SPOT ANSWER

This fish weathervane stands above the Officers' Quarters, where the Fort Tea Room is now located. If you REALLY looked hard, you could have spotted it in the photo in this post of the fort I shot from the corner of Trinity Church!

19 thoughts on “Kaleidoscope 9/2/2011

  1. Oooh! when I came home from staff meetings today, in my mailbox was a lovely gift from Bree!!! Thank you soooo much! Why is it that odor is such a memory trigger? I found myself weeping! But I am very grateful just the same. (just get ready, oh you smart person who can recognize the fishy weathervane!!) AND there were two (not just one, but two!) Town Criers in the mail too! So, when my life slows down just a tad, I will sit back and ENJOY!!

    I love your pictures today, especially the ones of Trinity. I almost didn’t recognize the exterior shot from Turkey Hill. Living, as I always have, at the other end of the Island, I’ve never come down to church from that direction!

    I love your reminder of the ‘nip in the air’ that is September (not here – it’s one of our hottest months!!). Busy time – will you be going to the school barbeque?

  2. Gee, I had to “catch up” on the last two posts. What lovely photos, never too many!!! What beautiful Indian outfits, gorgeous colors. Loved the stain glass windows in the church….especially the sunrise. Can’t wait to see the freighter photos. Would love a ride on one, but not during a storm! God Bless all those lost in the Great Lakes.

  3. As usual, your pictures are beauiful. What a different view of the various locations. Cadotte Ave. looks so different with the new trees. Thanks so much. We appreciate all you do for us. Are they still cleaning the streets at night? I happened to be awake one night about 3 a.m. while we were staying at the Chippewa, and heard the men hosing down the street. Interesting view of life on the island.

    • Absolutely, Mary Ellen. If you’re awake during the night and go to the downtown web cams, you can watch the street cleaners hard at work. They start on Cadotte around 11:30 and work their way through town from there.

  4. We also stopped in to Trinity Church and St. Anne’s while we were there. Each one is so special. Even though hints of Fall is in the air, the flowers are still beautiful on the island and so so colorful. I’m going to definitely miss it, but most of all I’m going to miss all of our friends here. 😦

  5. Your pictures and blog is great. How much time to you spend on the blog because the rest of us really appreciate it. Thanks for your time and energy.
    P.S. I am flying up tomorrow (Saturday) and can’t wait to see all the pretty flowers!

    • I won’t be working at the Stuart House on Tuesday – I’m going to the school picnic that day instead. May work Wednesday, but don’t know yet.

  6. Brenda,

    I really enjoyed the random pictures and I could kick myself for not enlarging the picture of the Fort so I could see the fish. The odd thing is that in looking at the smaller picture I thought I could make out the fish, then I figured, “Naw, couldn’t be that obvious.” Someday I’m going to learn to stop trying to think things to death.

    The house that is now the Trinity Church Parish Hall used to be the home of Pat & Joyce Chambers. I actally babysat for them back in the mid-1950s when I was working on the Island. I worked in same restaurant as Joyce did.

    Can you tell me what the name is of the flowers in the last picture (the bright pink ones and the yellow ones)? The leaves look like zinnias, however the flowers don’t look like any zinnias I’ve seen. Also, do you remember where they are?

    I’m continuing to be anxious, waiting for the Valley Camp and Soo Locks blogs. Oh, wait a minute. Christians are not supposed to be anxious, so I’ll just be somewhat excited. Will that be OK?

    • Excited is much better than anxious, Lowell! When I photographed the flowers (in one of the flowers beds beside the Grand), I thought I was photographing zinnias! If they aren’t zinnias, someone who knows what they are chime in please! Mary?? Jeff??

  7. My husband and I both had to look carefully at the Trinity picture. We’re with Irene – it didn’t look familiar from that angle! I’m so glad you stopped in and took pictures. They’re lovely, as are all your random ones! It’s as if I was walking around, collecting thought memories, except that you do it for me with your camera. Thank you!
    I am eagerly anticiptating the locks blogs, too!

    • I had to laugh at the comment by you and Irene about Trinity. When I first pulled it up on the laptop, I thought, “what is that?” even though I had taken the shot. We were walking toward the church on Turkey Hill Road ( I usually shoot Trinity from Fort Hill Road). I think it was the time of day that made it a little “different” looking also.

    • I looked for images with that name on the internet and I think you are right. I’m going to write down the name and get some seed next Spring. They are beautiful.

      Thank you, Janet.

      Wow, Brenda, we sure do learn a lot here, don’t we?

  8. thanks brenda for more trinity pictures. for those of us who call trinity our church home, we are always happy to share it with others. all are welcome to stop in or come worship with us on sundays at 10:30.
    marsha kleber
    mackinac is.

Leave a Reply

