Thank You, Friends! 8/20/2011

Those of you who have followed this blog for a long time know me pretty well by now.  That’s why I knew some of you would check back here to see if anything was posted today, even though I said I wouldn’t be writing again until Monday.  And I wouldn’t have, except . . .

When I went to sleep last night, my 102 degree fever was still going strong. I had slept – practically straight through – for almost 30 hours.  I hurt everywhere – even my eyebrows hurt.  I had not eaten, except some soft-boiled eggs and toast Ted made for me Thursday morning.  As I closed my eyes last night, I prayed – along with so many of you – “Please, Lord, let me be better tomorrow.”

When I opened by eyes this morning, I knew immediately I was well.  Oh, I’ve felt a little tired today, and I haven’t overdone it.  But, I was well enough to enjoy the day with Blake, and we even went out to dinner tonight downtown.  The aches are gone, the fever is gone, and except for a short nap this afternoon, I’ve been awake all day.

You won’t be hearing from me again until Monday – but I just had to let those of you who included me in your goodnight prayers last evening know that those prayers were answered.

Thank you, friends.

Bear - enjoying some quality time with Blake.

27 thoughts on “Thank You, Friends! 8/20/2011

  1. Brenda,

    Wow, you got better fast, and Wow, I’m glad. Prayer and good care from Ted & Blake. Works every time.

    Speaking of Blake, I can see he and Bear are enjoying the good life. That’s great.

    I hope it’s a good weekend for all of you.

    Hey, I get my new glasses tomorrow morning at 8:00 o’clock. I’ll be so glad. If anything was over 18-24 inches away, I haven’t been able to properly see it since June 27.

  2. Oh, I’m so glad you’re better! And the next few days will be so sweet! Tell Blake he needs to soak up all the memories to tide him over until next time! (Looks like Bear has been a very good host, too!)

  3. Yeeeaaaaa I’m so happy that your feeling better Brenda!! Looks like Bear was taking care of Blake so all was good. Now you can enjoy the rest of your time with Blake while he is there. 🙂

  4. Nice to know our prayers were answered and that you are feeling so much better. Enjoy your time with Blake and. Hope he and Ted don’t get that bug.

  5. Just what I was hoping for! Enjoy your time with your son, it’s the best medicine! Great picture, looks like Bear is getting as much therapy as he is giving!

    Blake soak up all that Mackinac goodness and the love from your mom (& Ted, Bear & Maddie) hope y’all have a wonderful time!

  6. Hi Brenda I knew you would snap back quickly, gracefully, and with great aplomb(not sure what an aplomb is but it sounded good). Go eat and have fun and enjoy your visit with Blake. Have an expensive wedge salad for me.

  7. So glad to hear that you are doing better! LOVE the picture of Blake with Bear! They both look so happy.

    Now don’t overdo trying to make up for lost time, girl. Take it slow and easy and have a great weekend recovering!

  8. Happy to hear prayers answered! Thank you for letting us know you are better.

    Enjoy the time with Blake. He sure is a handsome young man.

    Take care and don’t overdo it!

  9. Bree I am so happy that you are feeling better and able to enjoy the rest of your son’s trip. Enjoy your time together!

Leave a Reply

