All Better 8/5/2011

We have a winner in the Mystery Spot Contest!  It’s Bob from Wausau, WI – who is staying on the island right now!  See below for Mystery Spot answer.

Hi.  Bear here.

Mom wanted me to write ’cause she’s exhausted from having to babysit Maddie all day yesterday and today.

I really felt sorry for my little sister – at first.  Yesterday she was pitiful.  When she’d walk around – which wasn’t much – she’d have her skinny little tail tucked all the way up under her belly (she does that when she doesn’t feel good).  The way I really knew she was hurting though was because I didn’t hear her bark one single time all day.  Dogs would walk by the condo, children would walk by the condo, people would ride bikes by, pulling those cart thingys – any one of those is usually guaranteed to get a good barking fit out of Maddie.  Yesterday – nothing.

Mom and Dad trudged up and down the stairs all day, carrying Maddie.  They’d put her down in the grass, she’d do her business, then she’d sit down and look at the door.  They’d pick her up and climb the steps with her again.  She’d curl up on towels that Mom kept warming for her.  They even brought her food dish over to her bed, so she wouldn’t have to walk to our dinner spot.

This morning when we all woke up, Maddie was still acting weird.  Dad put her on the floor (out of their bed, where I don’t get to sleep), and she just sat there, looking up at Dad with those sad little eyes.  Then dad walked out of the room, and out of the corner of my eye, I saw Maddie’s tail wagging.  Huh?  Dad came back in and picked her up, and we all went outside.  I watched real close.  When Mom and Dad weren’t looking, Maddie was walking around just fine, sniffing out stuff in the grass.  Then as soon as they’d turn around, she’d sit right back down again and look pitiful.

As if that wasn’t bad enough, when I got on Mom’s computer today, I read the seven gazillion messages from readers saying how much you hoped Maddie was feeling better, and “poor little Maddie” this and “sweet little Maddie” that.  That’s just a little . . . bit . . . too . . . much . . . attention . . . being . . . shifted . . . away . . . from . . . . . . . . . . . . . ME.

So, I just want to tell everyone that Maddie is feeling a lot better.  After Dad had carried her up and down the stairs a hundred times today, he caught her running down those same steps when she thought he wasn’t looking.  BUSTED!

Seriously, Mom said to let everyone know that Maddie is feeling a lot better, and Mom wants to thank everyone for all the good thoughts and prayers.  They worked!

However . . . .

I’ve had a BAD day and could really use some TLC.  I’d appreciate dog bones, lots of hugs, a “pass” on going to the groomer’s next week, and I’d also like to be able to eat my dinner in the den by the couch.  I think that will do it.  Wait . . . . maybe ya’ll could drop me some cards in the mail – preferably with coupons for Beggin’ Strips.  Whew!  I’m feelin’ better already.

P.S.  Mom is going to take it easy this weekend, but she said she’d try to put a couple of pictures up on Saturday and Sunday.  And since you all know Mom as well as I do now, you know that if she says she going to try and put up some pictures, that means she will.

P.P.S.  Mom said while I was on the computer I could just go ahead and put the Mystery Spot up for this week.  You know the drill by now, but here it is again.

THE MYSTERY SPOT
The object of the Mystery Spot is to be the first to identify where the object is located. When you think you have the answer, email me at brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com. I’ll check my email several times a day, and as soon as we have a winner, I’ll post the winner’s name at the top of this blog so you can stop guessing, AND I’ll post the full photo of the mystery spot at the bottom of the blog with the answer. Is there a prize for the winner – yes there is; but the prize is secret, and the only ones who will know what it is are the winners. To be fair, I’m asking residents of Mackinac Island to please NOT guess. This is just for readers who don’t live here . . . but would like to! And the Mystery Spot is . . . .

Where is it?

Don’t forget to send your answers to brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com.  Please don’t post answers in comments section.

MYSTERY SPOT ANSWER

The Mystery Spot is the fountain in the beautiful gardens beside the Windermere Hotel. 

22 thoughts on “All Better 8/5/2011

  1. Bear, I’m gonna look for those coupons for beggin’ strips cuz I think you so deserve them for what you have had to put up with. Mind you, I think it’s great that Maddie is feeling better and I’m REAL happy about that, but gosh Bear that last picture just really got to me bad, and from me to you, here is a big ole doggie “hug” !

    P.S. I put in a word with mom about the groomers…but… you know mom…

  2. Oh Bear I am sending you all my hugs and kisses and I will also say a special prayer for you as well.

    Brenda, you and Ted should allow Bear to eat his dinner where he wants, he has been an excellent dog. He looked after his little sister to make sure that she was well.

  3. Poor Bear! You put up with so much, so gracefully! I thought of you today, at the dog beach, when I was watching two Goldens racing after tennis balls thrown into the ocean – they were gorgeous, just like you! Of course, the beach was just crawling with long low dogs like Maddie – several dachshunds, a couple of Corgis and a Basset. But the Goldens were the ones I watched!!

  4. You silly old Bear! Who could refuse you? LOL! But you’ve been patient and loving toward Maddie whenshe was sick. I’m sure Mom’s going to give you extra hugs and kisses from us today. 🙂

  5. Hi Bear

    I am sorry you are a bit dejected but Mom will be there when you need her to give you all the love you need and you all always have our prayers.

    Bev Cummins

  6. Oh, Bear! You are such a beautiful creature! I am very happy Maddie is feeling better, but, just between you and me….you have always been my favorite. Shhhh….don’t tell anyone.

  7. Ohhh! Poor Bear! I think you deserve a weekend of total rest and relaxation. Warmed towels (or cooled, depending on the weather), dinner in the den, endless Beggin’ Strips. Maybe your mom and dad should carry you up and down the stairs and let you sleep in their bed too!
    Hugs to you poor little Bear! ☺

  8. So sorry to hear about Maddie, but so glad she is feeling better. I hope you are feeling better by now too Bear! You really look pitiful in that picture!
    Tell mom I really like her pink hollyhocks.

  9. Bear is just too funny! So pitiful and sad. Hugs & kisses for Bear & Maddie! Enjoy the weekend and see you Monday! I’m leaving behind my german shepard Katie…..I’ll miss her while we are gone to the Island.

  10. Glad you’re feeling better, Maddie. I told you there was magic in your Mom’s loving care and those pink towels.
    xxoo,

    Aunt Cathie

  11. I’m with Jeff – I knew that one! But, being a good hostess to our out of town guest was what I did this morning – and it was a lovely morning. We could actually sit on the back porch and talk, which we haven’t been able to do for weeks and weeks! Please let this be the end of the horribly hot and humid weather!!

    Bear, you know how handsome you are! That little Maddie just needs reassuring, that’s all. And you’re just the smartest, bestest big brother for taking care of her! Mom takes you to the groomer so she can show you off, you know. It really IS all about you!

  12. AW…. Bear, I know it’s hard to be the older sibling. But being older makes you wiser. You are such a big help to mom. I know she appreciates it when you help her with writing her blog. You do such an outstanding job. And look at the people you help in the nursing homes. I am sorry you are not feeling well right now, and I am sending hugs your way. I know you will feel much better tomorrow! LOL

  13. Note from Buzz to Bear regarding Maddie… Chilidawg gets all the attention when she gets into something she shouldn’t! Us retrievers – wegotta to stick together!

  14. Bear,

    I’m so sorry to learn that you’re not feeling well. I want you to know that even with 4 teenage grandchildren at my house today my thoughts are with you. I want you to feel better soon.

    As for Maddie, I’m thankful that you watched over her during her time of need. You’ll have to remember that some of those who commented yesterday told her to “milk it for all it was worth.” Well, she just did as she was told, so don’t be too upset with her.

    And thank you for helping out your mom and dad. I’m sure they really appreciated all your hard work and concern.

    By the way, I fully understand that grooming thing. It really is a hassle.

  15. Bear!!! You poor thing. You look down right pitiful. I hope you feel better tomorrow and get those restricting bandages off. I hope Maddie felt bad for you all day like you did for her the other day. It’s. The. Least. She. Can. Do. after that hurt back routine she ran on your parents.

    The bottom line is, neither of you have to act hurt or sick. We love you both equally and no one wants either of you to ever feel bad.

    Lots of puppy love to you both!

Leave a Reply

